We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Polo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Polo Hamburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Polo Hamburg to your Saves list
Hotel Polo Hamburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adenauerallee 7, 20097 Hamburg, Germany (St. Georg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #216 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Biggar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Hotel Polo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A typical small German hotel. Basic but comfortable. Very handy for the main railway station and underground. Everyone (*) was very friendly. Wireless was pretty unreliable but this was a cheap hotel. With 2 adults + 3 kids, it's always hard to find a hotel to suit. We had to book two rooms to fit us all in. At time of booking, I requested that the rooms be near each other. When we arrived, we had been given adjacent rooms with their doors sharing a small vestibule - as much as we could have hoped for. Breakfast was also good.

* The only negative was a really grumpy guy on reception when we checked out. He was so unpleasant that I decided against leaving our luggage at the hotel for the day (as I had arranged the night before) as I was concerned I would return to find it lighter... But he was not representative of the rest of the staff. Perhaps he was just having a bad day.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    89
    60
    14
    14
See reviews for
34
89
28
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

good location next to HBF if you are arriving from the airport and leaving by train. the hotel is nice but lots of migrants hanging around this area. room was nice and comfy but dimly lit. no a/c and gets quite stuffy even though it was late September. noise from street if you keep window open. nice buffet breakfast and fruit. staff speak good English.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

I was not able to get a hotel room at my preferred hotels in Hamburg and it was just for one night, so I booked this hotel via booking.com. Would I do it again? No. The hotel needs 360° renovation, the lights are much too low, you can not read a word. No boards or something like this in the bathrooms. Matresses were to soft, I could hardly sleep. Do not touch the floor with barefeet! All furniture were kind of shaby with broken edges. The staff was friendly and pulled my heavy suitcase some steps since the elevator only starts on a higher floor. Breakfast was okay for a 3 star hotel, I have not expected more.
The location is good since it is close to the main station you don´t have to take a cab to get to your train. But - like it is in all main station areas - the location does not seem to be very safe, there were some groups outside drinking and shouting. As a woman travelling alone you should try to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Stayed at the polo in march for 4 nights. Hotel is basic but what more do you need on a city break?

rooms were clean
free wifi
breakfast included in the price and served from 6am
rooms quiet
24 hour reception
check in was easy
main bus station across the road (includes mcdonalds etc for food)
safe provided for a 5 euro deposit returned at the end of the stay

hotel is a 3 minute walk from the hamburg hauptbahnhof (central station) and trains link directly from the airport to here. anyone who knows Germany tho will know how good the transport is.

we stayed in a quad room, the fold out sofa into a bed wasnt the most comfortable but again for the price acceptable.

supermarkets are around the corner aswell so easy to access snacks and drinks for the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Gangs guys hanging outside the hotel drinking on a pavement that stinks of the worst toilet. Clean but poorly maintained room with half of the space being taken by a slanting roof. The need to keep the key at the desk when leaving. No cups anywhere to be found near the end of breakfast service (asked and got one, but still). The room so hot we needed to sleep with the window open (no breeze at the read) and now my girlfriend is bitten to death by insects. A broken lift on the last door forcing us to carry 20KG of a suitcase down from the 5th floor. Overall, I wouldn't clamber to return.

Good location though and it is cheap :-)

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Brilliant hotel wifi was very fast, breakfast was great and the staff were really nice. I was sick one day and the man at reception helped me out :) The town hall is only a 10 min walk. I would highly recommend, especially if like me you are a lone female traveler.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

For a one night stopover in Hamburg we would recommend this hotel. Easy walk to the city centre with the added bonus of nearby car parking. Plenty of places to eat in nearby in the evening and a good breakfast in the morning. Room was a little small and had no air conditioning. Free WiFi throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Polo Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Polo Hamburg

Address: Adenauerallee 7, 20097 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Polo Hamburg 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in the heart of Hamburg, very close to the main railway station and the bus station, and is just a short walk from the many shops of the city centre and the Alster. The Hotel Polo Hamburg offers a welcoming atmosphere and makes an ideal base for shopping trips, harbour tours, relaxing boat rides on the Alster and even partying on the Reeperbahn. All parts of Hamburg can be accessed from here with ease. You are next to the city railway (S-Bahn) station, and the proximity to the main railway station means that you can easily get around Hamburg with all modes of transport. Rooms: 40. Hotel Chain: Novum Hotels. The Hotel Polo Hamburg offers a welcoming atmosphere and makes an ideal base for shopping trips, harbour tours, relaxing boat rides on the Alster and even partying on the Reeperbahn. All parts of Hamburg can be accessed from here with ease. You are next to the city railway (S-Bahn) station, and the proximity to the main railway station means that you can easily get around Hamburg with all modes of transport. Rooms: 40. Hotel Chain: Novum Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Polo Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Polo Hamburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.