We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bombay Palace

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bombay Palace
Darmstadter Landstr.6, 60594 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Sachsenhausen-Nord)
+49 69 626310
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #950 of 1,852 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Price range: $16 - $34
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sachsenhausen-Nord
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Me and my friends went to the Bombay Palace for dinner while visiting in Frankfurt. I must have to say that their food and beverage service is excellent and the attention and service you get from their staff is fantastic. If I ever get a chance again I would definitely re-visit this restaurant again in the future.

Me and my friends ordered different varieties of food starting with chicken tandoori, samosas, papadum's, chicken dishes, lamb dishes, fish dishes and vegetable dishes including dal. The food was "Awesome". Me and my friends had a real good time at the Bombay Palace Restaurant in Frankfurt. I would definitely recommend this place to all my friends and family. Overall I would say that this restaurant is the best in Frankfurt that I've been to. They have excellent service and one of the best tasting Indian foods in town.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    26
    14
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Meh-Just (barely) OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

I really don't get the rave reviews for this place, especially those calling it "very authentic." Have the people writing such comments ever tasted the hot, sultry subtlety of real, well-prepared Indian food? We've visited the restaurant on two occasions, once in the former location and most recently at the new location.

We began this latest meal with Keema Samosas (filled with lamb and peas) and Chicken Pakoras. Both can be sublime when done well, but here the samosas had a thick, tough, greasy pastry shell stuffed with surprisingly bland minced lamb. The pakoras were far more tasty, though they too were marred by a overly heavy and greasy gram flour coating that detracted from the appeal of the dish (the coating was so thick and tough that it had actually separated from the chicken inside!).

We fared a bit better with the mains, though not by much. I had the Punjabi Chana Massala, set to "medium" spiciness. It was tasty, though it seemed to be all heat and little flavor; the very best Indian food incorporates complex and intriguing flavors infused into the heat, but here such subtlety was lacking. Companions had the Butter Chicken, which had a very flavorful sauce but was, once again, marred by chunks of overcooked, overly-tough chicken. In this dish, the chicken should be moist and practically melt on your tongue like, well, butter, but not here. Another companion had bog-standard Chicken Tikka, which was OK but unremarkable. We ordered 3 different types of Naan bread (butter, paneer and garlic) to accompany our meal; all were colossal disappointments in that they tasted stale and their texture was tough and lifeless. In fact, I got the impression that these were not freshly prepared, but rather re-heated from earlier in the day, which is inexcusable. I absolutely adore Naan bread when done correctly, but these were practically inedible.

The service was friendly and attentive, but one gets the impression that the kitchen suffers from laziness and cut corners. Too many inadequacies in the food preparation, probably resulting from too little attention to detail on the part of the chef.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Spiced it up I guess ;-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Not a bad experience in fact quite enjoyable. Being a big lover of Indian curries I have been checking out the Inidan restaurants in Frankfurt and this is one of the better and more popular ones. In fact we only went here on the off chance and were extremely lucky to get a table. Definitely should book in advance.

We had the Onion Bhajis, the Fisk Tikka and the King Prawns Tikka and it was quite nice. The spices were hotter than other places, the rice was basic boiled white rice, the fish was a little overcooked and the king prawn tikka was excellent. They also have Kingfisher beer which was a plus.

Very nice atmosphere in this restaurant though and whilst we had the typical scene of the Indian manager screaming and shouting at the Indian chefs the waitresses managed to make it seem natural, eye-rolling it off and the service was excellent.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eschborn, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best Indian food in Frankfurt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

We have tried a couple of Indian style restaurants in Frankfurt and were always very pleased with this one. Excellent food quality combined with a nice patron and a nice ambience. Easy to reach but a bit hidden in a back street of Frankfurt Sachsenhausen. The food and drinks are a bit pricy but not unusual for Frankfurt and definately worth the food especially since you won't leave the place hungry. It is usually pretty crowded so I advise to call for a reservation.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

Me and my friends were in Frankfurt Germany on holiday, during our hotel stay we asked the bell captain for a place to eat good Indian food. They recomended The Bombay Palace. We enjoyed our evening with varity of different dishes and I have to say they were great. The staff at the resturant are friendly and charming. the owner has a charm that will want to bring you back for more. We found him to be jolly and the hospitality he gave us, was countless. After all we charmed shots from the owner.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Palace also viewed

Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Bombay Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bombay Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.