We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 25hours Hotel Number One

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 25hours Hotel Number One to your Saves list
25hours Hotel Number One
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paul-Dessau-Strasse 2, 22761 Hamburg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Kfar Saba, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Feels like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff with good rooms, restaurant and service. Close to good restaurants, grocery stores and transportation.

Very nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at 25hours Hotel Number One, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear nokad10

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.

It would be a pleasure welcoming you again, soon.

Kind regards

Your 25hours Hotel Hamburg No.1 team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    97
    27
    6
    4
See reviews for
17
58
26
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I've stayed here several times on business and it's a good designer hotel. It's no Ritz Carlton but the price reflects this. The contemporary styled rooms are clean, spacious, minimalistic and include a desk and iPod/iPhone docking station. However, there isn't a minibar in every room! There's a restaurant in the hotel with a simple selection of reasonably priced meals.

I wouldn't stay at the hotel if I was travelling with my family but would definitely stay on business or with friends.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the reception block as the rooms tend to be a better quality (any room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at 25hours Hotel Number One, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear humptyc,

Thank you very much for the review given and for having chosen us to be your host several times already. We highly appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your next stay with us already.

Kindest regards,

Your 25hours Hotel Hamburg No.1 team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I have spend two nights in this nice hotel in Hamburg. It belongs to the "Designers Hotel" family and at was stated from other reviewers it is kind of "industrial-chic" style.

As it comes to all the hotels of this kind, liking them or not depends on the individual style preferences. For me that one was nice but neutral. The location is very nice and about 10 minutes by car from the river side and the port. The area is full of restaurants and small bars and as I was told it is developing the last years.

The rooms are quite big for a single person, with a plain view. Not much to see from the hotel windows. The wifi was included in the price and was quite fast. The amendities on the average side, lacking the variety offered by similar level hotels. The staff at the reception was friendly and helpful when needed. One of the main negatives was the bed which was very hard for me, but again this is something subjective.

I have not tasted the breakfast because it was extra (14 euros) and 15m near the hotel in the right side there is a very nice local bakery shoop with a huge collection of breakfast (and not only) items to choose, including very nice coffee.

Room Tip: Probably the higher, the better. The near streets are not very busy anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at 25hours Hotel Number One, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Xainis

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding you recent stay at our hotel. It is true that liking design hotels depends a lot on individual preferences. Even the better that we seem to have met yours' :). It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Thank you again for taking the time to give us your opinion not only on your hotel stay, but also on the dinner you enjoyed in our sister hotel’s Restaurant Mangold.

We hope to see you again, soon, at either hotel.

Kind regards

Your 25hours Hotel Hamburg No.1 team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Stayed here over the weekend just gone. We stayed in the guest house portion. Its a large room with seperate living area. Its all stylishly decorated, and their are towels, soaps, shampoos etc. internet access is chargeable and only available reliably through an ethernet cable. but its good enough to skype. But you have to pay for each 300Mb used every 2 days. Odd! The curtains didnt stretch all away across the window oddly! But our room did have an outdoor terrace. And the kitchen area downstairs is handy as you're really close to a few supermarkets! Staff speak english.

Location wise you can get to it using the S1 line towards Wedel. its 2.85eur one way! which is stunnning! And its direct! Get off at bahrenfeld and its a 7 min walk at best! We also ate at Rach & Ritchy's nearby. 0.7km away, and WELL worth a trip! just remember to book! Steak there was amazing!

Its only a VERY short train ride to get to Hamburg central. I must say, hmaburg didnt have a huge amount to do! But each to their own i guess! We stayed during work over there. Had i gone on a holiday, i would've picked the 25hours hafencity i think, as its equally funky but more central.

But happy to recommend this No 1 hotel to anyone wanting a nice big room for a few days!

Room Tip: Rooms in the guest house may lack wifi, but you can get a lovely terrace and there's a kitchen d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PallaschHH, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at 25hours Hotel Number One, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear Russel_Aitken,

We wish to thank you for your feedback and for recommending the 25hours Hotel Hamburg No.1 to other travellers.

It is good to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the Guesthouse and a nice weekend in Hamburg.

With regards to the internet, we would like to clarify that internet access is free of charge. It is true that you have to get a new access code every two days, but again this is not chargeable.

It is great that you have also already heard of our sister property, the 25hours Hotel HafenCity and it most surely is worth a visit.

However, we would love to welcome you back at the No.1 some time, as well.

With best regards,

Your 25hours Hotel Hamburg No.1 team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

this was a nicely designed "industrial-chic" hotel. Essentially, the overall spaces were designed and detailed quite nicely, but lacked some of the items that make it a comfortable stay:
1) upon entering the room, there is no motion sensor light at the front, so the result is you struggle with your entry every time, trying to find the slot on the wall that activates the power to your room - theres not even a light on the sensor.
2) poor temperature control in room
3) phone to concierge and front desk did not work in my room....annoying
4) cant access the roof patio without paying
5) there are no beauty/ skin care products in the rooms
6) sheets are not very comfortable, nor are pillows and matress

Design is well thought out, as is the retail add on components, but those small little details that cap off the stay were missing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PallaschHH, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at 25hours Hotel Number One, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Allen C,

Thank you very much for the review published on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your stay at our hotel.

With regards to the temperature control in the rooms, we would like to mention that though we do not have air-conditioning, the heating in each room is individually controllable.

Moreover, it is not necessary to pay for the roof patio. However, the terrace is closed during winter season and will be reopened in spring, which is why the door is locked these days.

Concerning the telephone in your room, we do apologise that it was not working. However, technical failures can happen from time to time and our technicians are always more than happy to help you.

Mattresses, pillows, as well as beauty products, are subject to individual preferences. We are sorry that we were not able to meet your wishes and expectations.

We are always eager to make every guest’s stay as pleasant as possible and hope to welcome you again on a future occasion in order to convince you of the quality of our product.

Once again, thank you for your honest report.

Kind regards,

Your 25hours Hotel No.1 team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We spent 4 days over the Christmas holiday. For the room rate, you get an excellent value. Spacious, stylish room, great shower with good water pressure, very good breakfast buffet. The staff, especially in the restaurant, was very friendly and accommodating. We've spent twice that amount in other Hamburg hotels. for rooms and food that we didn't like as much. We'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PallaschHH, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at 25hours Hotel Number One, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear cavafan,

Thank you for such a good comment and all the praise given.

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a wonderful stay and we already look forward to your next stay with us.

Your 25hours Hotel Hamburg No.1 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

The 25 hours hotel is a great place to stay. The moment you walk in you sense this is not a standard hotel. The lobby is a bookshop / gift shop, there are bikes outside of the hotel and the restaurant is buzzing. The 1st floor has a living room where you can choose from multiple tea flavours throughout the day. And it is not tacky but really different design. And the rooms are really good as well. The duvet is fantastic and so is the duvet cover. The room is well lit and again really original with the marine theme. Bathroom is fab with a great power shower. The restaurant annex bar is alive with all sorts of visitors throughout the day. Breakfast is great and staff are really friendly. I will definitely return for the extra hour!

Room Tip: Rooms that face the courtyard are better for the sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PallaschHH, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at 25hours Hotel Number One, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Mururoa,
Thanks so much for your excellent feedback for our 25hours Hotel HafenCity. Wer are glad you enjoyed it so much. Actually they do have their own page on tripadvisor: ----------.
There are some good news, though: The 25hours story originated in Hamburg with the 25hours Hotel Hamburg No.1 and we suggest you try this one on your next visit to Hamburg as we like to say: You know one, you know none. Each 25hours Hotel tells its own individual story and we are sure you will like it.
Kind regards,
the 25hours family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 25hours Hotel Number One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 25hours Hotel Number One

Address: Paul-Dessau-Strasse 2, 22761 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 25hours Hotel Number One 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
25hours Hotel Number One is synonymous with progressive and unexpected, current design trends and affordable style. Here, we've implemented flexibility, well-being, aesthetic appreciation and unconventional colors, shapes and brilliance in every single piece of furniture. All of the 128 rooms meet our guests with a lilting mix of retro design adopted from 60s and 70s styles. The 128 guest rooms are available in a cool retro style with soft patterned wallpaper, exposed concrete and lots of radiant white, or in a playful romantic elegance with flowered wallpaper, zebrawood and accents in red and magenta. What do all the rooms have in common? An unobtrusive, distinct style and maximum versatility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your 25hours Hotel Number One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
25hours Hotel Hamburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 25hours Hotel Number One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.