We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can Recommend this Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Hamburg City Alster

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Hamburg City Alster to your Saves list
Novotel Hamburg City Alster
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Luebeckerstrasse 3 | 22087 Hamburg, 22087 Hamburg, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #32 of 316 Hotels in Hamburg
Graz
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Can Recommend this Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

For a short stay in Hamburg, this hotel is definitely a good choice. Breakfast is excellent, as is the service personnel. The location itself is also not that bad - although not ideal for sightseeing. My room was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    326
    76
    13
    2
See reviews for
245
149
51
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Klagenfurt
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel is located reasonably close to the city center and within walking distance to the next subway station. The hotel itself is clean, the rooms are ok, but nothing special, still nicely decorated. Breakfast is excellent and the personnel was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neurenberg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This Novotel is a good choice when needing just a room close to the city. The rooms are quite small but well laid out and functional, service is very friendly. The restaurant is nothing special but there is a good choice of restaurants close to the hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoersholm, Denmark
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Well located hotel within walking distance from the city center. We stayed a family of four in a clean room with little space, but since we only used the room for sleeping that was fine. We got a rich breakfast buffet included as part of the rate, which made the overall offer very attractive. Only drawback was that WIFI had to be payed as an extra service. It am always disappointed when internet access is being charged for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The services l received was one of the best .The area was clean, food was good, and access to internet was fast. My children were very happy. The room could have been a little bigger.
I will visit this hotel again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed one night in the Novotel in the Alster part of Hamburg on our way to Denmark. The main reason we chose this hotel was the very low price for a family room; at €85 it is ca. 30%-50% less than what we usually have to pay for hotels in the 3-4 star range. Upon arrival we discovered that kids stay for free, so we were paying the price of a double room. This was then also what we got; i.e. a double room with a sleeping couch squeezed in for the kids. In comparison, in most other hotels the family room is bigger or you get two adjacent rooms (but again, they cost more as well).

Apart from being small the room was up to standard and clean. The hotel's facilities were also good, parking is available in the basement for €15 pr. night and the reception staff were friendly. A big hit with the kids was the playroom in the reception area, which had computer games for the big ones and lots of toys for the small ones. The location is also very good, in a quiet neighbourhood with the Alster lake close-by and the Alster swimming hall practically next door, and within reasonable walking distance of the main train station and central Hamburg (also there is an underground stop just outside the hotel entrance).

We decided to go for the buffet at the hotel's restaurant. This was a bit of a letdown as there was little to choose from and the food in general not enjoyable (the pasta for example was tough and hard around the edges from being left on the warm plate for too long). It felt like minimal effort and ambition had been put into the buffet, very different from the high standard and pride that we usually find when dining in Germany. The breakfast buffet was better, but again not as rich or varied as we're used to in Germany.

In contrast with the deal on the room, where the smallness was well compensated for by the low price, both the dinner and breakfast buffet were rather on the expensive side. So although we'd have no problems staying again at the hotel, we'd probably opt to dine at one of the many Asian restaurants we saw on the Steindamm street leading from the hotel to the central train station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

There is not much to say since it is the Novotel standard. You get a decent place well situated to the main spots in Hamburg. The breakfast in the morning was good and also the bar decent. Just if you check in take care that you are not in a room towards the street since it is a main road with a hospital near by.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Hamburg City Alster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Hamburg City Alster

Address: Luebeckerstrasse 3 | 22087 Hamburg, 22087 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#29 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#30 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Hamburg City Alster 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Novotel Hamburg Alster is located in the heart of the Hanseatic City of Hamburg. 10 km from the airport, two stops from the main train station and close to the Aussenalster, this 4 star hotel is ideal for a business trip or holiday. Modern designand comfort characterise the 210 rooms and seven conference rooms. Night owls will appreciate the long opening hours of the hotel bar and the breakfast buffet. Experience total relaxation in our spa centre with gym, sauna and steam bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Hamburg City Alster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Hamburg Alster Hotel Hamburg
Accor Hamburg Alster
Hamburg Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Hamburg City Alster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.