We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grandhotel Hessischer Hof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grandhotel Hessischer Hof to your Saves list
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Friedrich-Ebert-Anlage 40 | 60325, 60325 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Innenstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 266 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Spectacular Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very simply, I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Frankfurt.

My family and I stayed in a Junior Suite here for a night in May, a conclusion to a 20-night trip through Western Europe. This hotel compared favorably to every hotel we stayed at along on our journey (which was almost entirely "5-star" hotels), and the value was extraordinary.

The value of this hotel was the best that I've ever experienced. It truly is a high-end hotel, yet we paid middle of the road 4-star prices. The size of the room was exceptional, it was well appointed, the amenities (including a free minibar) were great, and the "exclusive" invitation for a free drink and snack was a nice touch.

I thought the location was excellent, and service was good.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
17
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have been frequently to this hotel. During every stay, service was very good. Now I realized the change to an outstanding service excellence! At arrival, there is always a doorman, immediately assisting the guests. The Check-in process was well organized and quickly. The room offers spacious accomodation, rain shower, complimentary fully stocked mini-bar and welcome drink at the Lobby bar.
Breakfast changed to an even greater choice at the buffet. It is a champagne breakfast where you can get different sausages, e.g. white bavarian sausage with sweet mustard, variety of cakes, e.g. delicious cheese-cake or red vine chocolate cake. There are more fish options like herring in different styles. Eggs can be ordered any style and will be prepared a la minute. Service is always attentive and very friendly.
I enjoyed much the new Finest SPA with a professional massage by a highly trained therapist. This experience is very different from "common" wellness offers at other hotels. It is stress-reducing and relax the muscles. You easily realize the difference because the therapist is an expert!
Restaurant Sevres and Jimmy's bar are famous for a local clientele as well because it is always a pleasure enjoying this great service, the special location and the attention to detail.
Reception team is always helpful and special requests are immediately realized.
This was a great experience and definitely a memorable stay!

Room Tip: Executive rooms: spacious, quiet, separate Executive area of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Living in Frankfurt since 1960 I saw many restaurants coming and going. A few ones, I regret, are no longer available. But a constant top quality address always was and again is the GHH.

Whether you meet with friends in the lobby for a few glasses, they perform for you a just perfect “tartar”, the most civilized foundation for celebrating a late afternoon or a late night!

You can trust their menu and thanks the impeccable support by the service make your individual choice. If you prefer to choose a special wine, they will be giving you perfect advice, but you can just as comfortably trust the high quality of their house wines from their family owned vineyards.

It is no secret, that the owner, HRH Donatus Landgrave of Hesse recently spent a fortune to present their family owned Frankfurt town hotel in perfect shape. Do enjoy the many precious details in the hotel, in the restaurant or in the ball room and finally in Jimmy’s bar, the Frankfurt landmark place at night.

But make sure to reserve, as otherwise perhaps just the reception of the diplomatic corps or another social event my already occupy your desired space!

Room Tip: ask management
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is an excellent hotel, in particular if you are attending anything at the Frankfurt Messe. The staff is attentive, the food very good, and the rooms very large, especially for European standards. Now if only both elevators were reliable! This is really turning out to be a pet peeve of mine: even the best hotel cannot make up for having to stand around and wait, learning that only on (of two!) elevators works at any given time, and finding out the hard way that the elevator stops at your floor whether or not it is headed in the direction you require! The Hessischer Hof loses points here, but makes up for them by having Jimmy's Bar. Even if you are not staying at the hotel, if you are in Frankfurt, go. Enough said.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HESSISCHER_HOF, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grandhotel Hessischer Hof, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

many thanks for choosing our hotel for your Frankfurt stay and we are pleased about your overall impressions. In regards to our elevators in our main wing we do seperate these two lifts for our guests and Team staff, so that also luggage can be roomed quickly away from you.
If you have any more questions or inquiries please feel free to contact me directly.

Best greetings to New York

Matthias Eißner
Guest Relation Manager
0049 69 7540 2931
guestrelation@hessischer-hof.de
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Really pleasant surprise, expecting ordinary business hotel near Messe complex and finding a nice gem! Large quiet well appointed room, great staff, strong wifi, premium location for any Messe-related activity. Shopping mall with many food options just a 5 minute walk. Taxis plentiful as well as train station in front of property. Kudos!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the 0XX (eg, 034) rooms, large and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

After a 14 hour flight from California it was a pleasant surprise to find this great hotel. Absolutely the best shower and bathroom. We absolutely love our accommodations. Large, clean, brilliantly decorated. Smartly laid out.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HESSISCHER_HOF, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grandhotel Hessischer Hof, responded to this review, April 14, 2015
Dear Guest,

we are delighted to read your comments about our hotel and your comfortable and relaxing experience after your long flight to Germany. We do hope to be your first choice again when you return to Frankfurt in the future times.

If you have any further questions, inquiries or requests kindly contact me directly below....

Best wishes

Matthias Eißner
Guest Relation Manager
0049 69 7540 2931
guestrelation@hessischer-hof.de
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Always and again a pleasure to stay at Hessischer Hof. With the fantastic spa implemented along with recent thoughtful renovation, overviewing Bankfurt, our favorite
hotel in town - may it be for business or leisure

Room Tip: Room to street side or higher floors can be quieter on work days, due to school kids playing in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HESSISCHER_HOF, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grandhotel Hessischer Hof, responded to this review, April 14, 2015
Dear Guest,

many thanks for staying at the Grandhotel Hessischer Hof again and for your great experience review here on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to welcome you back and admit your loyalty with highest appreciation!

Best greetings to Cologne

Matthias Eißner
Guest Relation Manager

direct 0049 69 7540 2931 or
guestrelation@hessischer-hof.de
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grandhotel Hessischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandhotel Hessischer Hof

Address: Friedrich-Ebert-Anlage 40 | 60325, 60325 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#2 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#4 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#11 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grandhotel Hessischer Hof 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hessischer Hof, is the only privately owned 5 star accommodation in Frankfurt. Enjoy the comfort of a traditional luxury hotel, incomparable service and personal hospitality.The only hotel in Frankfurt that offers an extraordinary value included in the room rates: WiFi, Minibar, pay-tv, daily hospitality suite with free welcome drink and snacks from 6 pm to 8 pm as well as shoe shine service and fresh fruits in room. Enjoy the comfort of a traditional hotel with exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Grandhotel Hessischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hessischer Hof
Hessischer Hof Frankfurt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandhotel Hessischer Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.