We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good zoo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hamburg Zoo

Hamburg Zoo
Lokstedter Grenzstrasse 2, 22527 Hamburg, Germany (Eimsbüttel)
040 5300330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 137 Attractions in Hamburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Hamburg Zoo, opened in 1863, has a new elephant pavilion and new tropical aquarium. Animals are in naturalistic enclosures.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“very good zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Even if it was windy and cold we had a very good time. The new Eismeer attraction is nicely done and there is a very good children playground. The aquarium is as lot others in the world. A must to visit if you are in Hamburg. We will return when our little one is bit older.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    171
    46
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moraga, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING ZOO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I had not been to Hagenbeck's for quite some time. Nevertheless, this zoo impressed me with the way the animals are treated: their care, the space they have, the cleanliness of
their areas, the kind personnel, and the variety of animals within a relatively small space. It was a winter day, so some of the animals were sleeping, but that did not matter to us. We enjoyed out walk around the zoo thoroughly and we intend to
return again soon. We were not alone: many families, singles,
and couples were at Hagenbeck's. Parking spaces were adequate. Admission is worth it. Maybe we will take a picnic with us in the warmer months and sit outside. This time we splurged on a hot chocolate.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Yes, this is expensive. We paid 70 € for the five of us for the zoo and it would have been another 49€ to get access into the tropical aquarium which we felt disappointed about.

Once inside though, we were very impressed. This is the third zoo we've visited and it is definitely worth the visit. It is well worth going into the shop and buying some bags of fruit and veg because there are lots of opportunities to feed some of the animals. We didn't do it and my boys were disappointed.

You can get really close to the animals which is great and the petting zoo was a huge hit. We followed the suggested route in the leaflet and it worked really well and we got to see all the animals with no omissions. Our favourite part was the penguins/polar bears/seals etc. you see it all outside and then you follow the path underground and get to see all of these amazing animals swimming and then carry on through to see different types of penguins, puffins, walrus and so much more.

Only down side for us was the lack of places to eat and get a hot drink. It was absolutely freezing the day we were there but because it was winter there was very little available.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Give it a miss in colder months”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Lonely Planet said that locals didn't like to refer to it as a 'zoo' as it was more open and free-ranging than a conventional zoo. Not true-it's a pretty standard smallish zoo. Is €20 entry and given that more than half of the animals weren't on display the day I went, was very expensive for not a lot (guessing it was because of the zero degrees temperature that day). Given the number of food places which weren't open in the park, it looks like it gets a lot busier in summer months. If you have children, be sure to buy them some of the park's food for the animals- it's a bag of lettuce and carrots. Many of the park's animals can be fed with it. The cardboard cut-outs of the emus and kangaroos were my favourite exhibit (sent home for the winter maybe?). Saw all of the animals on show in just over an hour, so not great value for money.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Loads to explore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We visited the zoo as part of a school trip from the UK. As it was winter the zoo was very quiet but we saw almost all the animals and they are generally kept in very large or sometimes open enclosures. The new Ice/Polar area was huge and we wished we could have spent more time there. The aquarium was equally interesting. All in all a very enjoyable visit, we would come back again if ever returning to Hamburg.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamburg Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Hamburg Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamburg Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.