We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Pauli

Save Saved
You added Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Pauli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Pauli
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Juliusstrasse 1 - 7, 22769 Hamburg, Germany (Altona-Altstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The staff were helpful and friendly, the rooms were clean and quiet, the common lounge area was also great to hang out at. The WIFI in our room was sporatic as we were on the top floor at the very end of the corridor but otherwise everything was good. We also got to use the hotel's washing machine and dryer which was really helpful as we had been on the road for 10 days. Location is pretty good so overall this was a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    35
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
50
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed here just before Christmas 2012 with a group of mates. The hotel has a bus stop right outside the front door, so it was easy to find using public transport by taking the number 3 bus from outside the Rathaus in the centre of the city. The bus journey took no more than 15 minutes.

The front desk staff were helpful throughout our stay, recommending some good bars within walking distance from the hotel. The hotel also had a modern lounge area next to reception where it was possible to buy fairly priced drinks and snacks. There were a couple of computers available in reception to use for Internet access and there was free wi-fi in the rooms.

We had two triple rooms between us. The rooms were modern and clean with a quirky design. For example, there were plungers nailed to the wall on which you could hang coats and the wallpaper was a newspaper print. The one downside to the rooms was that the lighting was not great. The bathrooms were nice with excellent showers. There were also lockers available in the room which proved useful for storing valuables.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel, particularly for younger groups or couples.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I was on a business trip in Hamburg and the company book me a room in this hotel. First I was thinking that with such a name there could be nothing spectacular behind it. I was teached better.

Superbude is the most exciting hotel I've ever been. There was so much to see in nearly every corner of the hotel. The rooms which have Hamburg nautical concept are fitting perfect to Hamburg. But of course it's more a funky way of nautical concept.

There's so much I could tell about the hotel, but there should be also something that you should find out by yourself ;))

Oh and the prices are much more than fair =)

Have fun staying in the Superbude

Room Tip: try the self-baked bread with Nutella at the Lobby =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

As far as value for money goes this is the best hotel I have stayed in, of course you are missing the types of luxuries you would find in a 5* hotel but that is to be expected. Nothing was too much bother for the staff, the rooms were spotless and the entire hotel was brilliantly designed and modern. Would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Hamburg.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Superbude is a superb hotel or hostel. We think it is more a hotel. On arrival the staff helped us very good what to do in Hamburg. We even got some tickets for music festival Ramba Zamba. We had a great time there. thx..The hotel is funny but nice decorated, very clean and very friendly staff. The hotel is located on a very lively and arty spot. The breakfast is good..and very good for the EUR 7. We will come back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

OK first of all I am rating this 5 stars as in a hostel category, which is essentially what the Superbude is. It isn't a 5 star hotel. But on a UK standard it's better than an Ibis or a Travelodge! Very clean, funky (so maybe not for the more conservative), e.g. mock newspaper wallpaper, fish nets on the headboard and those things you use to unplug a sink suctioned to the wall to hang coats on :-) Really cool. Our room was spotlessly clean, noise free (although that might be luck) and close to the centre - good location. The guys on reception were SO friendly too. They provide hairdryers, shampoo, soap, towels - everything that you need really. They also have a cafe which apparently has a great breakfast but we preferred to venture out and explore the local cafes to be a bit more exciting! We did try and go for brekky one day and there was no room left so it must be good. I would definitely stay here again even with a baby. It seemed very family oriented. I would recommend to all travellers for sure. I wouldn't recommend it to my ageing parents though!

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room if you are worried or for anything you need. They seem very friendly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Loved it here ! Great design throughout the hotel from the communal dining/reception area to the bedrooms. We stayed in a double ensuite room which was perfect, super clean & with lots of storage (inc lockers for valuables). Staff were welcoming & friendly. The breakfast was brilliant and really good value. Lots of different people were staying at the hotel, from couples, groups of friends and families. The location is excellent ! Easy to reach on the U bahn from the central station and the 'Schanze' area is really laid back with lots of cafes and bars. Would absolutely recommend this place. Incidentally it is very much like the Michelberger Hotel in Berlin if you are familiar with that place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Pauli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Pauli

Address: Juliusstrasse 1 - 7, 22769 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Altona-Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Specialty lodging in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Pauli 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Schanze on me!Following its world tour, Superbude lands in St. Pauli.Stylish, communicative, good value and just differentA few years ago Superbude, a completely new hotel concept, was born in Hamburg's St. Georg district. It has now been revealed that it was a twin birth which was kept secret up until now by the mothers of design at 3meta! For good reason too, since they first sent the cult hostel’s rocking sister. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Pauli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Pauli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.