We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great German food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atschel

Atschel
Wallstrasse 7, 60594 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Sachsenhausen-Nord)
69 619201
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 1,780 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Sachsenhausen-Nord
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great German food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We liked the place, very cozy. the best sourkrout .Consider as a tourist that it's just cash...no credit card and It's a little bit out of the way..but It's worth it

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    150
    17
    2
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Perfect delicious food in german style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I saw many good reviews about this place ,so i decided to visit this restaurant during my business trip to Frankfurt.
It was monday , afternoon , so without problem i found free table.
I ordered pigs cheeks and beer.
Dish was very , very tasty , with smooth red wine sauce and
crispy spatzle.
As a drink i ordered traditional frankfurter apfelwine.
My next visit in Frankfurt will be have name Atschel!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Schweinshaxe and schnitzel are GREAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Atschel is one of the restaurants that made us love German cuisine. The schweinshaxe (pork knuckle) and schnitzel were absolutely fantastic and we definitely want to go there again if we'll be in Frankfurt!

We went to Atschel for a late lunch on a weekday during our stay in Frankfurt based on the good reviews in Tripadvisor. We hadn't eaten any schweinshaxe in the previous six days of our first Germany trip, so we wanna find a good place to try the schweinshaxe - and we definitely made a good choice!

The schweinshaxe in Atschel was nicely roasted with a super crispy skin and soft meat. It was absolutely delicious and I finished the whole schweinshaxe! We tried schweinshaxe in another restaurant nearby afterwards and we could conclude that Atschel did serve a tastier schweinshaxe.

We also ordered the Frankfurter Schitzel mit Grüne Sauce and it was also fantastic. The schitzel was nicely fried and the highlight was the Frankfurt Green Sauce. This fresh green source made the fried dish less oily and tastier.

Atschel is on the other side of the Main River (cf. the Romans) but it's quite close to Eiserner Steg (<15 minutes by walk if you know the way) and it's easily reachable by tram (Textorstraße, Line 16 from Frankfurt Hbf). If you're visiting Frankfurt and wanna try good German food, you should definitely go for this.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere - German style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Loved the place. It was my first time in Germany and Atschel made an impression.

It's a bustling, rowdy sort of place where beer-drinking German men laugh heartily and one can simply let loose and have a good time with friends. I loved that down-to-earth atmosphere of Atschel, and to top it off, they serve fantastic food and drinks!

I loved the trademark Frankfurter Schnitzel, as well as the unique apple wine served in the bembel. The schnapps were great too. Seems like there's hardly anything about the place I wasn't pleased about.

Highly recommended - go eat, drink and be merry with friends!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We went on a Friday night, which tends to be the busiest. We arrived around 18:30 hrs without a reservation and managed to grab a table to ourselves between the main part of the restaurant and the garden, most reservations are from 20:00 hrs so that is plenty of time. They serve the second best Haxe in Frankfurt in my opinion, fantastic value and very good Apfelwein. Well worth a visit, but if you want to take your time definitely book a table a few days before.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atschel also viewed

 

Been to Atschel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atschel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.