We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Schnitzel-Friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frank und Frei

Frank und Frei
Schanzenstrasse, Hamburg, Germany (Sternschanze)
Improve this listing
Ranked #372 of 2,741 Restaurants in Hamburg
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Sternschanze
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Schnitzel-Friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Looking for somewhere to eat during a short visit to Hamburg, we found Frank und Frei by chance. It was busy and very lively with football on the big screens. All of the staff were really friendly and the choice on the menu was excellent. Two of us had Schnitzel one with mushroom sauce one milanese style. They were delicious and, with the huge portions of Bratkartoffeln, really filling. The staff kept our glasses topped up with beer and we had a really good evening. We would definitely come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    25
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great sausages!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great German food and very relaxed. Huge portions. Highly recommend the Grunkohl mit Kohlwurst und kasseler.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very big Fruhstuck!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I usually come here on Sunday morning to have a very big brunch with one of the breakfast on the menu! I prefer the normal one, but also english breakfast is very good!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The Schnitzel "Wiener Art" (Wienerschnitzel) is out of this world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Frank und Frei is in the heart of the Schanze, which is at the pulse of Hamburg's young and happening lifestyle. The Schanze has everything from Beatles memorabilia (they spent some time here during their beginnings in Hamburg), to eclectic shops, to every type of music and dance club you can imagine. Frank und Frei fits right into the Schanze lifestyle, and it is packed not only on Friday and Saturday evenings, but almost every day of the week as well. It is very popular due to it's varied menu (anything from pizza to chili - American sytle - to nachos to Wienerschnitzel), large drink selection, and oversize screen that is always playing a football game in season. And it's reasonable, too! My favorite is the schnitzel with champignon (mushroom) cream sauce and bacon; it is to die for!!! I haven't had anything I didn't like at Frank und Frei, and I make it a point to get there at least a couple of times a week when I am in town.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Relaxed place... Rather for drinks or a snack”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Situated in the lively Schanzenviertel It is one of the many places there, which is mostly packed with crowds, rather a mix of different people, which is nice. For food I have to say, we first received the wrong dish, then too fast the right one, which was strange, as I suppose the gravy was scrapped off instead of making a new dish....and yes, we found onions from before afterwards in the mushroom gravy. Steaks were not as good as recommended and for what they delivered too pricy as well. Only good part was the service was very friendly, but then again at times hard to catch. Go for drinks and bring some time. Don't go in a rush or when you have a time limit and stick to basic dishes....their curry sausage and fried potatoes are fantastic....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank und Frei also viewed

Hamburg, Germany
 
Hamburg, Germany
 

Been to Frank und Frei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frank und Frei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.