We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Franziskaner

Franziskaner
9 Grosse Theaterstrasse | Ecke Colonnaden, 20354 Hamburg, Germany (Neustadt)
040 345 756
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #137 of 2,763 Restaurants in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Neustadt
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Cozy restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

It was almost tea time but no one refused our lunch orders. Nice smiling waitresses made us feel confortable. Food was great and the atmosfere of he place was friendly. Of course it is a good tradicional German food. Prices on the average.

I will be back next time in Hamburg.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    46
    17
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Traditional German Food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We found this restaurant on a very busy Saturday night and couldn't get a table, had a few drinks at the bar and enjoyed the friendly busy atmosphere - food looked excellent so we booked a table for the following night.. Food as good as expected, service a little slow but we were in no rush - Beer and wine selection very good. Highly recommended if you are looking for a no frills restaurant with great food and atmosphere to match.. If in Hamburg again would most certainly return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The staff was quite friendly and attentive. They humored my friend and I with our terrible attempt at the Germany language. The Food was delicious and fairly resonably priced for how much we gorged ourselves. I would definitely return here.

PS: The Strudel is amazing! Definitely worth trying!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“The waitress too pushy asking for tip after we settled bill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Great place, atmosphere and food waitress ruined it for us after speaking no English throughout pointed out in perfect English the bill didn't include a tip. Certainly not slow in coming forward when money at stake. Worse than when I was in the states! Would put me off coming back . I was under impression service included throughout Germany. I have given low score because of her being pushy would have been 4.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“To busy to care”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Called in this restaurant it was very busy had one drink and made a reservation for a hour later ,on returning we waited at bar for a table then waiter who had taken our booking said order your food now and you can have table at 9pm but you have to leave the table by 9.30 pm . I am sorry but I know they were busy but to be treated like this was not a comfortable feeling so we told them we wouldn't bother even though we were starving and left the restaurant to which we found a lovely little place further along the road called Leopolds which turned out to be a great place and great food

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franziskaner also viewed

 

Been to Franziskaner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franziskaner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.