We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than on paper... or on web I should say” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elbestrasse 7, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Bahnhofsviertel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #51 of 265 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London UK
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Much better than on paper... or on web I should say”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

HI Express right in the middle of the grottiest part of Frankfurt? You must be kidding!
But actually, nice room, very clean, good free breakfast and overall a nice experience.
Quite cheerful, actually. So again, if you do not require all the bells and whistles, stay here without any issues. I probably would not walk outside after night fall, but then again I go to bed at 7pm...
Staying at the IC just around the corner tonight, so watch out for that review...

Room Tip: inside rooms better for noise levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    292
    90
    12
    16
See reviews for
80
179
50
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for business in the end of November 2012. This hotel is relatively new and accordingly it was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The shower was fantastic - powerful with accurate temperature controls. Location wise the hotel's very convenient to Frankfurt's main train station Hauptbahnhof.
The hotel was spotless and the team was amazing everything was always clean in the hotel. Very good breakfast.

Teresa Pires the manager is great and willing to assist and make a better and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights for business in March 2013. This hotel is relatively new and accordingly it was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The shower was fantastic - powerful with accurate temperature controls.

Location wise the hotel's very convenient to Frankfurt's main train station (Hauptbahnhof) and there are plenty of restaurants nearby. One to try is Merkez just a few doors down - the food here was epic! One of the best kebap's I've had in a while.

As with all HI Express's continental breakfast is included within the price and the selection was decent.

As with all things, there was one slight negative, which was that the in-room Wi-Fi was not working on 2 nights. As a PC member I received free internet, so wasn't too bothered by this. I guess if you had paid for it, you would be a little more annoyed.

Overall though an excellent hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache Junction, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel overall was a great place to stay downtown Frankfurt Germany. Barry was located close to the main train station and in a safe area With lots of restaurants to eat. The hotel was updated with modern amenities The staff was friendly and always available. The hotel was clean with good-sized rooms everything was updated with in the past couple years. The breakfast had amazing croissants and other food. It was a cold variety breakfast but still enough to choose from.
The hotel was spotless and the cleaning team was amazing everything was always clean in the hotel.
The only two complaints I had were the beds were hard and there was a strange smell emanating from the bathroom sink and shower. In the hotel's defense we didn't complain about the shower or the sink smell and I'm convinced they would have fixed it if we would have called. Or try to fix it at least.
Great hotel I would stay there again if I'm ever in Frankfurt for sure, stayed there for two weeks and in two different rooms .....awesome place to stay..

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel is very well positioned to both explore Frankfurt and when it's time to leave it is near to the train station.The staff were very good and the room being relatively new was of of a high standard.The Italian restaurant across the street wasn't too bad either.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed twice in this hotel, 2 nights in February and 2 nights in March.
Overall everything was great.. with few negatives.

Room : Room is excellent.. spacious, clean, seems to be recently renovated.. LCD, Safe, but no Mini Bar.

Location :
This is the contravarsy.. well its a 5 min walk from the main train station, 10 min walk to the market area.. but 2 streets away from the red light area.. so at night if you wander into the nighberhood you will find your self surrounded by drug addicts and prostitutes.
The trick is to know which direction to walk,, once you've done that then you are fine.

Food:
Breakfast was ok.. not a lot of varieties, bread, cereal, juice, cheese, boiled eggs....
No room service.
A vending machine in the lobby and an ice machine.

Service: Excellent

Internet : super fast for 5 Euros per day.

The Negative:
I am surprised no one mentioned this: It seems somehow the floors and walls conduct a lot of noise, you can always here the room above you and next to you. there is constant knocking from above you and from the room next door.. its not loud.. but its just there,, it can get annoying if you are a light sleeper.
I went twice and stayed 2 nights each time,, once in the 2nd floor and another in the 4th. and I had the same problem each time. so it was not a coincidence.. its a fact.
I am not a light sleeper, so I wasn't bothered by this.. but its a problem with the building and I'm surprised no one mentioned it in the reviews.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puget Sound
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Not only is this HIE near the train station, almost half the journey can be completed sheltered from the elements in the underground plaza by bearing to the right and taking the next to last exit up to the street. The neighborhood has a variety of ethnic food service, small shops, and other urban stuff. It did not seem dangerous to me. The hotel is also just a few blocks from the river with a pedestrian bridge leading to the nearby museums. Even on a cold day, we weren't out long enough to be uncomfortable.

The hotel itself is clean, efficient, and fully appointed. The room was somewhat less compact than the Mecure in Essen or the Barcelo in Hamburg. A little more space a little less efficiently used providing equal comfort. The staff are friendly and patient with a guest's feeble efforts in German. Our only disappointment was that our early flight denied us a second morning of their excellent breakfast. Might be the nicest HIE I've enjoyed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof

Address: Elbestrasse 7, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Bahnhofsviertel , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#35 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#44 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof. In the heart of Frankfurt, next to the “main station Frankfurt“, the new Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel recently opened in March 2011. Just a few minutes walk to the city centre and famous sights of Frankfurt like the Opera Frankfurt, the Staedel Museum, the German Museum of Architecture, the Goethe House or St. Leonhards’ Church. The Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhofis the perfect place to stay to discover the famous business city Frankfurt am Main. Our 116 comfortable air-conditioned, non smoking bedrooms, with flat screen colour TV, offer a telephone, a safe, high speed Wi-Fi internet connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. Our continental breakfast buffet is included. We have integrated the dynamic philosophy of the Holiday Inn Express brand into the meetings sector and look forward to your request for a professionally run conference. 1 modern meeting room, 25m² with air conditioning is available for your meeting.We are looking forward to your visit at the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel Frankfurt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.