We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely classic hotel, ideal for business travellers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grandhotel Hessischer Hof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grandhotel Hessischer Hof to your Saves list
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Friedrich-Ebert-Anlage 40 | 60325, 60325 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Innenstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 265 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence 2014
rossendale
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely classic hotel, ideal for business travellers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we walked into the hotel lobby we were instantly 'wowed' - gorgeous classical furnishings. The staff on reception and throughout the hotel were really friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was by far the best I have ever had anywhere - so much choice and in the most exquisite restaurant. The champagne was a welcome touch too! We stayed in a classic room which was OK. I can't deny it, the public areas and service are all very much 5* ++++++ but the room I would rate at about 3.5*, basic, but was adequate for a good nights sleep. All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Frankfurt for business.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
12
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This lovely family hotel takes you back in time and really compliments your visit to frankfurt. As you go into the very small reception area where three people can only stand you feel you are in a different era. Check in could have been faster if more than one employee was there but it was fine and took no time. You are handed a key to your room with a bulky medalion that is sweet. There is only one lift for guests only and another for luggage. As you step into the rooms area (spacious) mine was in 3rd. One you open the room door and waw the room is very nice. A hall way that leads to your bed room, bathroom and a dresing room. The bed room is around 4 by 5 spaciois with a lovely comfy bed, desk and sofa near an LCD tv. The room has a fridge but unfortunatly no kettle. The style of furniture is old and very nice complimenting the feeling in the room. The room is well equiped with lights every where and has shutters fitted on its windows for a quiet sleep( i have requested a quiet room when booking). Every thing about the room was so nice. The bathroom was modern and well equiped with two sinks and bath in addition to a shower room. Water flow was excellent but you tend to get the frequent hot/cold water surges some times. The dressing room is wonderfull with a private safe. We loved the room. Breakfast buffet was nice and staff were very friendly offering you tea and jiuces as well as eggs of all types. It was not a big buffer but was ok and hope they add more vegetarian variaties. All in all the hotel was great and I will ho back for sure however please note that the things i wish to improve is kettle in the room, informing their reception to smile and welcome guests as they come in and leave. I felt like staying in an express hotel when leaving and coming back. The iron quality has to improve by providing steam irons. My special thanks to the porter who was despite his age very helpful and when ever I asked house keeping for any thing he was the one bringing it to the room. The hotel location is 15 walk from main streets and shopping area. I stayed in 306 for reference.

Room Tip: 306 is a good room to try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for a night. It is a lovely hotel, with incredibly good service. The decor and style inside was totally different from it's façade and the rooms are more traditional than modern and sleek. We had a massive space with a big bathroom and free fruit and water on arrival. We were also offered welcome drinks in the bar downstairs. The hotel is a 10min walk from the main station right in the financial district. If I went again I would probably prefer to stay more in the heart of the city where all of the bars and restaurants are as this area is quite quiet on the weekend. Saying this, the hotel itself was faultless and very good value. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place has been renovated recently and the rooms are now top notch. Quiet and comfortable with luxurious bathrooms. The biggest positive surprise was dinner in the restaurant which was one of the best meals in months. A really nice blend of updated German cooking, including a pork appetizer, fish main dish and a great desert with matching wines for less than 100 euros. Good wifi as well. A nice positive surprise and will definitely be back. Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
work
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Grand in a traditional sense.

Room was a Superior and very big with a hall and walk in closet.

Fantastic restaurant with top class breakfast offering.

Customer service very good

Fitness suite very good

Room - room needs updating. Smelt of smoke. And why a huge King bed but two single duvets? Old fashioned and phone didn't work. Nice fruit bowl touch though.

Bathroom very modern and very new appliances. Separate shower cubicle and bath tub with double basins. Nice. Molton brown goods. Just odd that the bathroom and bedroom didn't match.

Very very handy for the conference centre however.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HESSISCHER_HOF, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grandhotel Hessischer Hof, responded to this review, February 19, 2015
Dear Guest,

we appreciate your time for your positive review regarding your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to read your important comments and advice about our facilities and actions.

Please let us know if you have any more inquiries - we are happy to assist you at any time and hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best greetings

Matthias Eißner
Guest Relation Manager
guestrelation@hessischer-hof.de
+49 69 7540 29 31
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015 via mobile

Located conveniently opposite our offices, I arrived lunchtime and took a good club sandwich n the forward conservatory - well presented and quickly delivered. My room was in the new block to the rear - executive room which was very large and well appointed with complimentary fruit, mini bar etc - a nice touch. Breakfast buffet was well laid out - I enjoyed scrambled eggs and a selection of local sausages. Staff were polite and professional - a top experience allround!

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HESSISCHER_HOF, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grandhotel Hessischer Hof, responded to this review, February 19, 2015
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your recent stay at the Grandhotel Hessischer Hof and your positive comments here on Tripadvisor in regards to your delivered meal in our traditional wintergarden area, our new executive rooms, breakfast and service philosophy from our Team.

We are pleased to welcome you back in the near future and if you have any further inquiries or comments please let us know!


Best greetings to Kingston....

Matthias Eißner
Guest Relation Manager
guestrelation@hessischer-hof.de
+49 69 7540 29 31
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015 via mobile

I had two nights in Frankfurt and the hotel is right across the street from our offices. This place is a classic but you have to pay for the privilege. I got an executive suite in the back of the hotel and other than a bit of inconvenience (one might call it charm) having to navigate some stairs to the back elevator, the suite was outstanding. As good as I have stayed ever. My only beef, and I am not certain whose issue this was, was that my Swiss colleague, who frequently stays at this hotel, and my South African colleague, who never stays at this hotel, each had a room rate significantly below mine for identical rooms. When I couldn't book the hotel on our corporate travel site (don't get me started on that piece of work), I used hotels.com to book the room. As it turned out my rate was about 60% higher than his. I will do some substantial due diligence next time I book there, which I will.

And don't miss the "scene" at Jimmy's, the tobacco bar in the basement. It is a throwback to another's era and if you can stand the smoke, you will get a great view of wealthy altecocker businessmen with gorgeous, young ladies And am assorted cast of characters enough to provide you with interesting dreams when you stumble out late. And although my request threw the cocktail waitress for a loop, they did have a nice 100% agave reposada That apparently isn't ordered regularly.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grandhotel Hessischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandhotel Hessischer Hof

Address: Friedrich-Ebert-Anlage 40 | 60325, 60325 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#3 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#10 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#13 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grandhotel Hessischer Hof 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hessischer Hof, is the only privately owned 5 star accommodation in Frankfurt. Enjoy the comfort of a traditional luxury hotel, incomparable service and personal hospitality.The only hotel in Frankfurt that offers an extraordinary value included in the room rates: WiFi, Minibar, pay-tv, daily hospitality suite with free welcome drink and snacks from 6 pm to 8 pm as well as shoe shine service and fresh fruits in room. Enjoy the comfort of a traditional hotel with exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, LHW, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grandhotel Hessischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hessischer Hof
Hessischer Hof Frankfurt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandhotel Hessischer Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.