We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip with friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel One Hamburg - Altona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Motel One Hamburg - Altona to your Saves list
Motel One Hamburg - Altona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kieler Strasse 171, 22525 Hamburg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Farsund, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Trip with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A modern hotel with nice colour and friendly staff. Central located to different attractions like Planten un blomen and harbour + +. Rooms functionally and clean, but maybe a little small. Good prices and good breakfast, but a little crowded in the morning. Recomend early start for breakfast. We were offered a free welcome drink in the bar on arrival. ( We were all together 50 persons). If travel to Hamburg again it is likely to stay at this place again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    96
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
51
27
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Holland, Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I had booked this for a short business trip literally as a bed to sleep in.

I was very surprised and impressed!!!

A warm and professional welcome by the lady at the reception, a quiet totally spotless room towards the back. Small but very well arranged and comfortable. All I needed and everything was done with nice materials and of good quality.

The beds were comfortable and after a long day of meetings much appreciated.

The very affordable breakfast addition turned out to be a buffet style breakfast with everything you could ask for. I enjoyed staying there and will be back without hesitation!

A lot of more expensive hotels need to watch out for Motel ONE!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

this hotel is clean, small rooms, but everything is there, breakfast is oke, but not the place to have an breakfast for more then an hour, prices for the rooms VERY reasonable, 10 minits walk from the main shopping street.

Room Tip: high floor because of vieuw
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at this Hotel for the second time as working at the Messe again(which is only 10mins in Taxi) so far more convenient than staying in the Hamburg Centre. Rooms are very clean and Modern but are a little on the small size. Shower(which was hot and powerful) and toilet are together but the hand basin is in the actual room which is different!!!. No wardrobe but just a couple of hangers on two rails either side of the bed which are slightly hidden by a panel. Biggest irritation was no draws so all other items of clothing had to be stored on the small work station provided. Bed very comfy and good linen and pillows. I came straight from another job and required laundry but this hotel doesn't do Laundry.
Bar is nice for a drink early evening but they don't serve any hot meals but a couple of good restaurants can be found about 10mins walk (come out of hotel turn left and keep walking) one being a Diner and another restaurant opposite the Diner. Macdonalds and Burger King are also on this road and only 5mins walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was exactly what I needed in terms of cost, location and amenities, (well almost).
For around £100 I managed to arrange up to 10 rooms a night in a week that holds the largest shipping exhibition in the world at the Messe not far by cab.
Everything needs to be paid as incurred at the bar but there was helpful service and amiable staff.
There is no restaurant but a useful tip is that there is actually one next door in the hotel there. Old stylie but food was fine. There are restaurants 15 minutes walk away, including the Pergola italian and also a mac d's 5 minutes walk and a burger king opposite.
Breakfast as you'd expect, self service, continental style, cheese, croissants, no English tea, the closest was darjeeling!....
Yes good and working air-conditioning and not too noisey.
Could do with more soap in the room and the shower flooded the floor, but nevertheless it was good value, "modern functional", and I would stay again.

Room Tip: other side from the busy road would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stranded in Hamburg due to a car breakdown a very helpful and friendly Taxi driver from 211211 booked us 2 x double rooms at Motel One Altona on a Friday night. The hotel is new, clean, basic but very nicely decorated. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. As we were out of Euros and needed the €10 for a taxi that had technical issues with card payments, the receptionist borrowed us the money from his own pocket reassuring us it would be ok to return the money when we come back next week - or the night shift who arranged for our food specialities to be kept cold - all done with a smile that deserves full mark. The location suited us perfectly as the garage was close by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The only reason i am not giving this full marks is because the location is slightly farther out than I would have liked, and not quite in Altona as the name would suggest. However, it is only about a five minute walk to the S-Bahn which is three stops from the Reeperbahn and about 6 stops from the main station, which suited us perfectly as we were out early and back for midnight both days we were there.
The hotel itself is perfect for a short stay, the rooms were clean, comfortable and nicely decorated, the shower was great and despite the room being a bit on the small side there was plenty of storage for our clothes and both cases. (We stayed here as part of a two week trip around Europe so had large cases and alot of clothes!)
This was the second Motel One hotel we stayed in and the staff were friendly, helpful and professional.
I cannot fault Motel One and would always choose this chain if it is available.
Also, the location whilst not central was less than five minutes walk from a nice neighbourhood with plenty of good bakeries, supermarkets and small bars close by.
I would definitely stay here again if I went back to Hamburg and recommend it if you don't mind a less central location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel One Hamburg - Altona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Hamburg - Altona

Address: Kieler Strasse 171, 22525 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Hamburg
#46 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#50 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Hamburg - Altona 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel One Hamburg - Altona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 1 Hamburg - Altona
Motel One Hamburg - Altona Hotel Hamburg
Hotel One Hamburg Altona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel One Hamburg - Altona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.