We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Hamburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Hamburg to your Saves list
Le Meridien Hamburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   An der Alster 52 - 56, 20099 Hamburg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

Our 3 night stay at the Royal Meridien Hamburg left us thinking this might be our best hotel experience anywhere.

The facility is wonderful-large room, done in modern danish-style decor, with luxury bedding in large bed that you just melt into. The hotel has that same decor throughout, and luxury touches like music in hallways and elevator that varies throughout the time of day, and art displays on each floor by Hamburg artists.

This was our first time in Hamburg, and the knowing, patient, enthusiastic concierge desk gave us a great overview of the city, tips on which local companies to use, dining, transport and shopping. We went back to that concierge desk over and over and they came through with good advice every time.

The pool and spa facilities are a first class-again, very modern, indirect lighting, fluuffy bathrobes, loads of towels, great sauna and steam rooms and all the aforementioned included in the room rate. Extra charges only for spa-type services such as massage.

And this reminds me-they don't pile on charges for amenities here to the extent we've found at other top end hotels.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMHamburg, Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, August 1, 2010
Dear JacksonCage,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to write a comment about our stay in www.tripadvisor.de. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel. It was indeed a pleasure to have you here.

We have delivered your praising words to our concierge.

If there is anything else I can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope very much to be able to greet you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG


Olivia von Huenersdorff
Guest Relations Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    252
    74
    18
    13
See reviews for
95
326
98
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

The Le Royal Meridien Hamburg is one of the nicest and well functional hotels we ever have stayed in in Germany. We were just on our way back to Denmark and decided to stay one night there. The rooms are big and spacious and the staff very attentive. We especially liked the good breakfast and the greeting which we got as soon as we entered the hotel. The hotel is situated very close to the main train station and the Alster lake. Thanks to the entire staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMHamburg, Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, June 22, 2010
Dear Peter_danmark,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to write a comment about our stay in www.tripadvisor.de. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel. It was indeed a pleasure to have you here.

Thank you again for your kind words regarding the hotel staff. I gladly informed the former of your praising words.

If there is anything else I can do for you, please to not hesitate to contact me.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope very much to be able to greet you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG


Olivia von Huenersdorff
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

I'm late writing this review. I really enjoyed my stay here. The rooms were really big and comfortable and the bathrooms were really nice too with walk-in power showers. Did have the problem that the plughole wasn't able to cope with the amount of water from the shower and this lead to a flood. The staff responded well and upgraded us to a room that had an even better view than we had paid for (a room with a view os extra but worth it). However, there seemed to be a smell of smoke in the first room.The swimming pool was nice for splashing about in (too short for swimming laps) and the jacuzzi, etc., were all really nice. Fluffy white bathrobes and towels were also supplied. Restaurants are only a short stroll away. Gerne wieder -- fast alles war super.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMHamburg, Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, June 23, 2010
Dear irenkagermany,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Meridien Hamburg and for taking the time to write a comment about your stay in www.tripadvisor.de. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel.

We are very sorry about the problems you had at the begining of your stay. Therefore we would like apologize again because that does not reflect the high quality standards of the hotel.

We look very much forward to welcoming you again in the very near future. And if you have any further questions do not hesitate to contact us.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG

Olivia von Hünersdorff
Guest Relations Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

Gorgeous view over Aussenalster from breakfast room, quiet rooms, spacious, luxury bathrooms! Not enough relaxing rooms in spa area

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMHamburg, Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, June 23, 2010
Dear ChristaW1,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to write a comment about our stay in www.tripadvisor.de. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel. It was indeed a pleasure to have you here.

If there is anything else I can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope very much to be able to greet you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG


Olivia von Huenersdorff
Guest Relations Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed 3 nights at Le Meridien Hotel in Hanburg over New Years 2009 / 2010. We wanted to relaxe and experience the city and required a nice, clean, modern base. We are both in our late 20's and have quite high standards in regards to both service, style and comfort- This hotel - in large - met our expectations.

Parking: When we arrived and the valet offered to park our car, there was no mention of the cost of parking. Let's just say I was not pleased to find the price at 26 Euros a day. The staff was not willing to compromise or even comp. us a coffee. This was a major dissapointment. Luckily our car was only parked in the hotels lot for three hours before, we found out the price and quickly moved the car to the public parking on the street right in front of the hotel. We did not buy the required parking tickets, but then again we did not get even one fine in the four days we were there. USE THE PUBLIC PARKING :-)

Dog: At a price of 15 Euros a night we could bring our dog, which was perfect. Note that a lot of restaurants and all shops allow dogs.

Room: Our room was nice, very cozy in warm coulors and very clean. I always check linnen, furniture, shower etc. upon arrival and it all seemed fine. A couple of light bulbs vere out of order, which was fixed shortly after we called the front desk. Plenty of closet space, desk space and even a sort of sofa arrangement along with a spacious bathroom (both shower and tub).

Nature / city: Right across the street from the hotel is the Alster Lake and more importent a path around it. Great for walks with the dog or a run i the morning. The city centre is a 5-10 min. walk depending on which route you choose, not far at all.

Complementary: The hotel offers to fill the fridge every day with sodas, beer and sparkeling water. Shower gel, shampoo, lotion, tea, bathrobes, slippers, cityguide and concierge service. Free fitness centre.

Spa: The spa is okay, not posh at all and not very chic, but believe me, it did the job, we started each morning with a swim and half an hour in the jacuzzi. Children are allowed, which was a negative for us.

On January 1th we could not agree on a restaurant, so I called the concierge for inspiration. After 5 minutes he called back with adresses and menues of 3-4 local places - great service and he was extremely patient.

All in all, we left as satisfied customers and we would not mind coming back at all, however next time we visit Hamburg, we might opt for another hotel, just to try something different - if we can find any as modern and chic as Le Meridien.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMHamburg, Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, June 23, 2010
Dear Oelliet,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to write a comment about our stay in www.tripadvisor.de. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel. It was indeed a pleasure to have you here.

Thank you again for your kind words regarding Concierge. I gladly informed him of your praising words.

If there is anything else I can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope very much to be able to greet you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG


Olivia von Huenersdorff
Guest Relations Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Superb rooms. Excellent service. Unfortunately a few flaws: breakfast room too small, staff at reception and in restaurant slightly unfriendly. However, an excellent accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMHamburg, Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, June 22, 2010
Dear SummerGB,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to write your opinion about our hotel. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel.
But we are very sorry to hear that you had some bad experiences with the service in the restaurant or at the reception, we would like to apologize for it.
We look very much forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG

Olivia von Hünersdorff
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

Le Royal Meridien is located on the lakeside just to the east of the city centre. It's a 10-minute walk from the Hauptbahnhof down some fairly gloomy sidestreets and I felt that the location was a little out of the real heart of things. It's a modern building with top quality accommodation, although I did find the layout rather confusing and the room had minimal information to help - the booklet didn't even say on what floors the restaurants were located.

My standard room was very large and very comfortable. The bed was superb and the room had large wall-mounted tv (with several English language channels), "free" minibar (soft drinks, water, beer) and coffee/tea facilities, in-room safe, good lighting. It was very "designer" and, typically, it sacrificed some practicality for design (the armchairs were awful). The bathrom was excellent with roll-top bath, separate shower, small range of individual toiletries, etc.

Breakfast was very comprehensive - and so it should be for the expensive EUR28 cost. The views over the lake from the restaurant were stunning. On the downside, on both of my mornings, I wasn't offered coffee until I asked for it, which was disappointing.

The staff were okay overall and I didn't experience any problems of the sort mentioned by other reviewers. When I tried to buy a Hamburg tourist card from the concierge, though, the first clerk didn't seem to know much about it, and the second man misquoted the price.

Wireless internet was prohibitively expensive in the room but internet access is available free of charge in the business centre.

Overall, the quality of the accommodation was top-notch, but the expense of breakfast, wifi and other items, left me feeling a bit taken advantage of.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMHamburg, Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, June 23, 2010
Dear Stevie390m,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to make a comment with www.tripadvisor.com. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel.

We apologize that you had to ask for a coffee on several occasion before actually receiving one. This in no way represents our first class service.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, design and facilities in general.

Let me point out that our internet is free of charge for our SPG Platinum members and the cost of our breakfast is lower than our direct competitors.

Thank you again for staying with us! We look very much forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG


Olivia von Hünersdorff
Guest Relations Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Hamburg

Address: An der Alster 52 - 56, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#19 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#25 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Royal Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Meridien Royal Hamburg
Hamburg Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Hamburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.