We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best japanese food in Frankfurt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fujiwara

Fujiwara
Cranachstr. 1 | Frankfurt am Main, 60596 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Sachsenhausen-Nord)
069 66371816
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #56 of 1,680 restaurants in Frankfurt
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sachsenhausen-Nord
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best japanese food in Frankfurt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We had moriwase sashimi, which was great. Tanuki Udon(warm) was very delicious. The price is expensive, but comparing the others is that price absolutely fair to charge. Unfortunately, the location is not very well for car-driver. Anyways, I would like to visit this restaurant as many as my budget allows me to go :))

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    29
    12
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Excellent food, nice people, very elegant atmosphere. I strongly recomand this sushi restaurant for any accasion!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average Japanese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

If you do not speak/read any German or Japanese ....you may not want to choose this place. The food was ok (would not rave about it ) strongly disagree with the #6 rating, the prices doesn't match the quality of the food..udon with three pieces of tempura was 20 dollars (15 euro), Very tiny (20 people can fit max), must make reservation, overall good waitress service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopenhagenDenmark
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very very good...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

After reading several reviews here we decided to for Fujiwara - and it was a great evening. The restaurant is indeed quite small - but cosy in that somewhat funny Japanese way. The staff and chef are all Japanese which only adds to the authenticity.

All of our food was great - not the best sushi ever - but really good - very very fresh. Everything is made fresh to order by the chef who resides in a corner of the restaurant. We did have a few Nigiris not compact enough (fell too easily apart) - but all in all a really good experience. They are not shy on the wasabi on nigiris and in the maki's which I really like - but be aware if you don't!

Only 4 star rating as NO Japanese beer was available - only German. I like German beer - but when having sushi I like Japanese beer (such as Kirin or Sapporo). Can't them 5 stars without Japanese beer :-)

Staff was - as most Japanese are - very humble and very very friendly and smiling.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese in Frankfurt, Sachsenhausen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

If you are in Frankfurt for business or pleasure and feel like taking a break from the sausages, potatoes and beer, consider a bite of Japan. This little gem, tucked in a quite corner of the Sachsenhausen neighborhood (across the river from the city center), gets crowded easily but it is worth the wait. Better yet, do it like the Germans and call ahead to reserve. The couple that owns the place is there every night (she hosts, he slices the sushi) backed by a small friendly staff. You know a place is authentic when people from the country the food originates from go there to eat. And that's the case with Fujiwara. On any given night about fifty percent of the patrons are Japanese. The sushi is fresh and expertly prepared, but the menu is full of many more surprises to explore.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fujiwara also viewed

Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Fujiwara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fujiwara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.