We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class since years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nil

Nil
Neuer Pferdemarkt 5, Hamburg, Germany (St. Pauli)
040-4397823
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 2,763 Restaurants in Hamburg
Cuisines: German, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: St. Pauli
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“Top class since years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Since 20 years I come here about every couple of years and the quality is still the same. Very good value for money, combination of dishes is nearly perfect, the staff can give really good recommendations about wine to accompany the chosen food and the drinks selection is top notch! The Merlot Rosè I had yesterday has to be the best dessert wine I had in my life. Thanks!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    36
    17
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Missed out on being one of the best.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I ate here on a solo exploring trip to Hamburg. The staff were very friendly and the service was excellent. I went with the set seasonal menu and the recommended wines. The place was buzzing with a nice atmosphere and hit just the right tone, nice but not too stuffy. The starter was one of the best I ever had and I really thought the meal was going to be special, however the fish was overcooked to the state of mush and while the main, venison and asparagus, was good it didn't live up to the starter. However the price was OK, €80 for four courses, a beer, three glasses of wine and a digestif, including tip. So I would eat here again no problem.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Food and Service come together”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have eaten here a number of times, and keep going back. Its not cheap but when they get their menu right it is worth it - and they do change the menu according to season. I have had bad luck on busy nights, but to their credit they have taken the criticism and made good on their promise of fine dining at a high standard - with appropriate compensation. There are two parts to the place and you can have bad luck with a tight table.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere, s l o w service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We visited Nil in July, during what the restaurant was expecting to be low season (at least based on how many of the kitchen staff were at work that night). As it turned out, they had a full house, so the service was very slow. A three-course meal took just under three hours. The waiters were very friendly and apologetic, although they didn't make any attempts to compensate us. The food was great, and the wine selection was excellent. I think we were just unlucky, so I would still recommend visiting Nil. The value for money is very good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great neighborhood place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The Nil has been there since 1989 and I always feel at home. The service is very friendly, many waiters have worked there for a long time. The food ist regional, the menu changes with the seasons. They have a nice menu, prices are moderatly and in summertime outdoordining is possible in the backyard. The best places are in the bar area, downstairs I don't like that much and upstairs it can get very hot. No creditcards and the parking situation is a bit tricky,better take a taxi. Reservatiuons are required most of the times. Tuesdays it is closed.
I am from Hamburg and live in the neighborhood.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nil also viewed

 

Been to Nil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.