We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great fun and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hofbrauhaus Hamburg

Hofbrauhaus Hamburg
Esplanade 6, 20354 Hamburg, Germany (Neustadt)
040 34 99 38 38
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 2,761 Restaurants in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: German, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Neustadt
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“great fun and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

this place had some great food in really big portions and the beers were fantastic as well. Tthe service was a bit slow but overall it was a really nice place

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    109
    35
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic Atmosphere, Food & Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We visited the restaurant on the 14th September and I have to say the whole place if fantastic. We had several pints of excellent larger and the pork knuckle with dumplings and sauerkraut.

Make sure you have plenty of room in clothing as the portions are huge!!!

Enjoy the singing and dancing afterwards to work it all off

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Super stien”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Was there for a stag doo and to a man we loved the place.

We booked in for a meal which was exactly what we were looking for, although there was a slight wait for the food but that would have been down to the fact that the place was mobbed. Some of us ended up opting for the schlatter platter (sp?) which was a selection of pork knuckle, sausages, side of pork and other cuts along with sauerkraut and onions.

The TV's had the Bundesliga on on the background, the waitresses were very good (although not all of them were in traditional barvarian dress) and the steins were flowing.

I'd thoroughly recommend this place to someone who wants to have a traditional night.

Enjoy!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food, beer and value for money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Huge restaurant but it still has character and feels cosy. Delicious beer (which can be served by the litre!) My boyfriend had a plate full of various sausages which he loved, I had a salad because a lot of the food contained veal which don't eat, the salad was delicious. Not super fancy but a good meal and not expensive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Despite my reservations, the place was fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I expected the worst but we had a very good evening there. Two of us turned up without reservation and we were offered places on 2 different tables with other people. The people on the table that we picked were welcoming without invading our space. There was a great atmosphere. Our waiter, once we explained that we could not speak German, was fantastic. He brought us English menus & that did the trick. I decided on the crispy pork knuckle. It was huge but very very tasty. The pork was cooked very well & tasted really good. It was served with a "potato dumpling”, coleslaw & beer gravy. The gravy was superb, the coleslaw was good but the dumpling was a little bland. The beer was excellent & the bill for 2 came to less than €45. There was a huge mix of people from under 18 year old kids to over 70 year olds. I suspect that the staff filtered us to a place where we would be comfortable. Not the place for a romantic dinner or where you would take a new client to sign a deal very good place to go for a relaxed dinner with friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hofbrauhaus Hamburg also viewed

 
Hamburg, Germany
Hamburg, Germany
 

Been to Hofbrauhaus Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hofbrauhaus Hamburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.