We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sky view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Hamburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Hamburg to your Saves list
Le Meridien Hamburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   An der Alster 52 - 56, 20099 Hamburg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best sky view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I stayed with my family at the beautiful Le Meridian Hamburg hotel august 10th, it was a really unique special experience. Starting from the valet, then front desk staff, restaurant staff, managers on duty and all staff members were always very helpful, they all made our stay very comfortable and unforgettable. The rooms were impeccably clean every day and the food was great.
The hotel location is good, the service received everyday at the hotel in every moment was excellent, the restaurant's view over the city is outstanding.
We didn’t find any bad details to make comments about it.
Henry Contreras

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    252
    74
    18
    13
See reviews for
95
326
98
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Having reserved accommodation at the hotel we were lucky enough to be upgraded into the Alster Suite. However, on all four days we stayed in the hotel we were awoken by thumping and banging noises first at around 3 or 4 in the morning. The noise level increased around 6 and continued though out the whole morning. We later discovered that the noise was caused by chairs and tables being shifted and moved around first through the cleaning staff during the night and later by restaurant staff and guests in the dining room right on top of our suite.
The breakfast was extremely unrelaxing: once seated we were moved three times to different tables, either because restaurant staff was unaware that the table was actually occupied or staff was not ready having set the tables. Restaurant staff was generally unhelpful and failed to make guests welcome. In fact, it appeared that everything was done to get guests out as quickly as possible.
On the last day we avoided the chaos of the upstairs dining room and decided to go for a meal elsewhere.
What was supposed to be a relaxing weekend turned out to be rather stressful considering the interrupted sleep and the chaos that went with it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
667 reviews 667 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Le Meridien is a relatively new hotel compared to existing hotels in Hamburg. The hotel is located right on the famous Alster lake and 15 mins walk to the city center. Your room key also gives you free access to the boat that leaves regularly from the dock in front of the hotel to the city center. This is a starwood hotel so you have the heavenly beds which are great. Try and get a room with a view of the Alster. The staff is very friendly and we loved Sam the concierge. There is an outdoor elevator that takes you to the restaurant at the top. Great place to see a spectacular view of Hamburg. You can have coffee, tea or drinks in the bar area (they have a great thin crust pizza on the bar menu) upstairs or enjoy a great meal in the adjacent restaurant. The food is very good for hotel food. There is also a lobby bar. They also have a nice pool, sauna and spa area. We really always enjoy our stay at the Meridien in Hamburg. It is our go to hotel in this beautiful city.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Spent a week at this property while on business in Hamburg. A great facility, friendly staff, fantastic views, perfect and central location... overall a very nice stay and I will continue to stay here on subsequent visits to Hamburg.

Room Tip: A river view room! Fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miesbach, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed over Easter 2014 at the Royal Meridien as we were visiting family and friends. Having stayed over the time at different Le Meridien Hotels througout the world, I had specific expectations which were unfortunately not met.

The overall hotel design is very cold, not really welcoming, the rooms (we had a Junior Suite) are small - especially the bathroom (maybe adequate for single travellers, but not for a couple) and not all the staff is friendly - some are icredily helpful, others down right customer unfriendly.

But what really upset me was arriving by car at 1 AM on Easter Sunday and being very serenely informed that the Concierge is no longer on duty, so that instead of the (paid!) parking place in the hotel underground parking we would have to search for a parking place out in the street on our own. And the hotel is situated in a very populated residential area of Hamburg, where it is close to impossible to get a spot. That is by my standards no 5* service! I won't go back ...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Great service at check in. Beautiful room, however paid for a lake view. We were on the 3rd floor so not above the tree line so the view was not much. Also from that floor if you left your balcony door open, the traffic noise was very loud.

We ordered in room service. We both ordered a burger. It was great, however unless you bot have a huge hunger, order one and share. The burger was huge with a large amount of fries.

I was disappointed with the price of parking 29€ per night! but to be expected in any large city.

Room Tip: Don't pay for the water view unless they can guarantee a room above the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We enjoyed a lovely stay in early August 2014 and would return in a heartbeat! The rooms and public areas met our expectations of a Le Meridien property--they were stylish, clean, comfortable and stocked with the usual amenities. Four things made the property stand out to us:

(1) Location - Very convenient for walking to most tourist areas and connecting with public transportation and the lake boats, plus there are drop dead gorgeous views from the top floor restaurant/bar of the old town and both inner and outer Alster. (See pix) I think only the Radisson Blu across the lake has better views (but it is less well-located and didn't feel as classy as Le Royal Meridien, at least from our walk through the lobby to go to its fabulous rooftop bar for a drink).

(2) Staff - We can't say enough about the friendly professionalism and helpfulness of the front desk staff, concierge personnel, doormen and restaurant wait staff. All delivered exellent customer service!

(3) Breakfast - You can't help but feel inspired about the day ahead after taking breakfast here as the array of offerings is equal to the breathaking view! The buffet food was fresh, top quality, attractively displayed and so varied, and the hot made-to-order eggs, pancakes, etc. were delicious.

(4) Value - We booked a Starwood deal that included breakfast, unlimited boat service and an art museum admission. Often, we are unimpressed by the extras, but at this property, they definitely added value to the rate.

Tip: For summer visitors who are used to AC-cooled rooms, we found it tricky to get sufficient AC in the room, but once we mentioned it, the front desk offered good advice on how to improve cooling.

All in all, we think Le Royal Meridien is a perfect choice for Hamburg!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Hamburg

Address: An der Alster 52 - 56, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#19 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#24 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Royal Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Meridien Royal Hamburg
Hamburg Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Hamburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.