We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch your change!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rialto

Rialto
Michaelisbrucke 3, Hamburg, Germany (Neustadt)
040-364342
Improve this listing
Ranked #629 of 2,741 Restaurants in Hamburg
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Neustadt
Cordoba, Spain
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Watch your change!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Rialto is an elegant cafe' located right in the centre of Hamburg, in the attractive canal settings of the Stadthausbrucke area. The sight of tables nicely laid out across the canal will certainly lure you in.

The problem is that Rialto doesn't come cheap at all. It really is one of those places that should only be reserved for special treats. That's fair enough.

What isn't fair, however, is that the staff will automatically assume that the twenty pound note you handed out to cover a bill of £16-00 (two glasses of wine) included a tip. Even though you never said so. You didn't say a word, in fact. They assumed that you carried on sitting down, like a bunch of plonkers, for twenty minutes, enjoying Hamburg's cold northerly wind, just for the sake of it.

And when you finally draw a waitress' attention to ask where your change is, you are dealt with curtly and rudely, as if you were putting them out.

So here's a basic piece of advice on customer service, dear Rialto staff. If a customer wants to leave a tip, she will do so if she wishes and the same goes with the amount. It is extremely rude and presumptuous to simply take a customer's money away just like that. If I was less understanding, I'd even be tempted to call it theft, but that would be a step too far. You'd have thought such an exclusive and pricey establishment would be aware of that.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food, inconsistent service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I've been to this place many time over lunch. They have a great lunch menu - Wiener Schnitzel (11Euro, veal) and others. Changes slightly, good stuff stays on. Worth making a reservation. The view is also nice overlooking the canal. So the restaurant is a great value over lunch just the service is sometimes good and sometimes bad which made me not go there couple of times. Specifically I'm talking about a thin, tall waitress with a few tattoos.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This restaurant is lovely, service is excellent and really friendly. It is upmarket without being pretentious and would be suitable for all occasions.
The food was all lovely and the waitress and chef were keen to accommodate my vegetarianism which can sometimes be a problem in Germany. I will definitely be going back here next time I am in Hamburg.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Mergentheim, Germany
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Business lunch with the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

This is a very typical restaurants for businnes lunch, you go inside and everybody is there with their suits. But the Hamburg people are so nice, they accept even the kids there. I had lentils with tagliatelle and the kids Maultaschen. They were all very delicious. It is because lucnh time it has to be quick and it is so. For the very good food you don't wait for ages, the prices are very reasonable if you compare with other big cities in Germany.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Three of us dined here on a Saturday night business dinner. We found the restaurant using Trip Advisor, and made last-minute reservations. We greatly enjoyed the food, and the server was very helpful, attentive and friendly. To experience the broadest selection, we ordered several appetizers and main courses, and shared them. The restaurant had introduced a new menu the prior day, so we asked the waiter for recommendations and ordered those. While the "world famous" wienerschnitzel was excellent, the red fish and beef roast were fabulous. The restaurant is in a wonderful setting, overlooking one of the waterways leading to the lake. Take the staff recommendation to use a taxi as it's a little hard to find. But it's definitely worth the effort!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rialto also viewed

 
Hamburg, Germany
 

Been to Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rialto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.