We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice updates; positive surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grandhotel Hessischer Hof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grandhotel Hessischer Hof to your Saves list
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Friedrich-Ebert-Anlage 40 | 60325, 60325 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Innenstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 266 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice updates; positive surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This place has been renovated recently and the rooms are now top notch. Quiet and comfortable with luxurious bathrooms. The biggest positive surprise was dinner in the restaurant which was one of the best meals in months. A really nice blend of updated German cooking, including a pork appetizer, fish main dish and a great desert with matching wines for less than 100 euros. Good wifi as well. A nice positive surprise and will definitely be back. Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
9
7
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
work
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Grand in a traditional sense.

Room was a Superior and very big with a hall and walk in closet.

Fantastic restaurant with top class breakfast offering.

Customer service very good

Fitness suite very good

Room - room needs updating. Smelt of smoke. And why a huge King bed but two single duvets? Old fashioned and phone didn't work. Nice fruit bowl touch though.

Bathroom very modern and very new appliances. Separate shower cubicle and bath tub with double basins. Nice. Molton brown goods. Just odd that the bathroom and bedroom didn't match.

Very very handy for the conference centre however.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HESSISCHER_HOF, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grandhotel Hessischer Hof, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

we appreciate your time for your positive review regarding your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to read your important comments and advice about our facilities and actions.

Please let us know if you have any more inquiries - we are happy to assist you at any time and hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best greetings

Matthias Eißner
Guest Relation Manager
guestrelation@hessischer-hof.de
+49 69 7540 29 31
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Located conveniently opposite our offices, I arrived lunchtime and took a good club sandwich n the forward conservatory - well presented and quickly delivered. My room was in the new block to the rear - executive room which was very large and well appointed with complimentary fruit, mini bar etc - a nice touch. Breakfast buffet was well laid out - I enjoyed scrambled eggs and a selection of local sausages. Staff were polite and professional - a top experience allround!

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HESSISCHER_HOF, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grandhotel Hessischer Hof, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your recent stay at the Grandhotel Hessischer Hof and your positive comments here on Tripadvisor in regards to your delivered meal in our traditional wintergarden area, our new executive rooms, breakfast and service philosophy from our Team.

We are pleased to welcome you back in the near future and if you have any further inquiries or comments please let us know!


Best greetings to Kingston....

Matthias Eißner
Guest Relation Manager
guestrelation@hessischer-hof.de
+49 69 7540 29 31
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I had two nights in Frankfurt and the hotel is right across the street from our offices. This place is a classic but you have to pay for the privilege. I got an executive suite in the back of the hotel and other than a bit of inconvenience (one might call it charm) having to navigate some stairs to the back elevator, the suite was outstanding. As good as I have stayed ever. My only beef, and I am not certain whose issue this was, was that my Swiss colleague, who frequently stays at this hotel, and my South African colleague, who never stays at this hotel, each had a room rate significantly below mine for identical rooms. When I couldn't book the hotel on our corporate travel site (don't get me started on that piece of work), I used hotels.com to book the room. As it turned out my rate was about 60% higher than his. I will do some substantial due diligence next time I book there, which I will.

And don't miss the "scene" at Jimmy's, the tobacco bar in the basement. It is a throwback to another's era and if you can stand the smoke, you will get a great view of wealthy altecocker businessmen with gorgeous, young ladies And am assorted cast of characters enough to provide you with interesting dreams when you stumble out late. And although my request threw the cocktail waitress for a loop, they did have a nice 100% agave reposada That apparently isn't ordered regularly.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My German hosts recommended the Hessischer Hof for a 4-night stay. This is an excellent right-sized alternative to the chain hotels. My executive room in the rear building was spacious, well appointed with a mix of antique and modern furnishings, and exceptionally quiet. Fresh fruit and refreshments were replenished daily at no charge. Room service was lightening fast and top quality. The staff was highly responsive to every request and warm and friendly, too. The breakfast buffet is not inexpensive, but exceptional in quality and selection.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear building are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hendon, london
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

great hotel opposite the famous messe.
walking distance to the exhibition halls
great service from the staff. they all speak very good english
the room is just grand looking
bathroom is very stylish and luxurious
however i did not try the breakfast or the restaurant or jimmy's bar.
but there are plenty of eateries at the Skyline Plaza mall nearby and good indian restaurant 50 metres around the corner.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the messe complex and on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Must say that this hotel was excellent. Beautiful room which they upgraded so was really nice. Fresh fruit. Free mini bar and free internet. Everything you could want.
Had lunch in hotel which was quite stuffy so wouldn't go again but overall loved the hotel.

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HESSISCHER_HOF, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grandhotel Hessischer Hof, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your time to review your stay at the Grandhotel Hessischer Hof here on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased as well to read that you feel comfortable with our complimentary amenities for all of our guests, like free internet access, minibar, fresh fruits, shoe shine service...! We have finalized AC improvements for our restaurant Sèvres as well and looking forward to welcome you back in the near future!

Best greetings

Matthias Eißner
Guest Relation Manager
guestrelation@hessischer-hof.de
+49 69 7540 2931
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grandhotel Hessischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandhotel Hessischer Hof

Address: Friedrich-Ebert-Anlage 40 | 60325, 60325 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#1 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#7 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#9 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grandhotel Hessischer Hof 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hessischer Hof, is the only privately owned 5 star accommodation in Frankfurt. Enjoy the comfort of a traditional luxury hotel, incomparable service and personal hospitality.The only hotel in Frankfurt that offers an extraordinary value included in the room rates: WiFi, Minibar, pay-tv, daily hospitality suite with free welcome drink and snacks from 6 pm to 8 pm as well as shoe shine service and fresh fruits in room. Enjoy the comfort of a traditional hotel with exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LHW, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grandhotel Hessischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hessischer Hof
Hessischer Hof Frankfurt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandhotel Hessischer Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.