We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Goethe House (Goethehaus)

Goethe House (Goethehaus)
Grosser Hirschgraben 23 - 25, 60311 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Innenstadt)
49 0 69 1 38 80-0
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Goethe House (Goethehaus) like an insider
Private Tour
$49*
and up
Private Tour: Frankfurt City Highlights
Ranked #26 of 295 things to do in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The house in which the legendary writer Johann Wolfgang von Goethe lived his early years has been restored with many of his family's original belongings.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“interesting but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I expected to find out more regarding Goethe's sources of inspirations and in relation with his daily life, but all I found out was about the heating system, the laundry which was in huge quantities and other such things, very normal for a dwelling of the time.

Nonetheless, the guide was extremely entertaining (tour was in German) and I really appreciated it, up to some point.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    142
    54
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Walk around in history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

It is amazing to see how rich Goethe's family must have been. The Goethehaus where Goethe was born, is very beautiful. Rooms are exactly like they must have been in the year 1749. You can't believe, this building was bombed during WW 2 and rebuilt after it. There is not much history left in Frankfurt, but this place is a must see !

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

It was interesting walking through the rooms - even that I knew the house had been re-build after the war - it still felt old and original - worth a visit. Nice shops around the museum little boutiques and eateries - good idea to fill out a Sunday afternoon.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A museum that could be interesting, but it is not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

You would think they would have information in several languages! But no, they don't. Every little description for every piece in the museum is in German. Frankly, there is space, and I bet they have the couple of thousand Euros it would take to translate and display the descriptions in English and French (at least!).
The house was interesting, when complemented with the audio-tour. The museum must have been interesting but everything was written in German, so we fled by; the air was unbearably dry and stale.
I thought they failed in describing the main works of Goethe for people who don't know about his work. Only in the improvised gift shop you could find reference to his work.
If you are in Frankfurt, by all means go. But don't expect to find something like Mozart House in Vienna; or the Anne Frank house in Amsterdam. From a museography point of view, this is rather sub-standard.
The highlight of the house was the astronomical clock on the 3th floor. A work of art. And not highlighted enough in the audio-tour or on the labels.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Restored Home...rude front desk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Easy to find....but only because the Frankfurt On Foot Tour showed the way earlier in the day! There are 4 floors altogether....with some original stairs on the 1st floor that were not destroyed in the war. When you enter, you are asked to leave backpacks behind in storage. This is the only place I witnessed rudeness, and I'm grateful it was not directed at me! With mostly tourists entering the place, some patience in explaining policies is in order. A raised voice by the man behind the desk, directed at a paying customer was uncalled for (hence 3 stars). BUT...everyone else in the house was very helpful and friendly, and anxious to show some of the beautiful features.

Because it had to be entirely rebuilt, it is filled with art and furniture of the times, but not necessarily Goethe's. When you enter, there are laminated "map cards" you can take with you for explanations of the art and furnishings (many languages available). This was sufficient for me!

If a Goethe fan, you will enjoy this glimpse into his life, and really sense the love he had for his sister. If not a fan, you may well become one (that's me!).

When you go in, pay attention to the details...these details are exactly as the house was because they actually had the building plans from the original! From the staircases, to the mouldings, to the views of the garden, it's a pleasant visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goethe House (Goethehaus) also viewed

 

Been to Goethe House (Goethehaus)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goethe House (Goethehaus), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.