We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grandhotel Hessischer Hof

Save Saved
You added Grandhotel Hessischer Hof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Friedrich-Ebert-Anlage 40, 60325 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Innenstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 263 hotels in Frankfurt
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Extraordinary place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel on April 21st and 22nd. Everything about the hotel is stunning. No detail was neglected in the furnishings or decorations. And, the staff was even better! Breakfast was wonderful as well.

If you visit Frankfurt, you must stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    301
    76
    20
    17
    9
See reviews for
35
91
91
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I travel to Frankfurt frequently but this was my first stay at this hotel, and I was very impressed by the quality of the hotel, the staff my room and the facilities, especially the Bar, the famous Jimmy's Bar, which if you enjoy a cocktail and a cigar listening to live piano music, this is the place for you. First the room, one of the few times I have had a room tour by a member of staff, very spacious, excellent bathroom, very comfortable. The restaurant Fine Dining & Haute Cuisine at Restaurant Sèvres, the food was excellent, superb choice of food and wine, then Jimmy's bar, it is a smoking bar, but worth the visit it is a famous bar with excellent cocktails... would go again.

Room Tip: All rooms are at a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

this was a return trip for me and unfortunately it did not live up to my expectations. I had stayed previously and loved it. This time I was shown to an inferior room in all senses - a small bed, bare and sparse furnishings and no idea from the staff of how to deal with my resulting disappointment. They were nice courteous people but essentially too junior and ineffectual as I was first told there was no option to change rooms and when I said that I would then leave and go to another hotel a room was found. This is very infuriating as it merely proves that in order to get good service you have to be demanding and instransigent which is stressful. The room I got was fine and served its purpose though I disliked the lack of a full length mirror that one could actually use (there is one on the bathroom door but as its too close to the wardrobe you cant see properly). Given the huge price tag on the room it is not worth it. Its a convenient location for Messe. Its a LHW hotel. Room service breakfast and dinner was prompt and good. Unfortunately I wont be back.

Room Tip: I dont know how the rooms are distributed but having stayed there previously with a wonderful room y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Once you enter you feel transported to another time. A time of grand hotels with exceptional service. All the staff were friendly and went out of their way to ensure a perfect experience. We had a Junior Suite which was very comfortable. The GM Mr. Singer takes great pride in his property and the staff prove it. Terrific service and only three stops by Underground or a 30 minute walk to the Old Opera House or Romer. Great bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: Get a Junior Suite if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Have we ever stayed in a better property than this? Doubt it. A great finale for our 15 day European tour. The bet part of the hotel is its staff. Courteous, welcoming and excel in customer delight. Isabel at the front office is one of the best e have ever met in hospitality industry. The hotel is right opposite Messe frankfurt. Walking distance from botanical gardens. Breakfast is great. He room sizes and the bathroom size are big. Best part is that wi fi is complementary. There is an underground and a tram station. Right outside the hotel. And stop no 8 for STADTRUNDFAHRT is also right opposite the hotel. True value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The airport is 15 minutes by car....the main train station is 10 minutes walking. Near to a great park for a run or stroll. The Frankfurt Botanical garden is also in walking distance. Close by or within walking distance is the Frankfurt Marriott. The weekend brunch also looked very nice but we didn't have time. We ordered in-room dining which consisted of a pot of coffee and hot water, a assorted breads for like 38 euros which was a bit excessive, we thought.

Room Tip: The Executive Suite is good because of the overall space and in room amenities. A double double roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

In your face five star hotel . Staff can't do enough but I like the laid back approach so a bit over the top but depends on taste. Breakfast great. Bar prices expensive. Free wifi. Room clean everything you would expect . Not sure about location as only stayed one night on way to Vienna .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grandhotel Hessischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandhotel Hessischer Hof

Address: Friedrich-Ebert-Anlage 40, 60325 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt , Westend-Süd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#5 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#6 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#11 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grandhotel Hessischer Hof 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hessischer Hof, is the only privately owned 5 star accommodation in Frankfurt. Enjoy the comfort of a traditional luxury hotel, incomparable service and personal hospitality.The only hotel in Frankfurt that offers an extraordinary value included in the room rates: WiFi, Minibar, pay-tv, daily hospitality suite with free welcome drink and snacks from 6 pm to 8 pm as well as shoe shine service and fresh fruits in room. Enjoy the comfort of a traditional hotel with exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grandhotel Hessischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hessischer Hof
Hessischer Hof Frankfurt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandhotel Hessischer Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.