We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern fashionable hotel in a great location in Hamburg - very good 4 star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Hamburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Hamburg to your Saves list
Le Meridien Hamburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   An der Alster 52 - 56, 20099 Hamburg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 316 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Modern fashionable hotel in a great location in Hamburg - very good 4 star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Excellent 4 star hotel in Hamburg. Great location in a trendy central area along the lake. Good shopping and restaurants within minutes walk. Modern hotel with spacious clean and tredy decorated rooms. I had a room with a lake view which was also nice. Only small negative I would say is that for a hotel of this class, there were hardly any bathroom amenities. So I had to call down for a razor (which they did bring promptly) and there was no toothbrush/toothpaste kit. Great hotel and will stay there again, but that was a little bit of a surprise.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    273
    87
    19
    13
See reviews for
106
352
102
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We recently stayed in this very modern and beautiful hotel. Very friendly reception. Rooms are modern light and airy. We opted for a suite with lake view. It was worth it. Almost.
The beds however are awfull. There is no top matress, which makes it very hard. Sleep quality is bad and you are tender in your back the next day. Appareantly none of the rooms have this. That is a shame and that is why we cannot come back to this other wise great hotel.
Breakfast buffet is excellent, just as you expect in this category og hotel i Germany.
Location is next to the lake, with little bars and restaurants along the shore.
It is a 10-15 min. stroll to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel on a few occasions for business and now returned with my family for a weekend to explore Hamburg and go to a wedding. It was great; we had lovely rooms which are extremely well equipped with everything you might need from a kettle to an ironing station! The gym and pool are good. The location is excellent right on the Ausser Alster Lake and a few moments from Lange Reihe for bars and restaurants and not far from the Rathaus and other places of interest in Hamburg.

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms have the best views but you need to keep the balcony doors closed because of noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Good things about this hotel: Friendly staff, excellent location, and good quality of food breakfast.
Not good things about this hotel: Rooms look like from an Ikea bedroom catalogue: cheap decoration and really uncomfortable. My bathroom was not functioning properly and stunk every morning; Slow room service: when you call the reception or room service it could take long time until they finally answer the phone; Deficient room cleaning: my room was dirty when I arrive and it was not properly clean everyday; Internet connection is slow and electric outlets are only for European standards so please bring your own adaptor otherwise you can not charge your phone or use your computer. I am a Starwood platinum member and they didn't give me a good upgrade, what really disappointed me little bit but I was more disappointed about the standard of this hotel, where the pool is in the basement with no air circulation and with cool pool water. If you want to have a good view of the Alster, ask for high floor, otherwise you will see only trees and cars running in front of your window.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor User,

Thank you very much for your very feedback! It is great to hear that we could satisfy you with our location as well as our friendly staff and service. We regret that that there were some issues as well like our room service, terms of cleanliness or answering the phone at the reception. Please be sure that I have already discussed your points with the responsible managers. Nevertheless we hope that we have the chance to improve this first impression.

It would be great to welcome you again at Le Méridien Hamburg!

Kind regards,
Andreas K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Elegant, clean, comfortable
Ideal for a good rest after a long working day. The breakfasts on the last floor are absolutely great and the view is breathtaking. Do not make the mistake to order room service for breakfast! The hotel is centrally located and perfect for a nice walk in the city center. Not very efficient the personal at the check in/check out and during my last stay they missed to book me the taxi as requested the night before which created quite few challenges the morning after at 8:00 am. But a part from this it is worth going and in my case... Coming back!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback @tripadvisor!

It is great to hear that you had at great time staying with us. We regret that check out did not went out as planned but please be sure that we will work on this issue.

We hope to welcome you soon again at Le Meridien Hamburg!

Kind regards,
Andreas K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Hotel is just next to Alster Lake and walking distance to Main Railroad Station which is very good for a short time visit to Hamburg. If you find room service expensive, there are plenty of restaurants behind the hotel. You can join others to run alongside the lake if you like running or you can simply enjoy the beautiful scenery while sitting on the bench. Gym is available, however it is not enough for heavy trainers and it is quite small and needs a better air conditioning, Breakfast buffet is awesome but a little bit expensive which is €30. Room are quiet and beds are very comfortable to sleep if you are a freqıent traveller and needs a good sleep before your next trip. I really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I stayed here in June for business in a suite room on the 8th floor. The room was extremely comfortable with a fantastic bathroom - the bath was long a deep and ideal for a good soak. There was a good shower with variable controls. The only downside about the room was a lack of drawer space for clothes. I am sure this is fine for a short stay but anything longer than week or with two guests would be a problem.

Breakfast was in the 9th floor restaurant and there was a nice selection of good quality food. Although the restaurant was quite busy the staff managed very well and there was rarely a dirty table or plates to be removed. They were very efficient indeed.

It was warm during the week I stayed and although the air conditioning in the room was fine, the atmosphere was stifling in the hallways. This might be a Hamburg thing though because it was the same in many places throughout the city during my stay.

The Hotel is situated within walking distance of the main station (with small luggage), the main shopping area and has an excellent position on the Alsterlake. If you like jogging or walking then the circuit around the lake is about 5 miles and it starts right across the road.

The Le Meridien remains my favourite hotel in Hamburg.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Hamburg

Address: An der Alster 52 - 56, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#15 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#27 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Hamburg, idyllically situated at the Outhern Alster lake in the trendy district St. Georg offers 275 rooms including 14 suites (with Alsterview). All rooms provide LED-TVs and high-speed internet. Free daily newspapers and tea + coffee preparation facilities are featured in the Le Meridien Hamburg's air-conditioned rooms + suites. All throughout the hotel guests can receive complimentary Wi-Fi access. Bathrobes and high-quality toiletries are provided in the elegant bathrooms. Innovative variations of Mediterranean cuisine, inspired by Hanseatic style are served in the restaurant Le Ciel on the 9th floor of the hotel with a panoramic view of the Outhern Alster lake. Guests are offered a free boat trip on the Alster as part of the Unlock Art™ Programme. The hotel spa "Emotion Spa" with a fitness center offers various possibilities for recreation + relaxation. Le Meridien Hamburg owns 13 conference rooms with an event area of total 721 m². Discover ,,Meetings with a View"- conferences and events with a breathtaking view of the Alster lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Meridien Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Royal Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Meridien Royal Hamburg
Hamburg Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Hamburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.