We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parlament

Parlament
Rathausmarkt 1, 20095 Hamburg, Germany (Hamburg-Altstadt)
040 70 38 33 99
Improve this listing
Ranked #330 of 2,835 Restaurants in Hamburg
Price range: $29 - $36
Cuisines: German, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Hamburg-Altstadt
Lindesberg
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Nice staff. Excellent food. A big bar in a huge room. many places to sit. Its close to the big square where the food and drinkmarket is during the summer. You can walk from the restaurant directly into the welcomehall of City Hall. They have outdoor seatings during the summer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    73
    26
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Food, Atmosphere, and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very interesting restaurant in the Rathaus. Nice setting and service was very good (particularly for central Europe). We ordered a sampling of local and Northern German cuisine and thought it was very good. Fish soup and lamb leg were excellent. Overall, good place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yehud, Israel
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“very good beer and local specialities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

i had very good Köstritzer beer and felt adventrous enough to try the labskaus - a seaman's dish made of mashed beef,potatoes and beets served with herrings and fried eggs.
it wasn't bad but it did taste like leftovers (as well it should as this IS basically a leftovers dish) and wouldn't fit a more conservative palate.
for dessert i had rotte grutze - a local dish of red berries compote with vanilla sauce and loved it.

price was 30 euro which is a bit too much but the service is charming

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great location and good standard of food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We sat outside in the courtyard as it was a beautiful evening. The food is good, not awesome or a gastronomic delight but just good, solid, German food served with a level of finesse.
Our waiter was superb, I'm afraid I don't speak German and they hadn't printed the English menus at the time so he patiently translated. I had a really good house German red wine.
All in all expect good food but don't expect to be amazed, expect a beautiful location inside or outside in an exceptionally impressive Town Hall in this interesting and cosmopolitan city.
Worth a visit.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Expensive, medium class restaurant for tourist who do not know better places”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

I really cannot believe this place is partially full of people, there are so many better restaurants in Hamburg. The restaurant is right under the Hamburger Rathaus, ehich should be the main reason why food is 5-10 Euro more expensive than in other restaurants of the same class. It is overcrowded, like a fast food hall. The atmosphere is destroyed by the enormous noise of the people.. not the place to enjoy the food relaxed actually. Quality of food is max. average. Prices therefore are very high compared to quality. Service staff does not have a chance to be in time really. sorry, 100 better restaurants I know in Hamburg are better than this .

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parlament also viewed

Hamburg, Germany
 

Been to Parlament? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parlament, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.