We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful. Now can we talk about those elevators?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grandhotel Hessischer Hof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grandhotel Hessischer Hof to your Saves list
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Friedrich-Ebert-Anlage 40 | 60325, 60325 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Innenstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 265 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful. Now can we talk about those elevators?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is an excellent hotel, in particular if you are attending anything at the Frankfurt Messe. The staff is attentive, the food very good, and the rooms very large, especially for European standards. Now if only both elevators were reliable! This is really turning out to be a pet peeve of mine: even the best hotel cannot make up for having to stand around and wait, learning that only on (of two!) elevators works at any given time, and finding out the hard way that the elevator stops at your floor whether or not it is headed in the direction you require! The Hessischer Hof loses points here, but makes up for them by having Jimmy's Bar. Even if you are not staying at the hotel, if you are in Frankfurt, go. Enough said.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
14
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, VA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really pleasant surprise, expecting ordinary business hotel near Messe complex and finding a nice gem! Large quiet well appointed room, great staff, strong wifi, premium location for any Messe-related activity. Shopping mall with many food options just a 5 minute walk. Taxis plentiful as well as train station in front of property. Kudos!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the 0XX (eg, 034) rooms, large and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a 14 hour flight from California it was a pleasant surprise to find this great hotel. Absolutely the best shower and bathroom. We absolutely love our accommodations. Large, clean, brilliantly decorated. Smartly laid out.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HESSISCHER_HOF, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grandhotel Hessischer Hof, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

we are delighted to read your comments about our hotel and your comfortable and relaxing experience after your long flight to Germany. We do hope to be your first choice again when you return to Frankfurt in the future times.

If you have any further questions, inquiries or requests kindly contact me directly below....

Best wishes

Matthias Eißner
Guest Relation Manager
0049 69 7540 2931
guestrelation@hessischer-hof.de
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Always and again a pleasure to stay at Hessischer Hof. With the fantastic spa implemented along with recent thoughtful renovation, overviewing Bankfurt, our favorite
hotel in town - may it be for business or leisure

Room Tip: Room to street side or higher floors can be quieter on work days, due to school kids playing in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HESSISCHER_HOF, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grandhotel Hessischer Hof, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

many thanks for staying at the Grandhotel Hessischer Hof again and for your great experience review here on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to welcome you back and admit your loyalty with highest appreciation!

Best greetings to Cologne

Matthias Eißner
Guest Relation Manager

direct 0049 69 7540 2931 or
guestrelation@hessischer-hof.de
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings on Hudson, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel several times and always loved it. The rooms were large and grand and old fashioned. Well, they must have remodeled and decided that modern was better. My room this time was tiny and sterile. It looked like a college dormitory room. Having said that, the service was very good and the staff lovely. But, I'm not sure I would stay here again.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HESSISCHER_HOF, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grandhotel Hessischer Hof, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

we are very pleased that you have chosen our hotel again for your recent stay in Frankfurt. Many thanks as well for your personal impressions. However, we do hope that we can provide you a suitable room with more space with your next stay at the Grandhotel Hessischer Hof.

If you have any more inquiries kindly contact me back!

Kindest regards

Matthias Eißner
Guest Relation Manager
+49 69 7540 2931
guestrelation@hessischer-hof.de
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossendale
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

When we walked into the hotel lobby we were instantly 'wowed' - gorgeous classical furnishings. The staff on reception and throughout the hotel were really friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was by far the best I have ever had anywhere - so much choice and in the most exquisite restaurant. The champagne was a welcome touch too! We stayed in a classic room which was OK. I can't deny it, the public areas and service are all very much 5* ++++++ but the room I would rate at about 3.5*, basic, but was adequate for a good nights sleep. All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Frankfurt for business.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HESSISCHER_HOF, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grandhotel Hessischer Hof, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

we do appreciate your time for your feedback here on Tripadvisor and are pleased that you rate our hotel with very nice experiences. Next time, we can also offer you one of our Superior or Executive Rooms with more space and comfort.

We are looking foward to welcome you back very soon!

Kindest regards

Matthias Eißner
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

This lovely family hotel takes you back in time and really compliments your visit to frankfurt. As you go into the very small reception area where three people can only stand you feel you are in a different era. Check in could have been faster if more than one employee was there but it was fine and took no time. You are handed a key to your room with a bulky medalion that is sweet. There is only one lift for guests only and another for luggage. As you step into the rooms area (spacious) mine was in 3rd. One you open the room door and waw the room is very nice. A hall way that leads to your bed room, bathroom and a dresing room. The bed room is around 4 by 5 spaciois with a lovely comfy bed, desk and sofa near an LCD tv. The room has a fridge but unfortunatly no kettle. The style of furniture is old and very nice complimenting the feeling in the room. The room is well equiped with lights every where and has shutters fitted on its windows for a quiet sleep( i have requested a quiet room when booking). Every thing about the room was so nice. The bathroom was modern and well equiped with two sinks and bath in addition to a shower room. Water flow was excellent but you tend to get the frequent hot/cold water surges some times. The dressing room is wonderfull with a private safe. We loved the room. Breakfast buffet was nice and staff were very friendly offering you tea and jiuces as well as eggs of all types. It was not a big buffer but was ok and hope they add more vegetarian variaties. All in all the hotel was great and I will ho back for sure however please note that the things i wish to improve is kettle in the room, informing their reception to smile and welcome guests as they come in and leave. I felt like staying in an express hotel when leaving and coming back. The iron quality has to improve by providing steam irons. My special thanks to the porter who was despite his age very helpful and when ever I asked house keeping for any thing he was the one bringing it to the room. The hotel location is 15 walk from main streets and shopping area. I stayed in 306 for reference.

Room Tip: 306 is a good room to try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grandhotel Hessischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandhotel Hessischer Hof

Address: Friedrich-Ebert-Anlage 40 | 60325, 60325 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#2 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#5 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#15 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grandhotel Hessischer Hof 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hessischer Hof, is the only privately owned 5 star accommodation in Frankfurt. Enjoy the comfort of a traditional luxury hotel, incomparable service and personal hospitality.The only hotel in Frankfurt that offers an extraordinary value included in the room rates: WiFi, Minibar, pay-tv, daily hospitality suite with free welcome drink and snacks from 6 pm to 8 pm as well as shoe shine service and fresh fruits in room. Enjoy the comfort of a traditional hotel with exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Grandhotel Hessischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hessischer Hof
Hessischer Hof Frankfurt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandhotel Hessischer Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.