We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lindner Hotel Am Michel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lindner Hotel Am Michel to your Saves list
Lindner Hotel Am Michel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Neanderstrasse 20, 20459 Hamburg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great experience for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

I stayed at the hotel in early march 2009 for business travel. I found the hotel to have all the amenities required for an upscale business hotel and the location was great. The bed was really good quality (great bedding and mattress), good lcd tv and desk area. Restaurant and bar on premise were also good. The decor is contemporary and the rooms and public spaces look recently renovated and in excellent condition.

The only caution i would make is if you are sharing a room with someone....the shower is actually in the center of the room, with no walls blocking you from the rest of the room. Theoretically, there isn't really anywhere to sit in the room without a view of whomever is showering. That being said, the design is comfortable and hip, and an open shower isn't a problem if you're alone.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to a colleague and i would love to stay there again when visiting the Hamburg area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    125
    22
    8
    0
See reviews for
17
87
38
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

I travel to Hamburg on business once every six weeks and have tried various hotels over the past couple of years but since I found the Lindner Hotel I always stay here. Each visit hasn't dissappointed and provides everything you need from a busines hotel.

The double rooms provide a very comfortable large double bed, desk and dressing table as well as a built in wardrobe. The shower and sink area aren't closed off from the main bedroom but the WC is - which gives the room a slightly quirky feel. All the furniture and decoration is great as the hotel was only completed in mid 2008. There are numerous little extras in the room such as shoe polish, ironing board, etc which are very useful when on a business trip.

The breakfast is absolutely fantastic with a huge array of hot and cold food and drinks. The staff and layout of the breakfast area are great and we often have a breakfast meeting with clients in the breakfast area. Our clients are Hamburg locals and were equally impressed with the hotel lobby and breakfast area!

  • Liked — Modern hotel with fantastic beds and a great breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

Just a quick review, this is good quality 4 star hotel, that is modern and new this year 2008, the rooms have some nice touches, like LCD, interactive features, throws on the beds with a high standard of fittings, it is located near St. Michel's Cathedral, and the Reeperbahn Nightlife are in easy walking distance, however it is in a nice quiet suburb.

Although modern and new the Hotel does not feel too sterile and the staff are very friendly and keen to help, top marks to the management and staff.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

I stayed at the Lindner am Michel in April. I was running the marathon in Hamburg and the location of the hotel could not be better. It was just 200 metre from the start and finish of the marathon. Great.

The hotel itself is just brand new and is very beautiful. I got a fairly good price via Expedia as an opening offer. The staff was very friendly and helped you in any way they could. Before I went to Hamburg I e-mailed them to ask them if they could open breakfast 30 minutes earlier than normal on the day of the marathon as it would suit me and probably some other marathon runners better. Honestly, I did not expect that the hotel would make that change but they actually did. That is what I call good customer service!

The hotel is situated in a residential area of Hamburg. There are however quite a few restaurant closeby. If you want to get to Reeperbahn it is only a five minute walk away. Also the city center is about 10 minutes walk away.

I would definately recommend the Lindner am Michel for visitors to Hamburg.

Also - if you run marathons - I can really recommend the Hamburg Maraton. There were lots of spectators (the local paper said 800,000) and they were really supportive. It helped me to do a personal best of five minutes.

  • Liked — Location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

Hotel opened only a few months (March 2008) prior to our stay (June 2008) and therefore apparently everything was still very new, clean and in good order.
Nicely furnished and adequately equipped rooms (only the cupboard could provide some more space for laying things - hanging space is OK !), friendly & helpful staff, buffet breakfast above average (a really great variety to choose from, international press available and no hassling staff to “chase” you even at a “late” breakfast time),real time video display of airport and flight information c/o lounge and free internet point c/o lounge/bar .
Location perfect for shopping as well as for sightseeing, neighborhood recently refurbished, pleasant area with many shops and restaurants and only a short ride or walk to city centre (shopping area), the harbor, St. Pauli nightlife and, of course (as the hotel name suggests) the famous Hamburg landmark, the baroque cathedral of St. Michael, within 5-minutes walk (recommending a visit to its top, in summer also available at night as well as following the Hamburg History audiovisual display within the church).
Having hired a car we were considering to park it c/o the hotel’s own garage, but the daily charge of 20 Euro as well as a certain amount of luck with the finding of free-of-charge parking nearby made us decide otherwise !

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cost of parking
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

Having enjoyed my earlier stay I returned to this hotel, but this time just for one night. Once again I thought it was very good - everyone was very helpful and welcoming, despite my lack of German.

I had a slightly smaller room this time, but on the other hand this one did have a bath as well as a shower.

My previous review probably gave the impression that in the restaurant the choice of main courses is more limited than it really is - it isn't huge but offered more than the half dozen options I suggested. Despite having a large party in a private room on the evening I stayed service in the restaurant was very good - attentive without being fussy.

  • Liked — The helpful people
  • Disliked — Having liquid soap dispensers rather than bars of guest soap in the bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lindner Hotel Am Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindner Hotel Am Michel

Address: Neanderstrasse 20, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#31 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#33 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#39 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#41 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lindner Hotel Am Michel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lindner Hotel Am Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindner Hotel Hamburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindner Hotel Am Michel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.