We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suite Novotel Hamburg City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Suite Novotel Hamburg City to your Saves list
Suite Novotel Hamburg City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lubeckertordamm 2, 20099 Hamburg, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #65 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
“Very good location and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Very good location - only one minute walk to the subway station. Room is quiet and clean. I found that there are staff who do regular check on housekeeper work. The only minor inconvenience I found is that the light switch that controls all the lights is located near the door (which makes sense) and one has to physically turn the switch off in order to turn off all the lights in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    354
    122
    21
    12
See reviews for
230
198
68
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed as a family in the Novotel. It was a rather pleasant stay, though i would have been happier if the distinction between the two Novotels (which are located close to each other) would have been clearer, would have saved some unnecessary unloading etc.
The room was spacious. The bathroom was one of these typical 'ready made' type of bathrooms, with a flimsy feeling and flimsy faucets and showerheads. A nice touch was the separation of toilet and bathroom, not only improving hygiene but also convenient when you are staying in the room with a family of four.
Breakfast was ok. The reception desk was nice and friendly but understaffed and not so dilligent. Example: We were asking for a coin - operated laundry. The reception desk did not know where to find such a place, did also not check the internet but simply told us 'at the train station'. As tourists we did not know about the vastness of the train station and thus, after arriving there with our bundles of clothing, had quite a challenging time finding such a place.
Also for our first trip the front desk directed us to a far - away subway station, in the rain, rather than pointing out that right in front of the hotel would have been another subway station, which would have required changing trains once to reach our destination, but which would have saved us a long walk through the rain.
Another annoyance were the key cards. As a family of four we had four jkey cards. My son put his close to his mobile phone and therefore his did not work anymore. When he exchanged it, all other key cards were automatically invalidated. When my wife returned, she found that therefore her key card did not work anymore. The front desk gave her a new one, thereby invalidating my son's. And so on, a nice merry-go round.
Location was reasonably close to the city but it seemed more far than advertised, at least the interesting parts.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel is pretty average. The upside is if you get a room high up in the building with a view. We had a room on the 15th floor and the room was very nice. But the decoration and plastic interiors in both bathroom and toilet gave a bad impression. The major disappointment was the breakfast. Firstly there is not enough space to eat you breakfast in a calm environment. It was too crowded. The breakfast lacked most warm items you are used to at most hotels nowadays. That was bad. One day you could not even get eggs. But the hotel was modern and clean. It is not up to top hotel standards but reached an average rating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

地理位置方便,門口三分鐘有地鐵站。沒有提供早餐,但是房間內有微波爐,可以去距離不到十分鐘的Lidl買微波食品,或是您走五-十分鐘的路程,可以到便宜還不錯吃的廣東人快餐店。房間內的設計很棒,有小辦公桌可以使用自己的電腦,除了可以使用免費無線網路,亦可使用房間內提供的網路線加強網路的穩定性。浴室乾濕分離,有泡澡的浴缸也有淋浴處,廁所則是分開的。最棒的是電視有提供免費的院線片讓您觀賞,但可惜沒有字幕。Convenient location, a subway station entrance only take three minutes walk. Does not serve breakfast, but the room has a microwave, you can go to the distance is less than ten minutes of Lidl to buy microwave food, or if you take five - ten minutes away, you can also get a good to eat cheap fast food in Cantonese style. Great room design, a small desk can use your own computer, in addition to free wireless Internet, the room can also be used to provide the network cable to enhance the stability of the network. Separate bathroom with bath tub has a shower at the toilet is separate. Best of all, there is a free television allows you to watch blockbusters, but unfortunately language limit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Room was very spacious and clean. We had a nice view from the 17th floor.
Hotel is not located in a shopping area and there is no nightclubs. So it is quiet at night time. There is an easy access to metro few steps from the Hotel and we used that, and kept our car at the parking hall. Metro takes you easily and in just a couple of minutes to the heart on Hamburg and shopping.
Hotel staff was very friendly and they also had nice surprise gifts for them.
Breakfast was not luxorious but really ok. I would say that a good one for budget hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suite Novotel Hamburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Novotel Hamburg City

Address: Lubeckertordamm 2, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#58 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#59 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Suite Novotel Hamburg City 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Suitehotel Hamburg City is only about 800 m away from the main railway station and the city centre, 15 km from Hamburg Fuhlsbuettel airport and 3 km from the Hamburg trade show centre. Public transport at the door. 186 airconditioned suites,30m² in size. Basement garage for 115 cars. 24 hour services include Boutique Gourmande gourmet food counter and bar. Free gym, business corner with free high speed internet and a free 10 minute massage on Thursdays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Suite Novotel Hamburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Novotel Hamburg City Hotel Hamburg
Suitehotel Hamburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite Novotel Hamburg City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.