We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High-priced Sunday Brunch has it's perks, but falls short” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Unterschweinstiege

Restaurant Unterschweinstiege
Unterschweinstiege 16, 60549 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
+49 6969752500
Improve this listing
Ranked #298 of 1,785 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Waldenbuch, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“High-priced Sunday Brunch has it's perks, but falls short”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Went here for the Sunday Brunch. This brunch misses the make on some key Sunday Brunch staples that are expected with a Brunch of this price. At Euro 35.00 per adult, some very basic things I'd expect are:
1.) Have all entrees ready within a reasonable opening time. We'd made our reservations for 10:30 which is the advertised opening time. While, I'd expect that there would be a few late-comer dishes to the buffet line due to freshness, the staff were still in "set-up" mode as late as 11:00. Add to that, the BBQ meat section didn't open for customer service until after 12:00.

2.) Have an egg-to-order station (non-existent)

3.) No one-glass limit on the champagne- yes, there was a one-glass limit on the champagne...THAT was a new one.

The good points about this place:
1.) Child friendly. The child brunch price was very reasonable (Euro 9.50) and there was a decent child playground and activity room with staff to look after them.

2.) The food...when it was available, was actually quite good, and once everything was finally laid out, there was a decent variety.

I will probably not go here again. I would though if either the negatives I've outlined were rectified, or the price reduced to the Euro 20-25 range.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    47
    19
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Evening buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stooped in before a flight out for dinner. We had intended to only oder a main, but the buffet was so reasonably priced we had to try it. The variety was outstanding from starters, salads, meat fish and desserts. All is very well prepared and restocked frequently.
Definitely recommend

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty and gemütlichkeit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Super surroundings, lovely food and wine list. Very nice change from usual hotel restaurants. Evidently it's been there for years.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasonville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A surprise for an international airport hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed at the Steigenberger Hotel overnight to catch an early flight out of Frankfurt. I walked away twice from the restaraunt Untereschweinstiege because I was not sure that I was at the right place. Such a contrast to the standard international airport hotel design. Glad we went.
We had the Schnitzel which was excellent and the Filet platter including local sausage which was doused in Sauce Bernaisse. My son had a filet steak which was excellent. We had every soupe they had on the menu as appertizers and one of each of their desserts. We also had several glasses "Appel Woi".

I am glad we did not end up in a standard hotel restaurant with standard international (mostly Italian) cuisine. The Steigenberger I believe has 4 restaurants on site so plenty to chose from.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Best Wiener Schnitzel in Frankfurt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We were delighted when we chose the Steigenberger Hotel in an overnight stop at Frankfurt Airport because of this restaurant we read about. It was described as an authentic frankfurter restaurant so this would differentiate it from the usual international cafe other airport hotels offer. They delivered more. There were basically 4 dining tracks you could select from the extensive menu. The buffet at 33€ is not spectacular so unless you are in a hurry, we'd skip it. The second is a complete goose meal. We weren't enamoured with so much goose in one go so we went on. The fish dishes comprised species like pikes, while genuinely local, aren't as enticing unless one has severest diet restriction against meats. So we went for the Wiener Schnitzel which is fried golden brown and juicy inside. It was simply the best schnitzel we have had in 30 years! It came with a trip to the salad bar and grilled potatoes redolent with bacon. At ~25€, it was by far the best choice. We washed it down with some George Debouef Beaujolais nouveau which was just released. If you must overnight at Franfurt airport, this is definitely the place to eat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Unterschweinstiege also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Unterschweinstiege? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Unterschweinstiege, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.