We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but a little disorganised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ARCOTEL Onyx

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added ARCOTEL Onyx to your Saves list
ARCOTEL Onyx
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Reeperbahn 1 A, 20359 Hamburg, Germany (St. Pauli)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice but a little disorganised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel is fantastically situated at the top of the Reeperbahn, near lots of cool little bars (if you walk a few mins off the strip) and right next to the St Pauli U-Bahn station so you can easily get about.

The rooms and clean, modern and really large. The duvets are individual and a little small so it was a little difficult to get the temperature of the room right.

The only problem we really experienced was with the front desk staff. They checked us in well, but upon leaving told us we had spent £40 at the bar. We hadn't, and after some checking they removed this from our bill. The main problem was when we asked for a taxi to the airport. The gentleman at the desk said he had booked one and to wait inside for about 5 mins and the driver would come in and get us. We waited 20 minutes and heard nothing. We went back over and the receptionist had obviously not been keeping an eye for us and told us that someone else must have taken it. I would expected them to have booked it in our room or name number so this didn't happen. He was then unable to book us a new taxi and advised we stood on the street.

We didn't miss our flight but due to this, it was so, so, tight. Really feel let down by this lack of reception concern.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Mrs Karinski,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to write this feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

Thanks for the comment regarding our front desk staff, we will coach them to tweak our service.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    121
    20
    4
    6
See reviews for
26
130
22
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel placed in the heart of ST Pauli. Nice rooms and everything is clean and in order. If you want to have some fun in St Pauli the location is perfect. In short im impressed and will for sure come back!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Mr. Kterkelsen ,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to write this feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed here last weekend for a friends stag party, there were 16 of us and we got 7 rooms and 1 apartment which is in the same complex. Firstly the location is in the centre of all the bars and clubs which means there's little need for cabs. First night we went on a bar crawl to get a feel for the place, unfortunately because there were 16 guys it was impossible to get into any nightclubs. This wasn't a big problem as we had guest list for the next two nights lined up to decent clubs. If you are going for a stag party I suggest you get in contact with these stag organisers, we went through Vamos travel who were brilliant. For a 4 hour nightlife guide and VIP club entrance on Friday, go karting for 30mins per person(which is more then enough trust me) and VIP entrance to club on Saturday night it cost £72 per person, brilliant deal if you think about how much you save on the stress.

Back to the hotel lol, the staff are extremely friendly from the receptionist, to the cleaners and the security guards. They all speak good English and are wiling to help you with what ever you need to make the trip enjoyable. The rooms themselves are very very clean and spacious, love the window seats where you can sit and watch the outside world. The apartment was awesome with its own bar, huge couch and sound system.

Only criticism I would have would be the lack of choice in the restaurant menu, but then again because there are resturants all around to meet your every need I understand why the hotel doesn't concentrate in competing. The drinks are reasonable too, and the sauna room is exactly what you need after night outs.

All in all brilliant hotel with lovely staff, thank you Arcotel for making the trip that extra bit special.

Ps. I would advise everyone to be careful when going out even though the majority of hamburg is full of nice people there are some that would take advantage. I say this due to one of my friends having a bad experience in a club by being robbed of his wallet, watch and jacket by a woman who was flirting with him. It may of been a case where he was drugged but we can't be sure. Just be careful and always travel with a partner or friend.

Oh and if your interested in clubs with decent music try thomas reed which is a rave until 6am or china lounge next door also very good but gets busy after 1am. FYI these were not the clubs my friend got robbed in lol.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear jay88811,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to write this feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you an your group enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I loved this hotel. I travel a significant amount all over the world for work and this has to be one of my favourite stays so far. The hotel is very new and modern, clean & quirky. The front desk staff was very helpful at all times and the location was amazing, close enough to the Reeperbhan (red light district), but not too close. The price was also excellent and included WIFI.

The rooms were quite spacious by European standards, lovely shower, separate room for the toilet and a small area with a kettle and coffee, etc. The windows in the room are circular and have a bench up to them so you can sit comfortably inside the window and read a book.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: As for a room with a view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Foodie,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to write this feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

After doing a bit of research on Tripadvisor and what to see in Hamburg, we decided to book the Onyx Hotel. The price we paid for a 3 nights stay was really excellent, but didn't include breakfast. This wasn't a problem as there are many choices around and 20 Euro per person for breakfast at the hotel is a bit expensive.
The hotel itself is very modern and definately a 4 Star. They have a great lounge, bar and restaurant. Staff are very friendly and the service is what you would expect from a 4 star hotel. We had a standard double room, which was huge and the bathroom as well. They offered us an upgrade for a few Euros more, but after seeing the standard room, there is no need to upgrade. The room has all the amenities you need, with flat screen TV, WiFi etc. A plus to the interior designers as they made a very good job with the room, as it is modern, but still very comfortable. Bathroom is nice and big, with extra heating, which is also a nice touch.
Getting to the hotel is very easy as from the Main Train Station it is only about 10 minutes away with the U-Bahn and you get out at the St Pauli Station. The Station is right across the hotel, +-200m away.
As many have already said on TA, the hotel is at the beginning of the Reeperbahn, but if you choose not to go there, you won't even now that it's there. One evening we decided to have a look around at the Reeperbahn and compared to the Red Light District in Amsterdam, it is a pretty awful place. I wrote a short review on it if you want to read it as well.
The Onyx Hotel though lies next to 3 very good theatres and also very close to the "Landungsbruecken" or the main harbour point for boat cruises and bus city tours. You therefore have lots of options there and it's only a few minutes walk away. Therefore you can easily explore the whole city with the hop on and hop off buses or do the harbour cruise, which is recommended.
Overall this hotel can only be recommended and there's really nothing negative to say about the hotel. One of the nicest hotels I ever stayed in Europe!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Mr NamXpert,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to write this feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte- Brazil
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Hotel is perfect.New, very new, modern, high tech, cleand, spacious , confortable, clear rooms with a modern design.Excellent helpful staff Free internet.
About location.It´s excellent, but notice,in St pauli, beside Reeperbahn, not inside.So, if you think to be inside Hamburg red light district, you are not.And this area is the best for night life, not because of red light district itsellf,but a lot of bars, live music, fun. Also close to metro and Hamburg port.
And same time hotel is quiet, you can sleep very well,no noise.
Staff is superb.
I had a small problem, a misunderstanding.Maid service throw away something I bought to drink like water, yoghurt and juice, because they think i was leaving hotel.A claimed with reception, they apologize and said: " Now all mini-bar is free for you as compensation" .I didn´´t use all minibar, because would not be fair with hotel.Mini bar had champagne, wines, beer, snacks, etc, maybe the value was 10 times more than my mineral water, juice and youghurt.They apologize even on check-out , and was not necessary.They are very honest and responsable people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Francisco7,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to write this feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just to confirm what everyone else has said! Lovely modern clean hotels with very well designed and equipped rooms, v convenient for St Pauli, and lots of less sleazy neighbourhoods if you walk in the opposite direction to the Reeperbahn!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear adventurette,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to write this feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ARCOTEL Onyx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Onyx

Address: Reeperbahn 1 A, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ARCOTEL Onyx 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg is located directly on the Reeperbahn, at Millerntor. With its semi-transparent elements, the hotel’s façade alludes to the popular and rare semiprecious stone which gave the hotel its name, and attracts a lot of attention in Hamburg’s trendy neighbourhood of St. Pauli. Located conveniently in the heart of the city, the hotel is the perfect starting point for trips to the harbour, the historical Speicherstadt warehouse district, and visits to musical and theatre shows. High-quality materials and functional design create an atmosphere of extravagance and exclusive flair in the hotel’s interior. 215 spacious rooms and suites provide the best of modern comfort for a new generation of guests demanding a new level of service. The entire hotel has WLAN internet access. Our BAR WIENER CAFE provides the perfect place to socialise in a sophisticated lounge atmosphere. Bar snacks, delicious home-made cakes and refreshing drinks leave no wish unanswered. Guests who want to relax and unwind have free access to the attractive spa and fitness area of the ARCOTEL Onyx. And our high-end seminar room is equipped with state-of-the art technology to create a professional meeting atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ARCOTEL Onyx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ARCOTEL Onyx, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.