We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect delicious food in german style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atschel

Atschel
Wallstrasse 7 | ., 60594 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Sachsenhausen-Nord)
69 619201
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 1,802 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sachsenhausen-Nord
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Perfect delicious food in german style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I saw many good reviews about this place ,so i decided to visit this restaurant during my business trip to Frankfurt.
It was monday , afternoon , so without problem i found free table.
I ordered pigs cheeks and beer.
Dish was very , very tasty , with smooth red wine sauce and
crispy spatzle.
As a drink i ordered traditional frankfurter apfelwine.
My next visit in Frankfurt will be have name Atschel!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    201
    27
    8
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Schweinshaxe and schnitzel are GREAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Atschel is one of the restaurants that made us love German cuisine. The schweinshaxe (pork knuckle) and schnitzel were absolutely fantastic and we definitely want to go there again if we'll be in Frankfurt!

We went to Atschel for a late lunch on a weekday during our stay in Frankfurt based on the good reviews in Tripadvisor. We hadn't eaten any schweinshaxe in the previous six days of our first Germany trip, so we wanna find a good place to try the schweinshaxe - and we definitely made a good choice!

The schweinshaxe in Atschel was nicely roasted with a super crispy skin and soft meat. It was absolutely delicious and I finished the whole schweinshaxe! We tried schweinshaxe in another restaurant nearby afterwards and we could conclude that Atschel did serve a tastier schweinshaxe.

We also ordered the Frankfurter Schitzel mit Grüne Sauce and it was also fantastic. The schitzel was nicely fried and the highlight was the Frankfurt Green Sauce. This fresh green source made the fried dish less oily and tastier.

Atschel is on the other side of the Main River (cf. the Romans) but it's quite close to Eiserner Steg (<15 minutes by walk if you know the way) and it's easily reachable by tram (Textorstraße, Line 16 from Frankfurt Hbf). If you're visiting Frankfurt and wanna try good German food, you should definitely go for this.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere - German style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Loved the place. It was my first time in Germany and Atschel made an impression.

It's a bustling, rowdy sort of place where beer-drinking German men laugh heartily and one can simply let loose and have a good time with friends. I loved that down-to-earth atmosphere of Atschel, and to top it off, they serve fantastic food and drinks!

I loved the trademark Frankfurter Schnitzel, as well as the unique apple wine served in the bembel. The schnapps were great too. Seems like there's hardly anything about the place I wasn't pleased about.

Highly recommended - go eat, drink and be merry with friends!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We went on a Friday night, which tends to be the busiest. We arrived around 18:30 hrs without a reservation and managed to grab a table to ourselves between the main part of the restaurant and the garden, most reservations are from 20:00 hrs so that is plenty of time. They serve the second best Haxe in Frankfurt in my opinion, fantastic value and very good Apfelwein. Well worth a visit, but if you want to take your time definitely book a table a few days before.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Local Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The staff was welcoming from the very first hello! The food was authentic, and perfectly prepared. We especially appreciated the local flair, sharing with us how Frankfurters enjoy some of the more regional dishes. I was shocked at the very end to find out that the servers, realizing it was my birthday, invited us to share a shot of an amazing local drink. We will be excited to return next time we are in Germany, and would recommend this to anyone planning to be in the area!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atschel also viewed

 
Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Atschel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atschel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.