We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good German cooking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kaefer's at Frankfurt Airport

Kaefer's at Frankfurt Airport
Frankfurt Airport, Terminal 1, level 2 B-east, 60549 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
+49 69 69072528
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #400 of 1,780 Restaurants in Frankfurt
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Bisto - style restaurant with view on movement aerea of the airport. Great for Breakfast, lunch or dinner - and that "in between snack" while waiting at the airport.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good German cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

If you want to sit down and you have more than an hour to spare at Frankfurt airport find you way to Kafer & Kuffler restaurant in terminal 1. The main restaurant looks like a french bistrot and has a very nice view of the runway and all the plane movements. Staff are cheerful and efficient and the menu whilst not long covers most choices of German food plus some more exotic selections. prices are reasonable and the service is relaxed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Kaefer's at Frankfurt Airport, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear "Robinbwatts", thank you very much for your kind recommendation. Best wishes for a great new year from the Käfer'S at the Frankfurt airport in Germany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    27
    17
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Terrible. Don't set foot in this place.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Horrible food, terrible service (rude and unatentive waiters), overpriced, loud and dirty. This sums up this place. Easy to find a better place to eat in Terminal 1 of the Frankfurt Airport.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Kaefer's at Frankfurt Airport, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear "Filipe L", we are very sorry that you experienced your visit this way. We cannot really understand, but we know that our restaurant is clean, the food is great and that our staff is friendly.
Yes, it is loud at airports - sometimes. But our place is big enough to enjoy a great view on the planes..... in peace and quiet. Maybe you will want to take a closer look next time you are around. We would be very glad to show you around and to be able to meet up to your expectations.
Best wishes and a happy new year from the Käfer'S at the Frankfurt airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten at Kafer's three or four times in the last three years and the service has always been attentive, the food good and as described on the menu. Kafer's has several meat and sausage dishes as well as a few dishes each featuring pasta, fish and vegetarian chhoices, but no poultry. On this latest visit i had the grilled tuna steak over Tuscan vegetables with oven roasted potatoes, all very good. Waiters are multilingual.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Heidelberg, Germany
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Awful! Awful! Awful! Madero late for boarding!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Waited an hour, drinks, and food never arrived! Others seated around us arrived after us, ordered, and paid. We asked the server three times about our drinks and were totally blown off! (She was a manager too!) This place use be good... It has really declined though!!!! Avoid it, go to one of the other places!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great airport restaurant in Frankfurt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We went for dinner at Kafer's Bistro at Frankfurt Airport. The menu offers lots of choices depending on your appetite, the service is good and friendly and the price is right. We had full meals with appetizers and entrees, wine, coffee and dessert all for 80 Euros, not bad for an airport restaurant. We were very happy with our experience, they even have a section by the large windows with tablecloth and a great view of the runways.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaefer's at Frankfurt Airport also viewed

 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Kaefer's at Frankfurt Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaefer's at Frankfurt Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.