We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food! Almost like a spa experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doc Cheng's

Doc Cheng's
Neuer Jungfernstieg 9-14, 20354 Hamburg, Germany (Neustadt)
+49 40 3494333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #183 of 2,761 Restaurants in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $83
Cuisines: Asian, Fusion, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Neustadt
Florida, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Amazing Food! Almost like a spa experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I am a little surprised by a couple of the average reviews. We had an amazing dinner in May at Doc Cheng's. It was part of a package with our room rate. We entered the candle lit room and were seated at a beautiful table along the wall. We were served the oshibori (hot towel) and perused the menu. Bread was delivered to the table resting on some hot lava rocks. Very ingenious. Our hotel /meal package include 3 courses plus a complimentary starter of rosbef.

Our dishes included an assortment of sushi, green curry w/chicken and a dessert of sorbet with basil and lime. Everything was outstanding! The service was also very professional. With the hot towel, lava rocks and candle lit room it was almost like a spa experience. It was the best diiner during a 2 week vacation where we visited France, Spain, UK, Iceland and Germany.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Doc Cheng's, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your visit in our Restaurant Doc Cheng's and the very kind comments made at Tripadvisor.

We always appreciate our residents taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service.

Your compliments are a great motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Doc Cheng's.

Yours sincerely

Raimund Schied
Executive Assistant Manager
Restaurant Doc Cheng's at
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    34
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Average fusion experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Got the Doc Cheng starter, halibut, Szechuan beef, Curries and chocolate desert. Starter for two too small, sushi badly made, soy noodles over salty, shrimps just fatty. Desert was good.
Service was straight but w/o twist and charme. Atmosphere OK but need more today.
Sorry Four Seasons, that was one of my favorite places, it isn't anymore. Place bring it back as it was 5 to 7 years ago.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Doc Cheng's, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your stay at Restaurant Doc Chengs at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg and your comments at Tripadvisor. We always appreciate it if guests take the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service.

We greatly appreciate also your additional comments. This is certainly not the level of service we pride ourselves in rendering to our valued customers, such as yourself, and for which we gained our reputation.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Restaurant Doc Chengs at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Restaurant Doc Chengs at
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg

Raimund Schied
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“expensive and micro portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

lovely atmosphere and delightfully romantic room. Attentive staff, but food very expensive and not much of it

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Doc Cheng's, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your stay at Restaurant Doc Cheng's at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten and the comments you made at Tripadvisor.

I was very sorry to learn about your disappointment about the service. I would like to take the opportunity to express my regrets about not meeting your expectations.

We truly value your patronage and would never take it for granted. It is my sincere hope that this incident does not keep you up from coming back to the Restaurant Doc Cheng's at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg.

We thank you again for visiting our hotel and Restaurant Doc Cheng's and we hope we will be able to greet you once again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Restaurant Doc Cheng's at
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg

Raimund Schied
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Great asian-flavour food - with outstanding seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

We went and tried a number of the dishes - and all of them where very well made. In particular, all seafood was cooked to perfektion.

A special compliment to the fact that Doc Cheng's offered inventive non-alcoholic alternatives to wine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Doc Cheng's, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your visit at the Restaurant Doc Cheng's and the kind comments made at Tripadvisor.

We always appreciate it if guests take the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service.

Your compliments are a great motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Restaurant Doc Cheng's at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Restaurant Doc Cheng's at
Fairmont Hotel VierJahreszeiten Hamburg

Raimund Schied
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not your average Asian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We had a late night dinner and were very nicely treated even though we were late-comers just before closing. The food was excellent, served by very polite and knowledgeable servers. I can see a regular dinner being relaxing and entertaining. Great flavors, good wine and beautiful decor.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Doc Cheng's, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your stay at the Restaurant Doc Chengs at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten and the kind comments at Tripadvisor.

We always appreciate our residents taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Restaurant Doc Chengs at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Restaurant Doc Chengs
at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg

Raimund Schied
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc Cheng's also viewed

 

Been to Doc Cheng's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doc Cheng's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.