We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good museum, nice cafe but cannot see it as a No.1 attraction” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Staedel Museum

Staedel Museum
Schaumainkai 63, 60596 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Sachsenhausen-Nord)
069605098200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 117 Attractions in Frankfurt
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Considered the city's finest art museum, the Städel holds a fantastic collection of works from the 16th century through the present day.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good museum, nice cafe but cannot see it as a No.1 attraction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

A good museum, in a great position, and attracts a lot of customers to it's very well done cafe. However we went to see a specific exhibition, and the place was not well organised for the amount of people who were queuing. It was painfully slow, and freezing outside, so we presumed it was limited amounts of people being allowed entry to avoid an over population of exhibits. We couldn't have been more wrong, it was so crowded and noisy, with no visible staff to assist with progression, that it totally ruined the exhibition for us. Queues for the toilet and the coffee shop, together with our progression through, were a complete push and shove. I'm a big museum/gallery fan, and after reading such good reviews this was a big let down. Maybe we picked a bad day - holiday time and weekend.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    166
    21
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful paintings and sculpture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Stadel Museum was started in the late 1800's via a donation by its namesake. The original 42 (I think) paintings donated are all together on a wall at the entrance to an entire floor of 14th to 18th century paintings. We spent almost three hours in this area alone, partly because our preference for this kind of art, and partly because of the quantity, which is tremendous. Because the museum closed at 6p.m. we quickly rushed through the modern art floor and the exhibition floor. Modern art lovers will find the collection more than adquate, with a few Monet's, Renoir's, and Van Goh's thrown in for good measure. The 14 euro (approx $18) entry fee is a bit steep, so ensure you give yourself at least 4 hours to enjoy the museum. We didn't eat at the cafe in the museum due to the bevy of nearby dining choices, but there were plenty of folks enjoying coffee and cake at the cafe. The museum shop was pretty standard, with a lot of books on art related to but not in the museum. The museum is across the road from the Rhine River and a pedestrian bridge across such, so there is a nice area to enjoy before or after a visit. Overall we enjoyed the quality of the art and the facility in general very much.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wildwood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
155 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“The Bookshop is also a 'must see'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

To be different, I’ll review the bookstore. It had a lot of fun things: recipe books, journals, mugs, posters, clearance books, etc. My favorite was hand-crafted wrapping paper – perfect for someone who has everything. Staff was very helpful.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“have a long visit here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

if you are an art lover, do not miss the museum.the building is amazing and has a collection rich and famous.you can see some "degas, renoir" and german paintings too. the only minus is the high price ticket,14 euros during weekends,if you consider the other european museum prices...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grundau, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Stadel Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Outstanding displays that have never ceased to amaze me every time I go here plus the location is perfect combined with relaxing, eating out or shopping!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Staedel Museum also viewed

Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Staedel Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staedel Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.