We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in the heart of the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paulaner

Paulaner
Domplatz 6, 60311 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Altstadt)
(0 69) 20 97 68 90
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 1,780 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Altstadt
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place in the heart of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I liked the food, found out it to be little expensive, but what would you expect it to be if the restaurant is in the middle of the city center. However the service was terribly slow. I had to catch a train to Dortmund and had to leave after finishing my meals. But the waitress took almost half an hour to clear my dues.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    159
    40
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Very average and expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Hard to believe high ratings. Go somewhere else. Nothing stands out. Only thing we liked was the kids meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Give this a miss”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Food is OK and value for money reasonable
Waitress service unacceptable - avoid this place if you expect to be served

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Spaetzle before your flight home to the US”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We enjoyed an excellent German meal of Jaeger Schnitzel and Rahm Schnitzel with Spaetzle the night before our flight back to the US. The Paulaner Dunkel Beer (1/2 Liter) was the perfect accompaniment as a beverage. The staff spoke excellent English and were very friendly. Excellent value!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wunderbar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

This is an amazing restaurant. Tasty, hearty portions and friendly, english speaking staff. Not terribly priced for it's proximity to the Rom.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Paulaner also viewed

 

Been to Paulaner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paulaner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.