We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elbestrasse 7, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Bahnhofsviertel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #38 of 264 Hotels in Frankfurt
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is comfortable and clean and serves an excellent continental breakfast included in the rate. The staff are really friendly and accommodating. It is easy walking distance from the main train station and seemed very central to everything for me. The hotel has an excellent environmental policy and does not supply miniature bathroom amenities rather it has dispensers in the shower and by the basin dispensing the soap, shampoo and shower gel which I think is great. However unfortunately the room I had the cleaning staff did not check this so mine was empty, a minor inconvenience in what was otherwise a great stay. The towels could also be a bit bigger! It is for the soap and towel size I did not rate this 5 star!

Room Tip: If you are a Priority Rewards member try and get one of the rooms marked for these members, they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXFRAAD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Oztravel7,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof.

I will make sure to share your comment with our housekeeping team. Proper care of refilling empty shampoo bottles should be taken.

Thank you for patronizing Holiday Inn Express.

Kind regards
Arndt Writze, Regional Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    258
    74
    8
    15
See reviews for
71
158
49
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leura, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This Holiday inn express is conveniently located close to frankfurt's main train station and to city center. We stayed there for 2 nights with a room change in between. Both rooms were great, large, spacious, smartly decorated with large modern bathrooms. It was all very clean. We had to pay 5 euro for 24 hours of internet but that is okay. The lobby area was well designed and decorated. Breakfast had a small selection but it was enough to leave satisfied. My only complaint is the reception staff member who took my phone call regarding a question about whether or not the wifi was free. The woman on the phone was rude and agitated and in the end told me to come down to reception and get the wifi. That was fine with me, no problem at all it was just the attitude of the person on the phone that has made this hotel not get full marks from me. But despite that I would definitely recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXFRAAD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Samwil212,

Thank you very much for your positive review about your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay.

I will make sure to share your comment regarding the unfriendly phone call with our front desk staff. Guest satisfaction and friendliness is our key focus and I find it unacceptable to read that you felt like your call was not appreciated.

Kind regards
Arndt Writzel, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a special rate which made this even better value than normal so €155 for 3 nights B&B for 2 people in central Frankfurt is an outstanding price, but if you book early enough, you could almost certainly pay under €200 for the same which would still be very good value for money.
I have to say that in terms of the budget chain hotels, this is one of the best I've stayed in. Admittedly it is modern and that helps as it still feels new throughout, but cleanliness is very good, the room we stayed in was at the back of the hotel and very quiet & the bathroom in particular was very nicely furnished. The buffet breakfast was limited in choice but the quality was excellent, especially the superb croissants.
Location wise I guess it wasn't in the most elegant of quarters, but then Frankfurt is a very industrial city at the best of times! However, in terms of access to the main station (for visits to other cities like Mainz & getting to/from airport) as well as for being in walking dustsnce of the wonderful Xmas markets, for me, the location was excellent and very central.
Overall, a very pleasant and good value stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXFRAAD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear RichP_1978,

Thank you very much for taking to time to review your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express. We appreciate reading that you enjoyed your stay and our very central location in Frankfurt.

Best wishes and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Arndt Writzel, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed there last week for 2 nights, it was really great stay, very large room with a queen size bed and very clean bathroom, breakfast was great, and the location was ideal as it is very close to the main station and 10 minutes walking to the city center and old town ... highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXFRAAD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Islam_Fathy74,

Thank you very much for patronizing Holiday Inn Express and your positive review about your stay here in Frankfurt. We are looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Arndt Writzel, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

5 minutes walking distance from Frankfurt central station.
Nice,clean convenient rooms,friendly check in and a correct breakfast .
The area around is not upscale definitely but it is a logical business mid level hotel in a convenient location.

Room Tip: High floor is better,but the differences are minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXFRAAD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear PLSPG,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City HBF. We appreciate reading that you enjoyed your stay and our good location and we hope to welcome you back your next time around.

Kind regards
Arndt Writzel, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I would confirm the many positive comments of other reviewers. We arrived late (about 2330) by train from Amsterdam. It was less than a 10min walk to this modern hotel. Despite the late hour, we didn't feel any threat. Hotel reception was friendly and efficient and we were soon in a comfortable large clean quiet room. Next morning we were up at 0630, had breakfast (included in price) and were back at the station by 0800. Using the subway to cross the busy road and tram lines in front of Hbf saved a few minutes ... and as some stress.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXFRAAD, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Andrew C,

First of all, on behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for staying with us and finding the time to write a review on our Hotel! The comfort and the convenience of our guests are the main priorities for us and it is a great joy to read such positive feedbacks!

You are absolutely right to say that our location can definitely save a traveller a lot of time and nerves and we are really happy that you were able to experience that. Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel and we are looking forward to seeing you again in the nearest future!

Kind regards,
Elena Hannappel
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We almost didn't stay at this hotel as we discovered it was located in shonky end of town and quite intimidating. On way to check in we took a wrong turn from GPS two streets away from hotel and witnessed a woman injecting her foot at 3pm in afternoon in gutter, groups of men, druggies and homeless people standing around in the streets. But despite it's appearance, it was quite safe. And we were pleasantly surprised with Hotel. Parking impossible around the streets. There is no assigned parking space associated to the hotel for quick check-in and unloading suitcases etc., so be prepared to drive around and look for parking and dragging your bags for some distance. The hotel does offer paid parking (15 euros per day) where you can access from the left side of the building, stop at gate, then press intercom. They will direct you to a numbered space and then you can check-in from there. All very secure. Breakfast standard European wise, but good. Buffet style. Excellent Italian & Asian restaurants directly across the road, at very reasonable prices.
The hotel itself is quite good. Very modern, spacious with amazing roomy bathroom and excellent security. rooms do not have a fridge, which in my opinion should be mandatory, express or not. Hotel does let you put cold items in a fridge located at reception. There is also a free ice machine near reception. Staff were helpful and spoke excellent English. Train station 5-10 minute easy walk to hotel, just hand-cuff your suitcase to your wrist! Frankfurt is not Germanys most beautiful city!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXFRAAD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Sheilariser,

Thank you very much for your positive review of the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt HBF. We are happy to hear that you liked our facilities and the hotel altogether.

I am sorry that you had such a horrible arrival experience. The area does attract some seedy individuals at times but the situation with these fellows is usually relaxed and our street and the main street from the station are safe even at night.

Kind regards
Arndt Writzel, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof

Address: Elbestrasse 7, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Bahnhofsviertel , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#24 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#40 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof. In the heart of Frankfurt, next to the “main station Frankfurt“, the new Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel recently opened in March 2011. Just a few minutes walk to the city centre and famous sights of Frankfurt like the Opera Frankfurt, the Staedel Museum, the German Museum of Architecture, the Goethe House or St. Leonhards’ Church. The Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhofis the perfect place to stay to discover the famous business city Frankfurt am Main. Our 116 comfortable air-conditioned, non smoking bedrooms, with flat screen colour TV, offer a telephone, a safe, high speed Wi-Fi internet connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. Our continental breakfast buffet is included. We have integrated the dynamic philosophy of the Holiday Inn Express brand into the meetings sector and look forward to your request for a professionally run conference. 1 modern meeting room, 25m² with air conditioning is available for your meeting.We are looking forward to your visit at the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel Frankfurt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.