We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for price, location, comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cristobal

Hotel Cristobal
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Cristobal to your Saves list
Hotel Cristobal
Dorotheenstrasse 52, 22301 Hamburg, Germany (Winterhude)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #164 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great value for price, location, comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

The Hotel Cristobal is a small, comfortable hotel in the charming Winterhude section of Hamburg. It is located on a quiet street, convenient to the Alster lake for recreation, a short bus ride (nr. 6) to the centre for shopping, main train station etc. We were there to visit my son and daughter-in-law who live around the corner - very convenient for us - but even if we had been tourists, it was a great location.

The hotel receptionist was friendly with a genuine welcome, check-in as about uncomplicated as it gets, and our 3rd floor room small but comfortable with a free reliable wifi and a decent sized bathroom. Being just off the centre has advantages: a very quiet night's sleep. Unlike some better hotels, the lighting is more than adequate for reading. One very small caveat: breakfast is not free. This used to be a given in German hotels but is becoming less common.

This small matter aside, Cristobal offers that rarity: genuine value without any obvious compromises.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
2
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Hotel Cristobal is set away from downtown and the Reeperbahn. It is in Winterhude, a residential and quiet neighborhood, and a block from Mühlenkamp where the well to do sit sip coffee at cafes and push their kids in strollers.

You can take the no. 6 bus to Ubahn Borgweg and then catch the train downtown in about 20 minutes or walk about 15 minutes to the Sierichstraße station. The quiet shops and apartment blocks with huge trees are different from the Reeperbahn drunken stumble or expensive shops at Jungfernstieg.

But enough about the city. The Hotel is exceptionally clean and small with a friendly and available reception staff of about 2 or 3 people. The beds are soft Scandinavian style and twin beds are pushed together in the center. The water pressure is exceptional, which is hard find sometimes in Europe. Prices are reasonable around 98 euro, and Hamburg is a very expensive town. I can't advise on the breakfast as I didn't try it. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

I stayed in the Cristobal for 4 nights in July 2010 during a business trip. The location is brilliant - just a stone throw away from a number of very nice restaurant and a short taxi ride to the office where I was attending meetings.
The rooms are well appointed and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. The value for money is excellent and I am looking forward to stay there again during my next trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

For Hamburg prices and when there is an exhibition, very reasonable. Room at the back was very quiet, no traffic noise at all, greenish view! although simple and not fastidiously clean. Breakfast buffet fine, agreeabale. Situated in a nice area: but difficult to get to with public transport which I prefer to taxis. but here you need one. Also if you want the central attractions, it 's quite a trip.
But all in all I would go again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cristobal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristobal

Address: Dorotheenstrasse 52, 22301 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Winterhude
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cristobal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cristobal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.