We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic evening, super setting and the food is superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Canard

Le Canard
Elbchaussee 139, 22763 Hamburg, Germany
040 / 88 12 95 31
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 2,741 Restaurants in Hamburg
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening, super setting and the food is superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This restaurant, while expensive, is fantastic. The service, the setting, the view of the Elbe and the freeport and most importantly the food makes this place one of my favourite restaurants.

We had the 6 course tasting menu and they were very accommodating indeed. While i love shellfish, normal fish is not my cup of tea, and they kindly organised one of the dishes (crayfish soup with trout) to arrive minus the trout.

The palette cleanser was incredible prior to main course of perfectly rare beef.

The cheese board was extensive and the soufflé for pudding was very good indeed.

Nothing not to like!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    19
    5
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very elegant place and very tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We loved the simple elegance of the restaurant. The tasting menu was very delicious. We also appreciated the chef visiting each table for a short chat.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“La Canard a la france with perfect view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

enjoy the service, kitchen, the view, mission is possible yes here the mix is perfect thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“My one of the first Michelin Star Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Excellent five course meals. Great for a romantic dinners overlooking the port of Hamburg.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely flawless!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Visited Le Canard in Hamburg on a recent trip and it was absolutely fantastic. The service was excellent and the food was delicious.
I had an appetiser of crayfish and salmon which was perfectly fresh, followed by beef for a main meal. The beef was cooked to perfection. For desert, I had the chocolate pudding with marscapone. Yuumm!!
The only thing that could possibly be better is the view on the harbour (but obviously this is out of the restaurant's control) - it faces an industrial section with cranes and construction across the water so not the most spectacular or romantic view,
I had two glasses of wine as well and my meal came to 100 Euros but worth every penny. You must visit this restaurant if you have the chance.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Canard also viewed

 
Hamburg, Germany
 

Been to Le Canard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Canard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.