We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great hotel to stay in Hamburg.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Hamburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Hamburg to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Hamburg
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sternschanze 6, 20357 Hamburg, Germany (Sternschanze)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
GreenLeadersGold level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This is a great hotel to stay in Hamburg.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The hotel is uniquely designed especially the entrance and has great interior décor. The hotel is strategically located near public transport which makes it ideal for staying if you want to travel around Hamburg. The rooms are always clean, specious, modern and very comfortable. The food is amazing, both breakfast and dinner. I stayed here a few weeks ago on a business trip and I loved everything. Although the hotel is remodeled from an old water tower, the architecture is very unique. This makes the hotel impressive from the moment you see it and the services make everything even better. I recommend this hotel. My rating for it has to be a four star.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Moevenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hello from Hamburg,
thank you for your stay in our tower and your positive feedback about it.

We are happy to read, that you felt totally comfortable with us. It is great, that you could benefit of the central location of the hotel and that you enjoyed as well our food & beverage offer.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Best regards,
your Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    151
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
35
166
51
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights recently.

In my opinion, a great place to stay in Hamburg.

Ice Cream, Coffee & Hot chocolate were up to the Movenpick standard.

Leisure area was divine. Security is good, requiring access cards to use Lift to Guest floors.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Moevenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hello from Hamburg,
we are happy to read this great review and looking forward to meet you again very soon.

Kind regards,
your Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZURIGO
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I've been there al least 5 years ago and I still have the remember of a high design hotel with high standard quality en details care from the entrance: jellyfish projections, sounds of water on stones, ... an experience, really!
More than a simple hotel!
The restaurant in the hotel is fin also.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Moevenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hello from Hamburg,
Thank you for your great review here on TripAdvisor. Your compliment “more than a simple hotel” makes us very happy.

We hope to may welcome you soon again.

Best regards,
your Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheinfelden, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

It's an interesting experience, not a typical Mövenpick hotel building - everything has to fit into an old watertower. The entrance is amazing - an old industrial building equipped with modern escalators - no natural light. The checkin experience was very friendly and professional. Public transport is easy to reach, the Schanzenviertel attractions are in walkig distance. The rooms are small but well equipped. My only complaint would be, that the temperature in the room was rather low and felt even a bit wet and rheumy in the old masonry. It seems the heating (capacity) was already shut down a bit early in May (in addition the A/C control was rather complicated to adjust) despite the cold and rainy weather in Hamburg at this time of the year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Moevenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hello from Hamburg,

Thanks a lot for your great review. We are glad to hear about your positive experience in Hamburg and with us. We are sorry about the troubles with the AC – we will forward this comment to our technical department.

We hope to meet you soon again.

Best regards,
the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel is all about the "wow" factor. The design (particularly the entrance and communal parts) will inevitably get heaps of attention from guests, but it's not quite 100%.

For example, the curtains are impossible to close with electric leads running up to the desks, which are shoved up against the oddly sloping walls in front of the windows. Mine had multiple holes in them. The bathrooms are tiny and difficult to use. Even as a slim, fit guy I had issues squeezing into the oddly shaped shower.

Breakfast and staff friendliness rank highly. The location is rough and ultra urban: expect homeless people, graffiti, rubbish and a very unsafe feeling as you make your way the 5-6 minutes from the S-Bahn stop down the dark road to the hotel.

If you want a showy, flashy, urban experience (Hamburg meets downtown USA) this is your place, but I can't help feeling the style doesn't quite match the substance.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Moevenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hello from Hamburg,
“Wow”-factor sounds very good – thank you for this compliment.

However, we are sorry to hear, that you had difficulties with the equipment of the room and bathroom. Caused by the historic building of the water tower, the interior is exceptionally and different than “usual” hotel rooms.

The district “Sternschanze” is colorful, individual and full of special places (bars, restaurants, boutiques) to discover. Maybe the surroundings conveys an unsafe feeling to visitors, but there is no reason to feel less safe than in other lively parts of Hamburg. On the contrary, you can benefit from the features of this interesting district. Our reception staff will gladly assist you with best advices.

We would be glad to may welcome you again.

Kind regards,
the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creon-d'Armagnac, France
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My husband was unaware of the hotel I had picked, so it was fun when we approached and saw this huge brick water tower, I said "thats our hotel!" yeah, right! We found free parking right out front (dont pay 20 euro via the hotel!) and found a very modern entrance area (husband perplexed) inside you see a tunnel like entry to the hotel via a long escalator, which is illuminated with water reflections and sound effects of dripping water...this only prepares you for arriving at the water tower/reception area! wow! Enter a hall of tall brick arch's that are illuminated as if you are still in an old water tower, throw in the water drop sound effects, modern/natural decor (which really fits in this ancient and historic building) and super nice helpful service (everyone speaks english), its hard to not have a smile on your face!
Dont miss the bar upstairs, its incredible, and later after exploring the nearby city, we got a busboy to take us to the top floor...what a view! at the same time fireworks were going off in the distance...fantastic! My husband was impressed! Oh, the room was quirky too! Great views, huge bathroom, super clean, and comfortable! I highly recommend it for a special stay at Hamburg!

Room Tip: The higher up you are in the tower, the nicer the room/view gets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Moevenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hello from Hamburg’s water tower,

thank you so much for this colorful and great review. We are happy to hear that you had such a great experience with us and are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

A novel experience. Yes the rooms are not the biggest but they are clean modern and comfortable. The food was good both at breakfast and dinner. The underground was close by and made trips about the city very easy. More than happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Moevenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hello from Hamburg,

Thank you for your great review about our hotel. We are glad to hear that you felt comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to meet you soon again in our water tower.

Best regards,
Your Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Hamburg

Address: Sternschanze 6, 20357 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Sternschanze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#6 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#10 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moevenpick Hotel Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique for it being built into a former water tower, the 4 star superior Movenpick Hotel Hamburg stands as a trendy and modern hotel in the Sternschanzenpark area. The hotel offers 226 rooms, a Movenpick hotel restaurant and the Lifestyle Bar "Cave". 13 Conference and meeting rooms as well as a fitness and sauna area are also available.The hotel's location is ideal for both business travelers and visitors. Only a few steps away, the metro brings you to wherever you'd like to go. The fairgrounds and Congress Centre Hamburg are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Moevenpick Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Hamburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.