We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find something else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blankenese

Hotel Blankenese
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Blankenese to your Saves list
Hotel Blankenese
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schenefelder Landstrasse 164 | Blankenese, 22589 Hamburg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #250 of 316 Hotels in Hamburg
Bodo, Norway
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Find something else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed here because it was close to a customer. This is not a hotel, it is sort of a guest house. Remote area away from public transport and everything else. No good breakfast and crappy rooms. Can not find any reason to stay here again. Ever.

Room Tip: Ask for a good room and you might end up with something acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
3
5
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cymru
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed here in June and was put in an annexe 200 metres up the road at the back of hotel hesse. ( the annexe looked like a kennel ) Breakfast was average, room was also average. Hotel offered free wifi, but it was poor/owner turned it oof to avoid paying large bill, so had to purchase T-Mobile hotspot.

Room Tip: Rooms 11b or 11c as they are large,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We recently stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Hamburg as part of a group. My initial concern was how far away the hotel is from the centre of Hamburg, you can make the journey by public transport (10 min walk to the train station and then a 30 min train journey) but it really isn't very convenient. As we were only there for a couple of nights I can't really comment about how frequently the rooms were cleaned which has been mentioned in previous reviews.

For me there were more negatives than advantages to staying here, as I've already said the location isn't great, the rooms are dated, I personally didn't like the breakfast and there are no English TV stations - not a massive problem as we weren't in the room very much but a little surprising that you couldn't get World Service or CNN.

On the plus side there is underground secure parking.

All in all I'm sure if you look around you get get better accommodation for the same price

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Got put in this hotel by my work. As soon as i got here i knew it wasn't goin to be a nice experience.
The rooms look as if they have never been dusted, cleaned or hoovered. I've been here 6 weeks now and my room hasnt been cleaned once. You get a new set of towels and a clean set of bed sheets once a week if you're lucky. But the rest of the room goes untouched. I've had to clean and hoover myself!!!!
If you walk across the room bare footed you have to wash you're feet after it.
The cleanliness of this hotel is the worst i've ever seen. I've stayed in hostels all over the world and they are a million times cleaner than this hole.
I dont have a single good word to say about this hotel. It is unbelievably distgusting. The worst hotel I've ever stayed in.
This isn't just my view, but the view of all my work colleagues.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We really enjoyed staying in this hotel for a weekend in Hamburg.
Located in a quiet part of the city, it made us get really good sleep.
The room was clean, cosy and quite spacy, furnished in old-style house fashion, which made us feel like home.
Room service was good, timely and tactfull, which would be, of course, much appreciated by just married couples.
Breakfast was also good, with a standard range of high quality products served usually at continental breakfasts.
Friendly and flexible customer service also made us feel being welcome clients.
We would highly recommend this hotel for the couple or family or friends week-end stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

The hotel is situated in a very weathy section of Blankense which is in a residential area. Beautiful houses and parks all around. Parking is limited. We were put in an extension of the hotel a block away from the main hotel. Rooms were clean and comfortable. We parked in the underground parking garage and unless you have a very small car, I would recommend you park elsewhere. We had a difficult time getting our car out of the garage. We have a 5 series BMW. The hotel has a wonderful breakfast and is within walking distance of the metro station.

  • Liked — Breakfast - excellent
  • Disliked — The parking garage - way too small
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2004

We are visiting Hamburg 4 times a year for meetings and since more than two years we are guests in the hotel. The rooms are well equiped, very clean and quiet. The furniture is of some antique style, but useable.

The staff seems sometimes a little bit overstrained, but they will stay nice. The breakfast is very good.

The last advantage (at least for us) is the close location to the DESY research centre. To get to the city is a little bit time consuming.

  • Stayed August 2004, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Blankenese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blankenese

Address: Schenefelder Landstrasse 164 | Blankenese, 22589 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 316 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blankenese 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Blankenese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Blankenese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.