We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Hamburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Hamburg to your Saves list
Barcelo Hamburg
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinandstrasse 15, 20095 Hamburg, Germany (Hamburg-Altstadt)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #21 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Riga, Latvia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Barcelo hotel in Hamburg is a great place to stay overnight or overweek. It has a central location and it is still a quiet place. It is centrally located, very close to all possible public transport. Central Railway station is at the 7 minutes walk if you find the right way. The breakfast is very good but a little bit expensive for average Germany visitor, just 24 EUR.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    160
    35
    9
    10
See reviews for
37
187
18
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very good central location, friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are very comfortable. A bit more atmosphere in the public areas and in rooms would be nice. Showers are brilliant! Would recommend this hotel for business stays in Hamburg.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

In Hamburg for the first time, I stayed at this great hotel - and I'm coming back for at return visit.

Barceló is a "designer hotel" with a almost scandinavian style, integrated bathroom, cool yet not cold! The atomsphere is relaxed and rooms in great shape.

The hotel is located close to cafés, shopping and everything also you need.

Room Tip: Go high, stay high
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Everything is new, shinny and very clean.

Big room with a huge bed, very fancy glass showers in the middle of the room.

Lots of fine details, such as the lighting in the rooms that makes you feel comfortable.

The breakfast buffet is one of the best I ever tried.

This is not a cheap hotel but it is very good value for money.

If you force me to say something negative, I would mention the slightly boring view over a court yard from my room. And maybe because the design of the hotel is so futuristic and fancy some couples looking for a romantic hotel would find the atmosphere a bit too cold.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We recently stayed at the Barcelo Hamburg, whilst visiting the brilliant Hamburg Christmas market, and found it a good choice. We have stayed in Hamburg many times, usually at the traditional Hotels round the Train Station, but chose the Barcelo because of its location much nearer to the Rathaus in the centre, and the price, which was excellent. I was a bit concerned that all the rooms had a double bed, but one e-mail to them and 2 single matresses were put on the top to make it a twin room for us and my daughter and her freind in theirs. Its a very modern hotlel having only opened on March 2012 and very contemporary. It seems odd with the sink in the middle of the room, and the shower wet room has a glass door which is almost see through, so you need to know your partner, or warn them! LOL
The staff very very freindly and helpful. Breakfast is expensive at 20€, but having a large apitite I managed Fruit salad folllowed by scrabled egg with smoked salmon, then a fried breakfast course, then if room, you could have ended with pancakes and maple syrup. The dinner menu is a Tapas selection, which looked good although we didn't eat there.

In all a good Hotel for pleasure and business. We will return

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

This is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in, it's has a Very modern & trendy atmosphere! The bar/restaurant area is like a cool nightclub experience, dark with trendy club music, a real cool atmosphere, yet still nice & relaxing, near the fire!
The hotel has a fantastic location with 5min walk from Rathuas (centre of Hamburg, Town hall) nr the large Christmas Markets.
The hotel is extremely clean tidy and has helpful staff.
Rooms are fantastic! Could do with a bath, but a lovely walk in shower.
We are a young married couple with no children. This hotel I'd recommend to similar people, couples, young/middle aged, or trendy older people, business people.
Hotel wasn't the cheapest, but as soon as u walk through the door you see why, I think it's all value for money.

Overall I recommend this hotel 100%!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel was amazing and modern. Centrally located, only a short walk away from Alster lake, Train station and main shopping area. Room was very stylish, bed - the comfiest ever with memory foam mattress, choice of different pillows (foam,feather,silicone balls) and it was huge. I loved the glassy shower area, lots of mirrors and choice of herbal teas. The bar downstairs was great and there was a wine tasting area & shop.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Hamburg

Address: Ferdinandstrasse 15, 20095 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Hamburg-Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Hamburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.