We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay in a Beautiful City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tiefenthal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tiefenthal to your Saves list
Hotel Tiefenthal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wandsbeker Markstrasse 109 | Wandsbek, 22041 Hamburg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 316 Hotels in Hamburg
NSW
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay in a Beautiful City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for five nights in July after reading the reviews on trip advisor and we were very happy with our choice.

What we had to remember was that we had come from a wonderful resort to a three star hotel so of course there was no pool etc but in terms of rooms, cleanliness and service we were entirely satisfied. The only thing to mention was the bedding configuration - we booked one twin room and one double and the bedding in both rooms was identical which I think would be equated as two small double beds. This however, did not affect sleep quality and the beds were very comfortable. I should also mention the pillows which were very soft and floppy. What surprised me with these was how comfortable they ended up being. When you looked at them you would think that there was no support in them but they did the job well.
The reception staff were incredibly helpful and friendly especially when it came to organizing our Hamburg Card that was included in our booking and helping us navigate the transport system.
The breakfast was also delicious and the staff in the breakfast room were friendly and efficient.
The hotel is out of the city but only about a 10 minute ride on the U Bahn so no problem in reaching anything. Although there is also a large shopping centre right next door and as pointed out, there are many excellent restaurants within a short, easy walk.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 106 is absolutely huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiefenthal, Manager at Hotel Tiefenthal, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you very much for your rating.
We are glad, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
and are looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Yours, Andreas Carmellini & team from the Hotel Tiefenthal Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
16
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kapstadt, Südafrika
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had a wonderful one night stay at the Tiefenthal in Hamburg.
From the beginning to the end the people at the reception were very friendly
(24h - so you do not have to take your keys)
and helpful (maps, information, what to do and where to go) -
the rooms are small but you do not miss a thing, they are very clean and tidy - equipped with everything we needed and we especially loved the shower!
The location is very central - the U Bahn is literally in front of the door - so it is very easy to reach.
Wandsbek offers a lot of places to sit down - restaurants, bars ..so if you prefer to walk you find everything in a comfortable distance (even shopping opportunities and MCdonals).
We will hopefully be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiefenthal, Manager at Hotel Tiefenthal, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Orlandos66, thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon and wish you a pleasant time till then.
Your Andreas Carmellini & Team from Hotel Tiefenthal Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pori, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We choose Tiefenthal for a weekend break.
We were happy doing that because:
1) It was were easy to come from airport to hotel by S and U-bahn
2) There was also a direct Schnellbus 39 which comes direct to the square in front of the hotel
3) Easy to go with u-bahn to town center and Reeperbahn
4) Right next door from the hotel is large Quarree shopping center
5) Hotel was clean and staff OK
6) Breakfast super, there was also good prepared salmon, not so usual in 3 star

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azille, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This is a friendly hotel offering great value with an excellent breakfast room and right across the street from the U bahn, not far from the airport and about 10 minutes from the centre of Hamburg. Excellent showers.

Room Tip: A double is not much more than a single and there is much more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tiefenthal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tiefenthal

Address: Wandsbeker Markstrasse 109 | Wandsbek, 22041 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 316 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tiefenthal 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Hamburg-Wandsbek, the largest urban district, the Hotel Tiefenthal with its mordern design has represented the best of hanseatic hospitality for many decades. Directly attached to the hotel, the "Quarree", one of the most modern shopping centres, with a varitey of shopping facilities, a large cinema and many restaurants invites the visitor to linger and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Tiefenthal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tiefenthal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.