We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for a cheeky weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ARCOTEL Rubin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added ARCOTEL Rubin to your Saves list
ARCOTEL Rubin
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Steindamm 63, 20099 Hamburg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Stayed for a cheeky weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend with my boyfriend for my first ever time in Germany.

The hotel is very cool, modern, rubix cube shape. Staff were friendly and spoke perfect English. No problems with the language barrier.

We were a little bit late for check out, but nothing was said.

The cocktail bar upstairs serves some nice drinks and the barman even let me help make up my own cocktail which was fun.

The only slight problem I had was the location, it was surrounded by sex shops and what looked to be a 'bad part' of Hamburg. Dont get me wrong, im not a prude, I went into some of the sex shops. But I felt a little bit uncomfortable walking around outside. I wouldnt have liked to walk around on my own.

Overall, a great hotel, only a 20 min walk from the city centre. Clean, friendly and modern. Also good value for money.

Would definately recommend and definately stay here again :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annett F, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Rubin, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your feedback at this internet page.
We are glad you had a pleasant stay at our hotel, even if the area wasn't so pleasant for you.
We hope you had a safe trip back home and we are looking forward to welcome you again at the ARCOTEL Rubin.
Kind regards from Hamburg,
Annett Freigang
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    178
    64
    8
    8
See reviews for
34
179
36
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed there for a night and were very pleased with our stay.

Pros :
- clean and new rooms
- good beds
- very quiet
- free wifi internet
- walking distance to the train station (and the U-Bahn)
- restaurants and grocery stores around

Cons:
- We arrived around 1pm and were told that only smoking rooms (that still exists?) were available so that we should come back later. The couple right after us was told that they could have an upgrade for a non smoking premium room for 20 Euros. Not sure why we were not asked. Is that because we got the room a bit cheaper with Hotwire?

Anyway, not much to complain about, it's an excellent hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annett F, Manager at ARCOTEL Rubin, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel . We are very sorry for the inconvenience you experienced upon arrival. Please be sure that this does not belong to our standard and that we will discuss your comment with the front desk team.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at the ARCOTEL Rubin.

Kind regards from Hamburg,
MYRIAM SPALTING
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Arcotel Rubin hotel for 3 nights in the last days before christmas at a discounted price. The room is very nice. Clean and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. I asked for a room with a tub and got it which was nice. I did miss some coffee making facilities, which is usually provided for standard room in most hotels of this standard. However, in Arcotel it is only available if you upgrade.

Wifi was working excellent. I did not try the breakfast (20 euro for regular and 9 euro for some sort of 'small' breakfast). There is a place called Back Factory nearby, which sells bread/sandwiches etc.

The area is a typical german casino/grocery store/sex shop/kebab store street. A few prostitutes here and there, but nothing that makes you feel uncomfortable at all. Location is very good, in walking distance to the main train station and central shopping area.

The biggest minus for this hotel is the expensive parking basement at 16 euro for 24 hours. Maybe you can park for free somewhere nearby, but did not check it out. However, I believe most hotels in Hamburg will charge you between 10 and 20 euro a day for parking.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel. For the price you're paying, it is a good choice with a good location. Enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annett F, Front Office Manager at ARCOTEL Rubin, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your positive feedback which shows us, that we are on the right way. Such feedbacks are very important for improving our services and for keeping them at this standard.
We hope to welcome you again soon at the ARCOTEL Rubin.
Kind regards, JULIANE RATH Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Lovely clean and spacious hotel. We were upgraded on arrival, and were impressed with the room. Complimentary robes and slippers and apples were provided. We had some drinks in the hotel bar but did not eat here so cannot comment on that. Very easy to find, and staff were all lovely! Recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annett F, Front Office Manager at ARCOTEL Rubin, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear guest ,
thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are glad you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you again at the ARCOTEL Rubin.
Kind regards
JULIANE RATH
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gottingen, Germany
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Location good. Hotel good. Staff good. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and will stay with Arcotel again. Did not have breakfast, so I ca't comment on that. For the price of the room, though, it far exceeded many other hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annett F, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Rubin, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you again at the ARCOTEL Rubin.
Kind regards from Hamburg,
Annett Freigang
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

A beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean hotel in a great location. A convenient grocery store across the street and many shops and restaurants just 1 block away. We enjoyed two nights there and would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annett F, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Rubin, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your feedback at our homepage which shows us, that we are on the right way. Such feedbacks are very important for improving our services and for keeping them at this standard. We hope to welcome you again at the ARCOTEL Rubin.
Kind regards,
Annett Freigang
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for five nights during a recent tour. Its location is convenient to public transportation (and walking, to some sites). However, the neighborhood is interesting in its own right -- plenty of restaurants with a rich variety of cuisines and price levels. The hotel is comfortable, but not luxurious. We found the breakfast buffet to be good and the staff to be especially helpful. They also have free internet access in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annett F, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Rubin, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your feedback at this internet page which shows us, that we are on the right way. Such feedbacks are very important for improving our services and for keeping them at this standard. We hope to welcome you again at the ARCOTEL Rubin and sending lovely greetings from Hamburg,
Annett Freigang
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ARCOTEL Rubin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Rubin

Address: Steindamm 63, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#47 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#51 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ARCOTEL Rubin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ARCOTEL Rubin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Rubin Hamburg
Arcotel Rubin Hotel Hamburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ARCOTEL Rubin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.