We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Instant Sleep Backpacker Hostel

Instant Sleep Backpacker Hostel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Instant Sleep Backpacker Hostel to your Saves list
Instant Sleep Backpacker Hostel
Max-Brauer-Allee 277, 22769 Hamburg, Germany (Altona-Altstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Hamburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Only the bare minimum was available at this hostel. It's not in a great location (it's above a loud bar), the sheets were torn, the staff was incredibly rude, you couldn't lock the bedroom doors, wifi was only available when sitting in front of the front desk. Just stay away.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
1
6
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed at this hostel with a colleague seven nights over a two week period, and I would happily return. It was very clean, tidy, very quiet (despite the area) the staff were very friendly, had a kitchen with fridges, pots/pans and utensils provided and, in general, the hostel had a very cool and chilled out feel to it. It was very reasonably priced (I paid 29Euros per night, staying in a two bed dorm) and centrally located, close to a Lidl and 10 minutes from the S-Bahn stop.
I slept very well, one night not so much but this was due to other guests rather than the facilities.
I HIGHLY recommend it to people both needing to stay in Hamburg for a while as well as anyone just passing through.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed in the Instant Sleep Backpacker Hostel in March 2012. The hostel was clean, quiet and quite centrally located. My two friends and I stayed in an 8-bed-dormroom which was quite clean and with several lockers you can use free of charge (bring your own lock). I slept next to the windows, and at times there was a bit of a draught. The hostel has no curfew and the reception desk is open 18h a day (8am-2am as far as I remember) with a very friendly, helpfull and englishspeaking staff. Note, though, that the reception (along with the rest of Hamburg) DOES NOT accept creditcards (not even VISA) which means you have to pay for your stay in cash.
The hostel is located app. 20 minutes on foot from St.Pauli and Altestadt and app. 7 minutes from the S- and U-bahn.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetouan, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

hostels in hamburg are on the expensive side but this place was only 13 euros for a dorm bed in december. the rooms are large and have single beds rather than bunks which at first is creepy but kinda nice also. not manz people around being midweek winter and all but sick music, free coffee, really warm, loads of info on stuff to do, supermarket opposite and sick grafitti around. Also, hamburg is small so its not much of a walk to get anywhere or you can tram.

Room Tip: 9 bed dorm was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011 via mobile

Moving to my Apartment and it was a nice stay for a week. Common spaces are comfortable and you have free wifi. Its clean, Rooms are Not the best but perfectly all right. The location is just great, downstairs you have the schanzenviertel with all its bars and restaurants, and you dont get the noise of it in the Hostel! They are Almost every Weekend fully reserved, so Book in advance.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We turned up near midnight and initially struggled to find the door as there was no sign. The guy at reception was very nice and spoke very good English. We were asked to give an identification number and he wouldn't accept driving licence but we were lucky that I had my passport with me. The room we had was made for two people but they brought up a camping bed for me and there was plenty of room for it.

Likes:
Friendly staff
Good room size
Beds were okay
Close to a U-Bahn station

Dislikes:
Loud at night as above two bars
Walls are very thin
Not many showers and they are on the first floor
Communal area is small

Overall a pleasant two night stay with friends.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

First off, we had the address but couldn't find the door to the hostel as there wasn't a big sign on any door near the street number. I accidentally walked into the males-only massage parlor next door. Good thing I don't embarrass easily. There is a tiny sign on printer paper in the door for the hostel. It's the one in the middle.

The service was okay. The guy wasn't overly friendly, but he was patient with our large group as we each paid individually for our dorm room.

There was a relaxing-looking hammock in the reception area, but I didn't have time to check it out. There were a few other travelers milling about as well.

Our room was on the floor above reception. We had to use our keys to scan us into that level to get to our room. The room itself was fine. Nothing fancy, but the beds were fine. The pillows were not in great shape, but I always travel with a camping pillow. There were toilets on our floor, but if we wanted a shower we had to go downstairs. Don't forget to take your keys or there's no getting back in to the upper level.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Instant Sleep Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Instant Sleep Backpacker Hostel

Address: Max-Brauer-Allee 277, 22769 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Altona-Altstadt , Sternschanze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Instant sleep is an independent hostel in Hamburg with its own and a little unconventional style, located in the quarter 'Sternschanze'. Since 1999 we welcome guests from all over the world. Enjoy our relaxed atmosphere: about 50 persons can stay in the beds of our eleven differently designed rooms. So we are a good address especially for people travelling on their own or in small groups and looking for room to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Instant Sleep Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Instant Sleep Backpacker Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.