We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for city visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall to your Saves list
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alter Wall 40, 20457 Hamburg, Germany (Hamburg-Altstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“perfect for city visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Fantastic Hotel! Centrally located in the heart of Hamburg and within easy walking distance to all attractions. Rooms very comfortable, spacious and nice! Staff very professional and helpful! Hot water kettle in room but wish for a coffee maker. Perfect place for the city trip, or the business visit to HAM.
I will be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Darek_Wohun,

thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay.
Feedback is utmost important to us as it gives us the opportunity to improve.
I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team.
Regarding our room categories I would like to tell you that we offer 7 different room types. First of all the main difference is to find in the sqm. Moreover all rooms from luxury category upwards are equipped with a Nespresso coffee mashine.
Therefore it would be a pleasure for our reservation department (Tel : +49 40 369 500 or h5395@sofitel.com) to advise you on your next booking.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Hamburg or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    421
    106
    36
    13
See reviews for
139
590
138
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

What a fantastic Hotel! Centrally located in the heart of Hamburg and within easy walking distance to all attractions. Rooms are very comfortable and nice! Spa is amazing! Staff very professional and helpful! Hot water kettle in room but wish for a coffee maker. Bar has a great happy hour and you can sit overlooking the water.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Islandchick100,

thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay.
Feedback is utmost important to us as it gives us the opportunity to improve.
I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team.
Regarding our room categories I would like to tell you that we offer 7 different room types. First of all the main difference is to find in the sqm. Moreover all rooms from luxury category upwards are equipped with a Nespresso coffee mashine.
Therefore it would be a pleasure for our reservation department (Tel : +49 40 369 500 or h5395@sofitel.com) to advise you on your next booking.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Hamburg or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This was our 2nd time to stay here and it didn't live up to the expectations of our first stay four years ago.

Missed expectations:

1. During this trip, we realised that not all rooms were accessible by lift and we had to go up a short flight of stairs to get to our room. It wouldn't be a problem normally but this time we had some heavy luggage.

2. Upon entering our room (granted, it's very nice) we realised we had actually been upgraded the 1st time as our room then was much, much bigger and much nicer.

3. The amazing Thai food we had at their restaurant - nowhere to be found as it has now been replaced by a so-so Italian one, Restaurant Ticino.

Anyway, on to the PROS:

Pros:

Room size - even though it was smaller than the one we had the 1st time, it was still a good sized room, decorated in nice light gray and light brown tones. Lovely lighting and decor all around.

Slippers - they have the best slippers I've seen of any hotel. Luxurious!

Ottoman - they have a small couch with a black oval ottoman that is heavenly to rest your feet upon.

Location - very near to the main shopping area.

Parking - right below the hotel!

Cons:

Pillows - They were really lumpy. Not what we would expect from Sofitel.

Reception - when we checked in, there were 2 girls at the counter but both were engaged in lengthy conversations with clients on the phone. We had to wait about 10 minutes before they could assist us.

Curtains - They had these curtains that did not fully spread out to cover the windows so I had to tape them down to the walls so that light wouldn't come in (remember this is summer so sunset was at 10pm and sunrise at 4am!)

Sink - Their faucet is positioned in such a weird way that no matter what you do, water splashes out and drips over the side of the counter and onto the floor. So, you'd always need to have a towel on the side of the counter to catch the drips.

Weird glass between the bathroom and the bedroom - there's a vertical strip of see-through glass between the bedroom and the bathroom so if you stand at certain angles, you can see the person doing his business or taking a bath.

Overall, would stay here again for the location and prettiness of the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Belly2007,

thank you very much for taking some time to inform us about your opinion and your impressions of our hotel.
We assure you that it is our highest ambition to have satisfied guests who are looking forward to return to our hotel. Therefore it is much to our regret that your stay in our hotel did not perfectly match with your plan and expectations. Please allow me to express my sincere apologies.
Regarding the service that you experienced at our front desk I apologise most sincerely that we did not meet the high standards of service in these area that you quite rightly expected to find at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall.
I have addressed each point individually with the relevant members in order that corrective action can be taken.
Moreover I was disappointed to read that you experienced difficulties with our luggage service. I also want to apologise most sincerely for any inconvenience that this caused.
Our goal is to deliver this high quality of hospitality for every guest on every stay. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall in the near future and that your stay will be just as enjoyable as your last.
Therefore it would be a pleasure for our reservation department (Tel : +49 40 369 500 or h5395@sofitel.com) to advise you on your next booking.

Yours sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

As the title suggests the Sofitel Alter Wall is in great location for exploring Hamburg. It is behind the Rathaus and is located in an upmarket shopping district and just around the corner from the the main shopping strip.

Speicherstadt and the Hafencity areas are only a short walk away. Landungsbruken is a little further away though, 20 / 30 mins walk although it's only one stop on the S-Bahn from the stop by the hotel.

Unlike some other reviewers I did not experience any issues with the front of house or in fact any staff. Whilst they might be busy I did not find any wait too long nor did I experience any brusque responses, in fact staff were very helpful.

The hotel has a couple of options for breakfast so you're not wedded to the buffet. The bistro down the main hall is excellent for breakfast with the added bonus of having a sun terrace.

The spa in the basement is perfectly functional, some may find it small but it's never that busy, not in our experience anyway.

There is a supermarket (Edeka) on Großer Burstah if you want to pick up some bits and bobs
Balzac coffee is also around the corner as is a dreaded Starbucks if that floats your boat.

If possible attain a room at the back of the hotel facing the canal.

My only criticism of the hotel is that not all rooms had tea / coffee facilities - some rooms have Nespresso machines, for those that don't a kettle might have been a nice touch but this would not stop me from staying there again if I were to visit Hamburg again.

Room Tip: Try and book a room facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear LeChat76,

thank you very much for staying at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall and for taking the time to write this feedback.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as we have committed ourselves to make you feel at home while away.
I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will be happy to pass your feedback over to my team, of course.
Moreover I am pleased to read that our modern room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathroom make your stay an unforgettable experience.
Amenities like e.g. a kettle is not a standard room amenity. However, it is our pleasure to bring these complimentary item upon request to your room in order to increase your comfort during your stay.

Dear LeChat76, once again, thank you very much for your comments and we would be pleased to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, business or leisure brings you to Hamburg.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Sofitel Hamburg is in a fantastic location to explore Hamburg. We arrived by Metro (Stadthausbrucke) and a quick 2min walk from the train and we were at the hotel.

The rooms were fantastic, a good size with a lounge at the foot of the beds making the room feel large.

The bathroom was also large with both a bath and a shower. An unusual panel of glass looks directly from the shower into the bedroom which is strange if travelling with friends etc.

The breakfast at 30 Euros per person seemed too expensive, so we instead opted for the "Express breakfast" for 15Euro (per person) which included 2 bread rolls, a croissant, yogurt and fruit salad (with tea/coffee) was plenty.

I was also a little frustrated to see about 6 steps from the lift area to the bedrooms. For a 5star hotel this is less than ideal considering most guests are travelling with suitcases.

Whilst the pool area is beautiful and relaxing (though didn't seem heated yesterday) the gym consists of a couple of treadmills, a bike, a rowing machine and weights is small considering the size of the hotel. The gym has been compromised to allow for the pool.

Overall I would definitely recommend the hotel with its large well appointed rooms and proximity to the Rathaus.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear AliSydney82,

thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a positive experience at the hotel.
Based on your comment concerning the stairs on our floors it would be a pleasure for our reservation department (Tel : +49 40 369 500 or h5395@sofitel.com) to advise you on your next booking.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall

Address: Alter Wall 40, 20457 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Hamburg-Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#10 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#16 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall welcomes you in the heart of the Hanseatic city. Between the famous harbour and the town hall, only 1 km from the central railway station and 17 km from the airport, Hanseatic elegance meets French savoir vivre. Clear linesand light characterise our 241 rooms and 19 function rooms. Make the most of our exclusive spa area or enjoy refined Mediterranean cuisine in our modern restaurant with views over the Alster canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Hotel Hamburg
Accor Hamburg Alter Wall
Hamburg Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.