We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further for a hotel in Frankfurt!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grandhotel Hessischer Hof

Save Saved
You added Grandhotel Hessischer Hof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Friedrich-Ebert-Anlage 40, 60325 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Innenstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 262 hotels in Frankfurt
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Look no further for a hotel in Frankfurt!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

This is an amazing hotel and fully deserves its place in Leading Hotels of the World. Nothing is too mjuch trouble and everything is done with a smile - and promptly - even room service! Rooms are spacious, beds very comfortable, with feather pillows as an option which many other 5* hotels do not offer. And to boot, it's excellent value! Suggest you ask for a quiet room as some are on the fairly busy road at the front.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    74
    19
    18
    9
See reviews for
35
90
90
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

A lovely hotel with character; much nicer than the usual business trip hotel. Although centrally located, it is very quiet and the shutters work very well for a good night's sleep. Large rooms. A one-night stay wasn't really enough to fully appreciate the place.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

I found this hotel very underwhelming and I don't understand how people are raving about it. It needs an overhaul to bring it into the 21st century. For my 190 EUR a night I got shown to a top floor room with a single bed. There was rubbish still in the bin and it looked like my grandma's attic room with old furnishings and decoration. When I asked to move to a room with a double bed I got told I could, but the price would be 250 EUR. The second room was much larger, but still outdated. 1970s looking bathroom fittings, cheap IKEA looking mirror above the bed, no flat screen TV, v limited choice of international TV channels, internet connection via LAN, but no cables provided in the room, no tea and coffee making facilities and no iron. Room service was good, though limited menu and took quite a while to arrive. The staff were friendly and helpful and did move me immediately when I requested (and paid 60 EUR more). It's not a dreadful place, but I am bewildered as to how it can be considered a Leading Hotel of the World, though having said that I have stayed in a couple of LHW before and asked myself the same question so maybe that's a tag to be wary of.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

Was upgraded to a very comfortable suite which was a pleasant suprise. All amenities as expected with added extras of free mini bar & fruit in the room.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

Great hotel in a super location for visitors. The staff are excellent and helpful. We were delighted to be able to walk to the train station (10 mins) to go on our day trips. We were lucky to have our breakfasts included in our room rate, The Breakfasts are absolutely delicious and the dining room exquisite. We enjoyed our experience and would happily return to this excellent leading hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

I stayed at this Leading Hotel for one night on April 16, 2009. The rate was 149,-- Euro without breakfast (but tax included). I know this hotel from several stays within the last ten years and I never was disappointed. The hotel is located on the opposite side of the fairground (but a bit outside the city center) in an unspectacular building. Inside one will find a very well managed hotel with a traditional ambience and furnishings of the owners, the Hessian princely house.

A doorman wasn't missing whenever I arrived as there was a very friendly welcome at reception, too. A guidance to the room is self-evident and the minibar and a plate with fruits is complimentary in all rooms. Between 6pm and 8 pm there also is an invitation to the "hospitality lounge", where drinks and snacks are served for free.

All standard rooms in the main building are in good shape after refurbishing within the last years. One feels good staying there, but - being honest - the standard rooms are not the maximum in luxury and more expedient: every room has a writing desk, an armchair and the bed has two small pillows. The refurbishing process of the suites is going on, during my last stay I got an upgrade to a junior suite (room 11), which was recently refurbished and quite luxurious like shown on the pictures. The older suites are a bit dated but acceptable.

The luggage transfer was short in time and a requested pressing service for a shirt was done within 20 minutes (4,50 Euro). There also was a welcome note of the management and as a Leaders Club member I got a bottle of wine as a welcome gift.

Turn down was done correctly, a card with the weather forecast was placed on the bed. Shoe shine was also done overnight, one gets a complimentary and usefull shoe-tree as well (but they use a special cleaning spray - and no shoe-cream - what might be not the best for shoes of high value). A newspaper was brought to the room in the morning and the wake up-call was accurate.

Very nice is Jimmy's Bar with live piano music every night and the restaurant with a popular "indulgence menu" for 39,-- Euro/person (three courses with corresponding wines, mineral water, coffee or tea).

Hotel Hessischer Hof is one of my favoured hotels in Germany with good value for money and an example of a Leading Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Very pleasant experience. Superb service. Even parked my car for me. Desk staff most attentive. Fantastic breakfast and great rates. Bathroom and bedroom had windows with excellent soundproofing. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone heading to Frankfurt.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grandhotel Hessischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandhotel Hessischer Hof

Address: Friedrich-Ebert-Anlage 40, 60325 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt , Westend-Süd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#5 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#5 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#10 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grandhotel Hessischer Hof 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hessischer Hof, is the only privately owned 5 star accommodation in Frankfurt. Enjoy the comfort of a traditional luxury hotel, incomparable service and personal hospitality.The only hotel in Frankfurt that offers an extraordinary value included in the room rates: WiFi, Minibar, pay-tv, daily hospitality suite with free welcome drink and snacks from 6 pm to 8 pm as well as shoe shine service and fresh fruits in room. Enjoy the comfort of a traditional hotel with exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grandhotel Hessischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hessischer Hof
Hessischer Hof Frankfurt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandhotel Hessischer Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.