We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful green sauce” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fichte Kraenzi

Fichte Kraenzi
Wallstr. 5, 60594 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Sachsenhausen-Nord)
69 612778
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 1,831 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Sachsenhausen-Nord
Adelaide, South Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful green sauce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Recently enjoyed an evening meal here and really enjoyed the whole experience. We were particularly delighted with the green sauce, which is something we'd never had before. Lovely friendly atmosphere, with the waiters speaking good english. We thought the prices were very good. Beware the cherry desert, a huge serve which really needs two to tackle it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    42
    13
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fun "authentic" Frankfurt dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Brought here by a group of Europeans and Americans attending a trade show at the messe, this was a lively, loud, fun dining experience. Make sure to try the hand cheese with musik and the apple wine ( however it was much more sour than what i had at Frankfurt neighborhood markets and other restaurants... More authentic here?)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Look no further for authentic Frankfurt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Having researched before hand all things authentically Frankfurt, we chose this place as the reviews seemed to be pretty positive and we were not disappointed. Being a Saturday night the place was pretty packed out, so we simply sat at the bar for a short while sampling the Apple Wine and absorbing the cozy atmosphere until a space was free. The seats are pretty classic German benches which gives you a good chance to mingle with the locals. The food is all very fresh and we both agreed, delicious. For two people having a main course and a glass of the apple wine each, our bill was less than 25 euros. If you like German food and you want to try it with the Frankfurt twist, Fichte Kranzi is a great choice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Casual, friendly & German food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were looking for some authentic German food and were happy to find this place. The food is excellent and fresh, staff friendly and was full by the time we went to have dinner. Didn't seem expensive to us, around 10-12 euros for a main course. Do not miss the apple cider.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Nice and cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The food is... German so don't expect miracles here. Apart from that, the service is efficient and friendly and this restaurant, always packed, delivers a great atmosphere. In cold and impersonal Frankfurt, this is a welcomed oasis of warmth and humanity. Portions are big so I do not recommend to have starter and main course. Also, be ready to share your table with strangers, which is actually quite nice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fichte Kraenzi also viewed

 

Been to Fichte Kraenzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fichte Kraenzi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.