We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ARCOTEL Onyx

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added ARCOTEL Onyx to your Saves list
ARCOTEL Onyx
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Reeperbahn 1 A, 20359 Hamburg, Germany (St. Pauli)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Kassel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Nice, new, modern hotel in a great location right at the beginning of the Reeperbahn. The hotel is about a 2 minute walk from the UBahn stop St. Pauli so perfect for getting around. Even though it's right next to the madness of the Reeperbahn we found the hotel very quiet and peaceful. The best of both worlds. Would definitely stay again.
You can walk about 10 minutes towards the Schanzen Area for lots of quirky cafes that are great for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Graheadkassel,

thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx and taking the time to write this wonderful feedback.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time in Hamburg.

We are looking forward to welcome you back and wish you all the best.

Kind regards,
ARCOTEL Onyx

JANA SCHMITT
Ass. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    163
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
35
199
33
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here for couple nights. It is located at the end of red light district (which does not bother you at all), very safe, next to train station, close to waterfront and within 15 minutes walk of very bohemian area of the city. The old city center is like 20-25 min by walk or just few minutes by car.
Rooms are nicely appointed, quality fixtures, great windows, very modern, comfortable bed, nice bathrooms. There are lots of yellow colour in interior, so if you hate yellow, stay away:) For me it felt good in grey rainy Hamburg.
Service was impeccable.
I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Petrzalka,

thank you for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx and for writing this feedback.
It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we could bring a little sunshine into the grey days you spend in Hamburg.
We would like to welcome you back soon and wish you all the best.

Kind regards,

JANA SCHMITT
Ass. Front Office Manager
ARCOTEL Onyx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The service in this hotel is a breath of fresh air. They care. It was my boyfriends birthday and they brought a bottle of prosecco, a home made cake and a card with handwritten wishes of all staff. It started the day extra special. The exterior and interior of this hotel looks gorgeous and unique. Definitely recommend it if you want a nice relaxing stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Jo & Jo,

thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to write this feedback.
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could make your special day even a bit more special.
We wish you all the best and would be pleased to welcome you back soo.

Best regards,

JANA SCHMITT
Ass. Front Office Manager
ARCOTEL Onyx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Onyx for 3 nights. The hotel is new, modern, comfortable and very clean. The staff is friendly and helpful and there is very convenient and cheap parking available under the hotel. We had breakfast in the hotel only one morning. The 'continental breakfast' is fine, but not very special. For the same price you can have breakfast everywhere in Hamburg. The hotel also has fitness and wellness facilities. We went there on Sunday afternoon and it was lovely!
We had a standard room, and it was very nice and big enough for a short city break. We didn't like the area very much as we're not into bar hopping and nightclubs. Also it was difficult to find a nice restaurant in walking distance of the hotel. The harbour is close and there is a U-bahn very close, we walked most days to the centre and it is doable but you do have to walk quiet a bit.
All in all a great hotel and if you're in Hamburg to get a taste of the nightlife an ideal location. If you don't mind the distance to the centre this hotel has a lot to offer.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Hofgen,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to write this feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We wish you all the best and would like to welcome you back again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

JANA SCHMITT
Ass. Front Office Manager
ARCOTEL Onyx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed 4 nights, love the location 1 minute to the U3 station St, Pauli, right at the beginning of Reeperbahn, good distance from the noise, but close to the action. the staff were very friendly, and helpful, I asked for a late check out, and they happily allowed me to stay till 3pm, this saved my day. highly recommended hotel. it is about 25 minutes walking distance from CCH, or 3 bus stops (bus line 112) the bus run every 15 minutes.
The rooms are large compared to the European standard.
Only one minor issue, the quilt is relativity small, they should get bigger ones.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Okamalo,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for the feedback you wrote.

It is a pleasure to hear that you were completely satisfied with your stay. Your comment about the quilt, we will pass on directly to the relevant department.

We would like to wish you all the best and hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,

JANA SCHMITT
Ass. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Very nice new hotel, just opened early in 2012.
We stayed with a group of friends in october, and where happy with the place.

It's perfect to visit the nightlife in Hamburg. And has a public car park under the hotel wich is great, and not very expensive.

The rooms where very clean and modern, and does have a decent size. There was even an apple(fruit) for each guest at the room.

Breakfast was also OK, but make sure you go to the breakfast room, and not in the hotel lobby, where you can also have a quick and small breakfast. The first morning we did, and the staff did not tell us there was a breakfast room for more choise of food. (all included in the price)
So the first day we sayed breakfast was only moderate, second morning it was much better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear MarcBelgie,
thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to give us a feedback. Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.
We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

JANA SCHMITT
Ass. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel is fantastically situated at the top of the Reeperbahn, near lots of cool little bars (if you walk a few mins off the strip) and right next to the St Pauli U-Bahn station so you can easily get about.

The rooms and clean, modern and really large. The duvets are individual and a little small so it was a little difficult to get the temperature of the room right.

The only problem we really experienced was with the front desk staff. They checked us in well, but upon leaving told us we had spent £40 at the bar. We hadn't, and after some checking they removed this from our bill. The main problem was when we asked for a taxi to the airport. The gentleman at the desk said he had booked one and to wait inside for about 5 mins and the driver would come in and get us. We waited 20 minutes and heard nothing. We went back over and the receptionist had obviously not been keeping an eye for us and told us that someone else must have taken it. I would expected them to have booked it in our room or name number so this didn't happen. He was then unable to book us a new taxi and advised we stood on the street.

We didn't miss our flight but due to this, it was so, so, tight. Really feel let down by this lack of reception concern.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Mrs Karinski,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to write this feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

Thanks for the comment regarding our front desk staff, we will coach them to tweak our service.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#87 of 317 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Empire Riverside Hotel
#38 of 317 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 stars 705 reviews
Neustadt
Adina Apartment Hotel Hamburg Michel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#4 of 317 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#31 of 317 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Hammerbrook
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
#14 of 317 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARCOTEL Onyx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Onyx

Address: Reeperbahn 1 A, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ARCOTEL Onyx 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg is located directly on the Reeperbahn, at Millerntor. With its semi-transparent elements, the hotel’s façade alludes to the popular and rare semiprecious stone which gave the hotel its name, and attracts a lot of attention in Hamburg’s trendy neighbourhood of St. Pauli. Located conveniently in the heart of the city, the hotel is the perfect starting point for trips to the harbour, the historical Speicherstadt warehouse district, and visits to musical and theatre shows. High-quality materials and functional design create an atmosphere of extravagance and exclusive flair in the hotel’s interior. 215 spacious rooms and suites provide the best of modern comfort for a new generation of guests demanding a new level of service. The entire hotel has WLAN internet access. Our BAR WIENER CAFE provides the perfect place to socialise in a sophisticated lounge atmosphere. Bar snacks, delicious home-made cakes and refreshing drinks leave no wish unanswered. Guests who want to relax and unwind have free access to the attractive spa and fitness area of the ARCOTEL Onyx. And our high-end seminar room is equipped with state-of-the art technology to create a professional meeting atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your ARCOTEL Onyx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ARCOTEL Onyx, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.