We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strasbourg/Baden-Baden/Black Forest too rushed....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ETS Sightseeing Tours

ETS Sightseeing Tours
Wiesenhuettenplatz 39, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
069 - 27 10 10
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$162*
and up
Private Tour: Customizable Rhine Valley Day Trip...
Ranked #42 of 63 Activities in Frankfurt
Attraction details
Tokyo
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Strasbourg/Baden-Baden/Black Forest too rushed....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Got off to a bad start with the hotel pick-up; however, after that everything went pretty well. There were six people in our group/van. I did sympathize with one participant (a non-native English/German speaker who could not express her true feelings to the operator) who had chosen the Black Forest/Baden-Baden Spa tour (she had brought all her spa goods) and was told at the last moment that her tour had been switched to the Strasbourg/Black Forest/Baden-Baden tour that did not include any spa treatment time in Baden-Baden. Strasbourg was absolutely beautiful, unfortunately we had to give up on the boat tour through the town and went on a little train ride-which wasn't so bad. In the end, I believe the guide made the correct judgement call or else we would have gotten back to town possibly three hours late, rather than one hour late. It was summer and Strasbourg was packed with tourists. The Black Forest was nothing very amazing-actually, one participant actually asked "Are we in the Black Forest?" just as we were about to exit from it. Baden-Baden is a cute town, the history is nice, but we just saw the outside of the Spa which was closed and the lobby of the casino. Then a little free time to walk around the town. Despite the fact that the guide took advantage of the autobahn's high speeds, pushed everyone along at a constant pace (he did allot some free time of our own at each location), gave up on the boat ride, we still got back to town about an hour behind schedule. As others have said, this tour is not well organised for the short time allotted and the money spent.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    10
    8
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One horrible tour - Baden Baden & Strasbourg France”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Tour for Baden Baden & Strasbourg France was to be 9 hrs, but was actually 13 hrs. Guide was the worst ever. Didn't talk much, didn't know much and had no personality. Company designed a terrible tour. Spent 7.5 hrs on the bus - way too much time. We were told not to buy anything in Baden Baden because the Black Forest had better deals. We were taken to a tourist trap selling junk at inflated prices and wasted 1 hr there. The over priced tour included a 'box lunch' which was the cheapest and tasteless sandwich money could buy, pickle and mayo. The drink was a small juice box and we had to eat it while being driven to the next attraction. Company gave no thought to dinner and if we didn't complain we would not have had a dinner. Overall 1 star out of 10

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“ETS Sightseeing Tour, Half Day Rhine Tour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We took the half-day Greenline Rhine Tour. We started by meeting for the tour in a cramped office where we found the tour guide and manager arguing loudly in German. This tour stated it included a tour, boat ride and dinner with wine tasting. It started with an hour busride on a fast highway with little chance to see the country and the tour director, German with heavy accent, did talk a little but mostly to the driver so we got little history. He also said that the meal was basic and if we wanted vegetables etc. it would cost more, a typical bait and switch and started signing people up on the bus. The boat ride went past beautiful castles and an intercom said the name and date built if you could hear over the people visiting, but we got no history at all of the area, battles fought there etc. The tour guide left us alone and smoked the entire boat trip. He appeared bored with his job. We hadn't upgraded our meal for the extra 10-12 euros so had one chicken breast, french fries and over peppered cole slaw and were told the dinner meal was the exact same as the lunch meal unless upgraded. The restaurant, though, was very unique for decorations, even in the restrooms! and probably the most fun part of the tour. The wine tasting was OK but mainly a ploy to sell wine. As we approached the city the guide came around asking what hotel we wanted to be left off at. (we had not been picked up at ours, insead meeting at the office) and he said they would drop us three stops on the tram line from our hotel. Well, were we surprised when the bus dropped off some others but then returned to the office and let us off there!!! We asked but he just waved us off as if he couldn't understand us. Even others who wanted to be let off across from the office commiserated with us, having overheard him telling us where we'd be let out. After waiting for 45 minutes and seeing our tram number come and go with some German words we didn't know, we understood our tram number had stopped for the night. We didn't know any German so couldn't read the schedule to learn if another numbered tram would take us close, so had to take a taxi and pay 15 euros to get back. That was on top of the 74 euros per person for the tour. It was 11 pm before we were back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Which Hop On Busline to take”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel sold Greenline tours so we bought tickets for later in the day. We stood at the correct site for over an hour and the bus never came. This was a big blue double decker so it wasn't as if we could have missed it, the sign for it was right there with times, and the store it was in front said we were at the right spot. We watched as on the other side of the street, one red double decker after another came and went. So take the RED ones, not Greenline. We complained at the hotel and he called and they told him the bus did go by but we know it didn't. Next morning we tried again, same exact place and it did come, only 15 minutes after the posted time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Day trip from Frankfurt to Neuschwanstein”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I really enjoyed my day trip to Neuschwanstein. It is an extremely long day with a lot of time on the road. If you are not put off by spending 4-5 hours on the road each way, I highly recommend this trip. The castle is one of the most stunning things in Europe that I have seen and the region of Bavaria it is located in is gorgeous. Additionally our guide stopped for pictures in Rothenburg on the way back which is an experience not to be missed. The guide Wolfgang was professional, knowledgable, and even went out of his way to try to converse with me in German to help improve my language skills even though he spoke flawless English.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ETS Sightseeing Tours also viewed

 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to ETS Sightseeing Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ETS Sightseeing Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.