We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peter Gabriel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O2 World Hamburg

O2 World Hamburg
Sylvesterallee 10, 22525 Hamburg, Germany
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 395 things to do in Hamburg
Attraction details
Toftlund, Denmark
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Peter Gabriel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I attended Peter Gabriel's "Back to front tour" last month. There was security at the entrance. And everything moved forward at a good pace.

Food: We decided to get a quick bite to eat at the arena. There was plenty to choose from. We decided to have a hotdog with the works.. which ended up being a sausage in a hotdog bread. We had to make "all the works" ourselves. I don't mind making my own hotdog.. but with that price.. and 50 other people using the only "one" cucumber utensil, I find it unappetising. Hygiene should be a serious consideration for the o2 team.

Unfortunately there is quite a difference from the o2 Berlin. Here the toilets were not clean, the eating areas were left with left overs. And the fountains where we had to make our food to order were messy with leftovers and droppings.

The staff: helpful and sweet as always.

The sound: There were no delay issues - just the vocals were way too sharp. Which made me use my 15 dB filtered earplugs. A bummer if one wants to hear the clean sound.

The seating area:
The row numbers are located on the steps and not on the side of the first seat. It was next to impossible to find our row. With the lights turned off for the warm up act, we had to ask people which row they were seated on. It would have been helpful if the row numbers were lit or the o2 staff could highlight the row number with their torches. Space wise, the seats are pretty tight. There was not much leg room [ good to be short! :-) ]

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Usual Souless Arena”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I saw Neil Young in concert here band it's the usual soulless sports arena come concert venue. The bar area however does sell good food. The venue is situated outside the city and is s 1.4 km walk from the S-Bahn though there is a shuttlebus. The HSV football Says is over the road

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ankara
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

i have been o2 world in last winter. i saw 'best of musical' and it was perfect. stylish people, nice place delicious ice cream ;)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“James Last fabulous O2 not so great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Attended concert by James Last the fantastic 84 year old band leader. Naturally most fans are of mature age yet door staff treated them like football fans searching bags for water bottles and removing tops! Yes they could be a missile but how ridiculous was it that because of the rain most visitors were allowed in with umbrellas. Surely a golf umbrella with its metal spike is more dangerous than a plastic bottle?

Apart from this the venue is great with food and drink at just about acceptable prices. The floor staff in the arena were excellent. Very helpful and friendly. Happy to return for other concerts.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aabenraa, Denmark
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Such a nice venue for concerts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Have been to O2 World for numerous concerts and, to me, it is the perfect indoor arena.

Catering is absolutely perfect (yes, prices are high but not steep and by no means vertical), staff is professional and acustoming and great acts find thir way to O2 World.

Go there and be amazed!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O2 World Hamburg also viewed

 

Been to O2 World Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O2 World Hamburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.