We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, delicious, delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apples Restaurant & Bar

Apples Restaurant & Bar
Bugenhagenstrasse 8, Hamburg, Germany (Hamburg-Altstadt)
+49 (0)40 3332 1771
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 2,734 Restaurants in Hamburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Hamburg-Altstadt
Description: Furnished in an elegant and modern style, the focus of the restaurant is the open kitchen, where guests can watch the chefs preparing a variety of dishes in wood ovens and on the lava grill. From 27th September to 5th October, the standard menu will be complemented by authentic Japanese cuisine, as Hirokazu Nakazato, chef at the Park Hyatt Hotel Tokyo is joining the team at Apples Restaurant and extending the repertoire with original Japanese dishes and sushi recipes. A regular programme of special events includes a sushi cooking course on 4th October, when the Japanese chef will introduce participants into the secrets of making sushi.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious, delicious, delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The restaurant is super good. The food is perfect and the service is great. The atmosphere was very calming and at 9 o'clock the lights dimmed and it became very cozy. It was great!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    42
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Despite the fact that this was a hotel restaurant (read: basic hotel restaurant layout and feeling), we had a positively delicious meal. We were able to forget we were in a pretty bland (but modern and pretty, if you know what I mean) atmosphere by sitting in the back near the open kitchen, watching the chefs cook up the meals. This at least gave it some character. There was also absolutely no view except a bus stop outside the window.

We had the pork cheek, filet steak, gratin potatoes, spinach /quail egg soup, Cesar salad, and fig/ cake dessert between us -- all of which we highly recommend. It was a little strange that the waitress flat out told us "no" to our first wine choice because it wasn't fruity enough. "But we don't like fruity," we said. Then she proceeded to suggest a wine that was more fruity. It must have been a language barrier?

Either way, the food was solid, and we were treated well. It didn't feel like a 5-star restaurant but we don't have any complaints, and would go back next time we are in Hamburg.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Swish hotel bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Friendly service, contemporary bar within the Park Hyatt hotel. Good bar food and very funky and quite reasonably priced given its a 5 star hotel.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“dont miss this one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had their 5 course dinner and it was definetly one of the best meals we've ever had. If you're in Hamburg and want to have a nice dinner out, go to this place

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Skilled bartender/ good athmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

A nice place to come for a drink. Can imagine it is a good place to visit solo as well, as the bartender(s) are friendly and there was a social athmosphere in my opinion.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apples Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Hamburg, Germany
Hamburg, Germany
 

Been to Apples Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apples Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.